ISSA's academic bar too high

I don't see it as a choice between sports and academics either.

The primary goal is to create a graduate with marketable life skills. Obviously a basic education is a requirement and should be priority #1, but above and beyond that, it is very difficult for a school to be good at many disciplines, ie sciences, sports, technical/vocational, arts/entertainment. To your point , many/most of them today are not good at ANY!

I like the approach I see in some US schools where there is a specialty, primarily an academic speciality of course but we could extend it to mean more than that . ie We ensure that our students obtain the basic educational skills required for a modern economy, AND we also have the best science program/engineering program/tourism program/arts program/music program/football program/track and field program, whatever.

Best meaning, not only do we produce some elite performers in those fields, but also develop skills in the supporting roles where many other opportunities exist. Your technicians, your sports medicine professionals, your music producers/band members, etc.

What we have in most high school sports programs is not that. They are not providing even the basic education.
    Totally agree.
    ...but to focus on your last sentence -
    What we have in most high school sports programs is not that. They are not providing even the basic education.
    That is the point. We need to 'step up' in all areas.
    ...and not to belabor admiration for your Dad...but he was all for 'pulling out all the stops' for first rate instructions/teaching both in the classroom and on the sports field.

Only in Utopia can we step up in all areas the way we should. For now, we have to prioritise, and the priority cannot be sports!

Yes he strongly believed that both had an important part to play, but there is no question that he was a teacher first and a coach second.

I also remember him talking about the great Bishop Gibson, another educator who saw great value in sports, not being happy with the developments at KC in the late 60s when their sports program went into overdrive. One story has it that at a KC event he commented that "I knew it when it was still a school" or something like that.
        Last edited by Islandman; March 2, 2014, 06:30 PM.

Only in Utopia can we step up in all areas the way we should. For now, we have to prioritise, and the priority cannot be sports!
          Unless you believe those who manage our schools are doing a great job...then and only then you would believe that we do not have the capacity to 'step up' in all areas simultaneously!!!

Yuh too easily satisfied!!!
          ...that leads to our current position of keeping...not having...but keeping the/our bar low.

Chemistry passes because of Fulston (SP)!! There was no one like him; pity he was not CLONED!

Sass, there is a man, who was taught by Fulston; this man is supposed to be teaching Chemistry in a high school, and him have no use -- is WUTLISS him wutliss, or him did hide from Mr. F's classes

yeah man Fulston was king. None like him and just imagine he never taught one full school year. The ministry of Education forced him out. He still tutor kids around Port Antonio. He was also a motivator in sports, he was a good cricketer as well, play some football and track too. Just his love for Jamaica and Portland as I am sure he could have had a better job in England.