Student Athletes - Physical Examinations?

• Student Athletes - Physical Examinations?

It's been so long that I cannot trust my memory, but upon entering high school in Jamaica, didn't we have to give the school a doctor's report showing that we had gotten all our immunization shots?

My 11 year old niece told me since week that she wanted to do tracks at her school but her blood pressure is too high. I was shocked. I didn't know that these American kids had to do a physical before participating in sports at their school. Oh, her high BP did not surprise me. She's hyper and eat too much candy. Her mom is taking her to the pediatrician to see if it's anything serious.

My thoughts are on the St. Jago athlete who died last week at the track meet in Trinidad. He could have had a serious health issue for a long time that went undetected. We have seen professional footballers collapsing and dying on the field more frequently over the past few years.

Here's a question, Should the Ministry of Education implement a policy of every student providing a doctor's report for school enrollment at the start of every school year?
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

When I went to high school you had to.

It's been so long that I cannot trust my memory, but upon entering high school in Jamaica, didn't we have to give the school a doctor's report showing that we had gotten all our immunization shots?

My 11 year old niece told me since week that she wanted to do tracks at her school but her blood pressure is too high. I was shocked. I didn't know that these American kids had to do a physical before participating in sports at their school. Oh, her high BP did not surprise me. She's hyper and eat too much candy. Her mom is taking her to the pediatrician to see if it's anything serious.

My thoughts are on the St. Jago athlete who died last week at the track meet in Trinidad. He could have had a serious health issue for a long time that went undetected. We have seen professional footballers collapsing and dying on the field more frequently over the past few years.

Here's a question, Should the Ministry of Education implement a policy of every student providing a doctor's report for school enrollment at the start of every school year?
      A group of doctors said that he could have had a condition that would only show up under severe stress. The doctor would not detect in a lab. The fact that he was not one to quit under severe stress did not help his cause. His coach once begged him to quit a race and begged a track official to throw him out but he completed the race anyway. He had the mindset of a US Navy Seal.

All students 8th grade and higher in Wisconsin must undergo a physical before
        they are allowed to participate in interscholastic sports. Here is a copy of all the forms.

http://www.wiaa.com/ConDocs/Con395/M...ysicalform.pdf

Jamaica has a dietary problem,proper dietary habits are not encouraged on the masses.Two things jamaicans cook with to our detriment and thats salt and sugar (pastries).These are the two leading factors in stroke,htn ,cardiac disease and the cancers.Some scientist believe there is a correlation between cancer and sugar .I believe so .I havent ate salt in 5 to 6 years when my pressure started going up,i also let go of sugar and rice .It made all the difference in the world.If i do cheat and consume anyone of them ,I can feel the attack on my system ,literally it upsets my equilibrium.I remember my last trip to Jamaica,the salt in the food is nauseating,its as if they believe thats the only way to add flavor.

Education is the key.

http://www.commonwealthhealth.org/americas/jamaica/

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Moderation is key. I don't use a lot of salt now either and still love some sweets but watch how much I indulge. Hard to tell the kids that especially when maybe a just a sugar bun and box juice him can afford for lunch.