Not possible for them to have the same split time, Willi. They received the baton at pretty much the same time but at the end of the race, Delano won by 10 or 15 meters going away.
Delano Williams - best sprinter in Champs history!
While Bolt and Blake did not run multiple short sprint events the lowering of those records and how they did it suggests something very unusual. That is why record breaking puts them on another plateau and why not breaking records while winning becomes more pedestrian over long periods of time.
Oh I see the confusion for you. You think I was talking about the JC yute that got the baton with him.
The Cbar yute was way back in 5th and came 2nd. He also split 45.7s
See video here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ib4oE0uK1zQ
Dennis Johnson champs 1958, broke 100 yard record and won 220 by ten meters plus, superior performance there.
Would have won both in 1957 but broke his hand the day before and ran in a cast and still got points and medalled in the 100.
For someone who usually gives in depth analyses of football players, I'm surprised and somewhat disappointed by the wishy-washy T&F analyses you've come up with. Maybe this is not your strong suit.
Stoni, when talking about greatness, some amount of consistency over time must be considered. Also, we cannot concern ourselves with what could have been. There must be 1,000s of sportsmen who could have become great were it not for a broken limb, hard luck or whatever. As you rightly said, it is what it is!
Superior performance and greatness is not exactly the same thing. Was Delano the MVP of the meet? Maybe not, when put up against McLeod's two meet records.
So, come again, Stoni. I have shot down your Manley, Yohan Blake, Usain Bolt and Dennis Johnson votes. Who next?
Try again Mr. Mo, the bottom line is he has no records, at this point he is just another journeyman when looking at champions over 100 years, plain and simple. If he broke even one individual record then we could talk but he has simply run within the historical limits of others before him, a just so can't change it, he came close, but close don't cut it. All the others I have named have won and set historical standard no man before them had ever run as fast over that particular distance, all rounders are great but at the end of the decade they are jags.
I am only repeating what Delano Williams said how he ended up at Menrow.
If you watched his interview with the guy from Grace, that was where he said it."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Originally posted by Stonigut View PostTry again Mr. Mo, the bottom line is he has no records, at this point he is just another journeyman when looking at champions over 100 years, plain and simple. If he broke even one individual record then we could talk but he has simply run within the historical limits of others before him, a just so can't change it, he came close, but close don't cut it. All the others I have named have won and set historical standard no man before them had ever run as fast over that particular distance, all rounders are great but at the end of the decade they are jags.
A case can be made for a handful of sprinters at Champs as the "greatest"...it all depends on the criteria which usually includes some subjective factors
Dat deh yute Delano....im outa class an im cyan rank among any as Champs greats ...straitTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Stonigut View PostWhile Bolt and Blake did not run multiple short sprint events the lowering of those records and how they did it suggests something very unusual. That is why record breaking puts them on another plateau and why not breaking records while winning becomes more pedestrian over long periods of time.
Juss aks one athlete whe dem wudda rada ave...one Wirl record ar Olympic Gold??
Mawnin' Safa..TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
good yute
very regrettable what happenedTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE