Under-20 100m champion Zharnel Hughes
Illegal and Unethical transfers?
RE: ...if we are honest with ourselves we would know exactly what he's talking about.
Have wondered on what those transfers Muggy goes on about are? ...and I still cannot see how he separates the absolutely normal response of parents and guardians wanting the best for their children and schools doing what they are supposed to do, providing the best environment for that? With each party going for it.
Then there is the logical exhortation that the other schools which he sees as not providing the same opportunities improving in the specific area. You have to assume that Muggy is promoting mediocrity....as he has never demanded 'the failing schools' stepping to the plate and providing excellent teaching and coaching on search for 'top achiever'...right?
...and let me take care of the crap about kids are not in schools to take part in sports by stating that kids are in schools to work towards development of fullest potential; to work towards being 'well rounded' individuals; graduating to be able take place in the society as 'added asset'...and thus being able to enjoy a 'full satisfying life'. Schools are supposed to help towards realizing fullest potential. Schools were never meant to be an 'end point' on the road to realizing 'fullest potential'.
Perhaps Muggy does not realize that for various reasons a student choses 'the direction his life takes' based on being exposed to quality teaching/*coaching in what the schools offer - the schools learning environment offers in each area of discipline - or 'God bless what some schools 'do'? - or absence of same - poor teaching/coaching or no teaching/coaching - hinders that development of what is euphemistically called 'development to fullest potential'.
I have concluded that Muggy is mad or otherwise twisted...but I am open to logic convincing me otherwise.
Please lay out the criterion or criteria that would cause a transfer of a youngster into such a category?
*Not meant as for sports but the general concept of 'what parents, teachers...society...the learning experience' does that results in the formation of 'who each individual is' (...who we are!) ...that development of the individual's potential.Last edited by Karl; August 30, 2013, 10:39 AM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Muggy is referring to the common practice of taking in students who do not meet the academic requirements to enter the school and the school has no intention of enforcing regular requirements on those students because them know them deh deh for ball, to win Championship.
Where as the standard was to just keep repeating a 5th form baller in the 90's or not enforcing the more stringent 6th form requirements, the tactic of choice now is to recruit them from early, make them repeat and be one of the oldest in their class. By the time them reach 4th form and 5th form they are the same age as 6th form students at other schools and already close to their last year of eligibility age wise.
Originally posted by Me View PostMuggy is referring to the common practice of taking in students who do not meet the academic requirements to enter the school and the school has no intention of enforcing regular requirements on those students because them know them deh deh for ball, to win Championship.
Where as the standard was to just keep repeating a 5th form baller in the 90's or not enforcing the more stringent 6th form requirements, the tactic of choice now is to recruit them from early, make them repeat and be one of the oldest in their class. By the time them reach 4th form and 5th form they are the same age as 6th form students at other schools and already close to their last year of eligibility age wise.
If Muggy is calling for all kids to be denied extra-year or years in school (=kindergarten through university. He could not be advocating same for secondary high schools only...or could he???) - would he be on the sensible and moral high ground? ...and on a general sense would that be good for our society?"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
I think he does. He consistently say the school should grow their own. In his articles he have never spoken about legitimate transfer. He keeps on harping on the kids who transfer and not getting good grades, he doesn't talk about the ones that do.
The current St.Georges team must put him to shame by getting scholarship for so many players as in Muggy's day I can bet so many never get scholarship. He harped upon the good student athletes in his days.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Cant see the sense in anyone who fights against , buying a youth into a school , any school, what are the alternatives for the youth, stay at a school that didnt offer him better oppourtunities to be exploited , yes thats it , exploitation for school and youth and oppourtunites to be made by both.
It works sometimes , sometimes not , but its better than the latter alternative of not even getting that chance.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Karl, stop being disingenuous! You jolly well know those extra years are not filled with any kind of academic instruction! These athletes that repeat 4th and 5th form twice are usually still the dumbest of the lot. And that's not because they cannot learn. It's because no one cares whether they learn or not! They are not there to learn! They are there to win Manning Cup and Champs!
Sass, STGC don't have a lock on scholarships. Even scrubs schools like MC get nuff football scholarships every year.
And I notice from a longer time you like to focus on those who used their college careers well. Well, there is at least a significant minority whose college careers are horror stories.