McDonald Bailey was Trini Brit...
    Thanks, Peter.
    Big error on my part. Tons of apologies to all Trinis!

Also saw the corrections from Don 1 on the difference in era of NW Manley and McDonald-Bailey.

Thanks, Don 1.

Happy to see I got something right - DJ's '60s exploits - (Think the times were equal 100M record of 9.3 then lowered same to 9.2...think it all happened in a matter of weeks?) - and the statement that the '9.3+ record' as stated in the thread was incorrect.

Did a little more research on this, the 9.375 was done by Jack Donaldson an Australian in South Africa, his nickname was the 'Blue Streak' he raced in full blue, apparently he ran the time at altitude 5700 feet and when submitted for recognition the American Aau which I guess they must have had world control of amateur athletics at that time said it was on a downgrade thus could not be recognized, they never checked it and the South African newspapers at the event never mentioned any slope, also the record at the time was held by an American, so there was some conflict there they should have checked it to at least take that out of the equation. The 100 yard dash seems to have been the biggest thing in that era by far. Also noticed that a professional runner did 9.4 in 1895 but because he was a pro his record could not be recognized by the Aau.
      One interesting thing to note on the timing is that apparently dog racing was massive at this time so 'whippet' dogs were timed with stop watches that had breakouts in 1/16th of a second, so donaldson's time was actually recorded as 9 6/16th or 9 and 3/8th's or 9.375.

HAHAHAHA!

That brings to mind another thing. Did Norman Manley run his 10.000 seconds flat 100 yard race at JC? Because JC is built on the slopes of the St. Andrew hills, and back in those days, the incline was steeper than what it is now.

And don't tell mi him run uphill!

And I wonder how the length was actually measured. Hmmm...

Yes fi true...JC track is notorious!

dat is di most historic track ah Yaad... a national monument not to be interfered with...or dissed

oh yes...

memba mi tole unnu

It want a leveller though.

Not really dissing. I remember our top class 1 Sprinter back in the day named Speedy made his name by running 10.2 on dirt.

It sent shockwaves thru the High Schools until people here seh it was at JC.
                I remember my Bar friend hissing his teeth saying JC track steeper dan MBlue Mountain peak. LoL

True to form Speedy didn't figure among the medals that year at Champs. LoL

Is like the yanks dem always a run big time in Eugene Oregon. Nobody in Jamaica tek dem time deh seriously anymore. LoL

Willi, I had the Western Champs record for Class 3 100m hurdles for about 15 years or something like that. It was a horrible record because 1) I wasn't that good, and 2) they had set the hurdles at Class 2 height.

But, hurdles were hardly ever an event at Western Champs. Only certain schools had hurdles and maybe when the event was contested some clods competed who could not threaten my record.

I guess after Manley ran his 10.00000 race at JC, they never had that race on a downhill track again until...hmmm...maybe 41 years later when Douglas broke it competing at JC!

suh wha if wi like di 100m down slope den "Melrose Hill" right afta pon di front stretch corna??

Unique tings dat...plus it naw tap wi fram fi wi fair share ah winnin Champs

Sorry Karl...I have to confirm your aging brain suspicion

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Men's_1...rd_progression
                      Yes, sir!
                      ...but you left out that the comparison was 'not kosher'.

What was the World record in the 100yd when NW Manley pulled off his 10.00 flat?