Commom sense prevails at Ascot

• Commom sense prevails at Ascot

Ascot had to back down once it was reveal that its head coach was coaching at Calabar and the youngster did not have a coach at Ascot.

McCarthy to represent Ascot at athletics festival, says mom

‘Champs’ bound

BY HOWARD WALKER Observer senior reporter

Friday, February 07, 2014

Print this page Email A Friend!

MCCARTHY... Carifta Games discus gold medallist

JAMAICA'S defending Carifta discus champion Vashon McCarthy will be participating at this year's ISSA Boys' and Girls’ Athletics Championship following a lengthy meeting of Ascot High principal and the parents of the athlete, it was disclosed yesterday.

Principal Cedric Murray, who was mandated by the school's board to facilitate the meeting, refused to comment on the matter. Previously, he had said he would not be entering the youngster for ‘Champs’.

“I have no comment,” was his blunt response to Jamaica Observer's queries last evening.

However, a “very happy” Dianna Lennon, mother of McCarthy, confirmed that the school said “yes” to her son represeting the school at ‘Champs’.

The usually very outspoken Lennon, too, offered very little else on the issue.

McCarthy, 16, who was born when Ascot was formed in 1997 in Portmore, last year won the school's second gold medal at ‘Champs’, capturing the Class Two Shot Put title with a throw of 16.25m.

Following that, his parents solicited outside assistance in renowned field events coach Michael Vassell and he went on to be crowned Caribbean champion, capturing gold at the Carifta Games in the Under-17 discus and silver in the shot put in 2013.

But this school term, the principal decided that McCarthy will not be going to ‘Champs’ mainly because he was not a part of their sports programme, having been training at Excelsior High School since September.

That claim was rebutted by Lennon as untrue, and in fact, said her son was only getting “extra lessons” there.

When it was revealed that McCarthy would not be participating at ‘Champs’, the suggestion drew national debate and public outcry.

Two weeks ago, the school board mandated the principal to meet with the parents yesterday and the final decision was made.

Even as the boardroom tussle to resolve the issue was on, McCarthy was busy participating at the various development meets, wearing the purple and yellow colours of Ascot with pride.

Vashon out... again
    ISSA rules Ascot star ineligible for Champs due to low grades

BY HOWARD WALKER Observer senior reporter walkerh@jamaicaobserver.com

Saturday, March 01, 2014

Print this page Email A Friend!

MCCARTHY… the current Class Two shot put champion and Carifta Games Under-17 discus champion

He was out, then he was in, but now he's out again!

That's the situation facing Ascot High School's Vashon McCarthy, who will not be participating at this year's Inter-secondary Schools Sports Association (ISSA) Boys' and Girls' Athletics Championships because he has failed to make the required academic grades.

McCarthy, 16, the current Class Two shot put champion and Carifta Games Under-17 discus champion, was eventually entered by his school on February 20 after principal Cedric Murray threatened not to enter him because he was not training with the school.

Efforts to get a confirmation about the ineligibility of McCarthy from the ruling body ISSA proved futile, as competition director George Forbes could not be reached for comment, neither president Dr Walton Small.

But Murray admitted to the Jamaica Observer that the school had entered McCarthy, but the entry was rejected by ISSA because the athlete failed to acquire the minimum 45 per cent in at least four subjects.

"ISSA academic standard is 45 per subject in at least four subjects. We entered him through the ISSA system. We have a system and we entered him. ISSA has a system and they accept or reject," explained Murray.

But when quizzed as to McCarthy's academic average last year prior to Champs, the principal would only say: "I don't have it in front of me right now."

When asked if the student's average has dipped since last year, Murray said: "It would suggest that because he entered last year."

In January, the Observer broke the story that the Portmore-based Ascot would not be sending McCarthy to Champs because he was taking orders from an outside coach in Michael Vassell of Excelsior High.

The principal argued then that McCarthy had abandoned the school's sports programme and was training at Excelsior in the evenings.

McCarthy's mother Dianna Lennon cried foul, saying her son was only getting 'extra lessons' and the issue escalated into a national debate, more so since Ascot's head coach Errol Messiahs was also coaching at Calabar High.

But Murray was adamant, insisting that he had no knowledge of what the student was doing outside of the management of the school's designated coaches, and thus he couldn't enter him for Champs, because only his staff members (Ascot's coaches) could recommend the student to him.

However, the school's board intervened and mandated a meeting between the principal, the boy and the parents to resolve the matter.

An initial meeting of the parties broke down prematurely, after it became too heated.

Lennon's cellphone rang without an answer when the Observer tried to reach her yesterday.

Friggin joke!

So, instead of encouraging their son the pick up a damn book, the parents were about to take the school to court and the school board met over it and directed the principal to sort it out.

Did the board ask, at any time, what were the grades of the student?

For me, it is important, very important. The chances of this boy becoming a useful member of workforce in case his one in a million chance of becoming a professional athlete does not work out must be front and center of what our schools are about!

Madness!

Sigh…agreed!

Friggin joke!

So, instead of encouraging their son the pick up a damn book, the parents were about to take the school to court and the school board met over it and directed the principal to sort it out.

For me, it is important, very important. The chances of this boy becoming a useful member of workforce in case his one in a million chance of becoming a professional athlete does not work out must be front and center of what our schools are about!

Madness!

Maybe the parents not so stupid after all. If he can't make 45% in four subjects then may be there is not much hope for him academically and sports is his best chance of earning a living. Sad!

I don't know what is the situation with his parents but they are parents of athletes who get something on the side for the sports ability of their child. Not much money out there for an academically inclined highs school student. Sad!

Whatever the case, maybe he and his parents and others will now see a link between grades, sports and money.

Originally posted by Time View Post

Whatever the case, maybe he and his parents and others will now see a link between grades, sports and money.
            There certainly is a link...but I am not sure where you are going, Sir Time
            Care to help?

Friggin joke!

Madness!
              What is important for you?

That the child was not motivated to perform better at academic subjects?
              ...or that his parent failed at assisting sufficiently at that motivation? ...or that the parent or parents threatened to sue someone or some persons or entity if the child was not entered for the ISSA Championships? ...or is it some other thing that is 'important, very important'?

Why would you think the child, even with his failing grades, cannot become a useful member of the workforce?

btw - Have you ever wondered how many of our children who performed very well in school are currently 'struggling'? Wonder if you ever met any?

...and what about the many who ended up 'struggling' who never 'took up the sports'?

----

As an 'Aside': Interestingly -

i) The 'old money' and 'not so old money' ...builders of the 'great' old companies and not so old companies in our Jamaica...many of those did not do so well in school at both sports and academics!!!!

Do we wish our sportsmen and sportswomen or other members of our 'graduates' from school to be less than what their potential suggested...God given talents suggest?

Of course not.

Care to put out the measurement used or list the criteria to be met that gets one into the "useful member of the workforce" class?

Would be interested to hear the percentage numbers of 'graduates', say for the last five (5) years, who never studied/took part in a sport such as it appears the majority of us, Jamaicans, view it (i.e. played for the school team) who have met your 'useful member of the workforce' threshold?

...and same for those who represented the school team at a sport?

Context: Period during my years attending high school and college - It is real funny...but I can think of only 1 sports personality who represented my high schools and college at a sport who I have heard that has fallen on hard times. The story is he (Yup! Male...not one of the ladies) lives in a hut/on the streets in Canada. ...and still find it hard to believe that young self-assured...great personality...young man I knew is now in such a situation.

Wonder if mental problems developed? Fact is, I wonder if my friend (have not been in touch or seen him for close to 50 years) is not mentally sound but make a conscious decision to 'opt out'?

Would be interesting if each of The Massive could post best guess at %age sportsmen and sportswomen who attended an education institution with them and failed to meet Mosiah's 'useful member of the workforce' bar?
              Last edited by Karl; March 1, 2014, 11:27 PM.

The school may not be a good school. My principal would have made sure he got all the help he needed. Any athlete or student in need of extra help must be provided with that. I also agree that his parents should also make sure he gets the extra lesson just like how he got it for track.

It was common for my principal to provide lunch and lodging for kids who had to travel up to 30 miles to come to school and play sport. He was also not afraid to give a kick in the "arse" if needed. It seems like the principal is more concerned with vindication rather than his athletically talented student.

This in my opinion call for a transfer if he has a few more years and want to get anywhere with sports or his academics.
                Last edited by Assasin; March 1, 2014, 11:08 PM.

What is important for you?

That the child was not motivated to perform better at academic subjects?
                  ...or that his parent failed at assisting sufficiently at that motivation? ...or that the parent or parents threatened to sue someone or some persons or entity if the child was not entered for the ISSA Championships? ...or is it some other thing that is 'important, very important'?

Why would you think the child, even with his failing grades, cannot become a useful member of the workforce?

btw - Have you ever wondered how many of our children who performed very well in school are currently 'struggling'? Wonder if you ever met any?

...and what about the many who ended up 'struggling' who never 'took up the sports'?

----

As an 'Aside': Interestingly -

i) The 'old money' and 'not so old money' ...builders of the 'great' old companies and not so old companies in our Jamaica...many of those did not do so well in school at both sports and academics!!!!

Do we wish our sportsmen and sportswomen or other members of our 'graduates' from school to be less than what their potential suggested...God given talents suggest?

Of course not.

Care to put out the measurement used or list the criteria to be met that gets one into the "useful member of the workforce" class?

Would be interested to hear the percentage numbers of 'graduates', say for the last five (5) years, who never studied/took part in a sport such as it appears the majority of us, Jamaicans, view it (i.e. played for the school team) who have met your 'useful member of the workforce' threshold?

...and same for those who represented the school team at a sport?

Context: Period during my years attending high school and college - It is real funny...but I can think of only 1 sports personality who represented my high schools and college at a sport who I have heard that has fallen on hard times. The story is he (Yup! Male...not one of the ladies) lives in a hut/on the streets in Canada. ...and still find it hard to believe that young self-assured...great personality...young man I knew is now in such a situation.

Wonder if mental problems developed? Fact is, I wonder if my friend (have not been in touch or seen him for close to 50 years) is not mentally sound but make a conscious decision to 'opt out'?

Would be interesting if each of The Massive could post best guess at %age sportsmen and sportswomen who attended an education institution with them and failed to meet Mosiah's 'useful member of the workforce' bar?
                  It's about odds, Karl! Of course there have been many dunce bats who have become millionaires with successful companies. But what are the odds?!?! And there have been sports figures who never passed one subject who are now millionaires. But what are the odds?!?!??

We have to give our students the best chance to become employable or to create employment. Sadly, sports is not the best odds and averaging 20% is not the best odds.

(Sass, I chose 20% for no special reason. Please don't ask me if I have a problem with 20% average students!)

I also agree that his parents should also make sure he gets the extra lesson just like how he got it for track.
                    Exactly! We see what was important for his parents! They themselves may not have been the sharpest knives in the drawer!

There certainly is a link...but I am not sure where you are going, Sir Time
                      Care to help?
                      Karl, a nuh everything can spell out pon the internet. Let's just hope all parties help him to hit the books

of those what percentage make it and then lose it?

and suppose him develop carpal tunnel syndrome from flinging the discuss and can't throw anymore

(Sass, I chose 20% for no special reason. Please don't ask me if I have a problem with 20% average students!)

I luv your disclaimer

So you have to give the sports dunce bat a chance too