what is the current position of the schools?
ISSA's academic bar too high
Originally posted by Karl View PostFact is underachievement in any area of school work should not disbar a student from participation in another area. Disbarring access or disenfranchising students from partaking in other disciplines because of a failure to meet pass grade in another or in others flies in the face of educators' aims and indeed, aims of developing the child.
Do you think about what you're writing or dat not important?!
We are ruining the lives of hundreds if we allow them to believe I can be at school only to play daCosta Cup or Headley Cup.
For every Marlon Samuels we created we destroyed hundreds more. What is their outlet when they "graduate" from school with no subjects? Guns? And then we wonder what happened!
Sigh
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostWe are ruining the lives of hundreds if we allow them to believe I can be at school only to play daCosta Cup or Headley Cup.
For every Marlon Samuels we created we destroyed hundreds more. What is their outlet when they "graduate" from school with no subjects? Guns? And then we wonder what happened!
Sigh
Any such school administrator or school-teacher you hear making such a claim please report same to the relevant school's authorities - inclusive of the Ministry of Education. That person needs or those persons need re-training or expulsion from the education system. Need to be kept faaaaaaaar from any of our schools."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostSo, if I fail Calculus 101 I should still be allowed to take Calculus 301.
Do you think about what you're writing or dat not important?!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
The system is was designed by high school principals not sport administrators. The principals are trying to ensure that all athletes including those with 'subjects' are achieve the 45% in 4 subjects. They are also trying to keep the semi professional sport students out of 6th form.
What ISSA is saying is that if you have 'subjects' from 5th form and you cannot make 45% in 4 subjects in lower 6th during the Christmas term then you should focus on the books not sports. They are also hinting that maybe you shouldn't be in 6th form.
Hmm, ISSA is correct but I have sympathy for the student with 7 CSEC subjects but had bad Christmas term resulting in 3 good CAPE grades and failed one subject. Now lets get back to reality, most schools will fix the grade for such a student and award 46% for the failed subject. This is not just a Jamaican High School thing, American universities also fix grades.The same type of thinking that created a problem cannot be used to solve the problem.
Did you read what Karl wrote? He wrote;
Fact is underachievement in any area of school work should not disbar a student from participation in another area.
Calculus 101 and Calculus 301 are the same area!The same type of thinking that created a problem cannot be used to solve the problem.
Originally posted by Gamma View Postexactly and your response is to further burden an already overburdened system which is as a result has **** poor results???!!!!!
E.g. A specialist math teacher will never necessarily be a track and field specialist (or vice versa) in a well run and staffed institution? ...and please do the math on time allotted to sports and time allotted to academic subjects? ...better yet break it down to each discipline - math v cricket; chemistry v football; or whatever set of disciplines at each age-comparable grouping!!!
...Also - Bet you most 'a run hup n dun' on the merits have never even taken the time to delve into the facts My bet would be 90+% have not a clue as to 'the real facts'?????!!!!!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Time View PostThe system is was designed by high school principals not sport administrators. The principals are trying to ensure that all athletes including those with 'subjects' are achieve the 45% in 4 subjects. They are also trying to keep the semi professional sport students out of 6th form.
What ISSA is saying is that if you have 'subjects' from 5th form and you cannot make 45% in 4 subjects in lower 6th during the Christmas term then you should focus on the books not sports. They are also hinting that maybe you shouldn't be in 6th form.
Hmm, ISSA is correct but I have sympathy for the student with 7 CSEC subjects but had bad Christmas term resulting in 3 good CAPE grades and failed one subject. Now lets get back to reality, most schools will fix the grade for such a student and award 46% for the failed subject. This is not just a Jamaican High School thing, American universities also fix grades.
We are preparing kids for life. Hopefully best possible type life.
...what is the point of drumming it into the impressionable youth that focus must be on one area when in real life/on moving to the so-called 'real world' each person must be a multi-tasker? ...the aim being excellent at three or four areas?
Hell if we make a broad sweep and suggest being focused on the job but not on home life the already messed up world would be a much worse place... ....do not get started on JA being even more 'screwed up' than it currently is????
Look schools/education institutions are there to prepare the students for becoming great adult competitors/equip the students with tools to become great adult competitors...become successful!!
I am sure you would posit that teaching the opposite in the learning years is a crappy way to go...a sure way to 'screw up' our young. Right?
FORWARD!...mi seh!
Fail to prepare (for life)!
You sure as hell will be well prepared to fail (during life)."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Clearly, there is a fundamental difference of opinion.
For me, school is first about education. That is what, more than anything, will prepare our students for the world. It's 100 times easier to become a medical doctor than it is to become a professional athlete.
I may say more on this later.