Delano Williams - best sprinter in Champs history!

His leg in the 4x100 was scary fast
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

He ran past the World Youth champion as if he wasn't there. Odail Todd will forever have that in his psyche to overcome if they should ever meet on the international stage.

Haha!

Okay, since that's the story out there or one you badmindedly concocted, I won't share the facts wid unnu.

Gwaan hurricane!

LOL!

How Forte and SAFP get into dis thread bredren?!?

Come on, Time. Waiting for the starter is all a part of it. Maybe Skeen was scared of Delano!?!

Clearly you haven't seen Delano run. Him run donw and leave for dead all and sundry. Mek Jazeel Murphy tell yuh bout him.

Skeen lucky!

Nice try but yuh cold water on thread can't diminish Delano's greatness.

Come on, Time. Waiting for the starter is all a part of it. Maybe Skeen was scared of Delano!?!

Clearly you haven't seen Delano run. Him run donw and leave for dead all and sundry. Mek Jazeel Murphy tell yuh bout him.

Skeen lucky!

Nice try but yuh cold water on thread can't diminish Delano's greatness.
              I watched champs online until the link crashed. I never saw him in the 4 x 4 but I heard it on the web radio. He is indeed a superb sprinting machine. He deserves to be double Champion two years in a row. He sounds very intelligent too. What's next for him?

No records broken,

Best Munro has produced, yes! Best all round consistency over an extended period, Possibly! Best sprinter in champs history, no! Sorry Mosiah.

Thank you, Time. That was very gracious of you.

In the 4x4, he got the baton about the same time as the runner from Calabar(?), and so it was all over. He turned on the afterburners and won by at least 10 meters going away. Really awesome stuff.

What impresses me most is his mental fortitude, that never say die attitude. He just doesn't believe he should lose a race! He deserved to take the gold in the 4x100 after that blistering run on the final leg. Odail Todd should now have a now admiration for the man who has relegated him into second or worse for the past 2 or 3 seasons. Congrats to KC for holding him off. Had Munro realised this could have happened they would have made Delano take the baton at the beginning of the exchange zone instead of in the middle or the end.

I understand he intends to go to university in Jamaica. I guess he'll probably link up with a Racers or an MVP as well.

He's a good yute in every way. Jamaica should do whatever she can to get him to change nationality and run for us. Not that I am terrribly worried about our future. As good as Delano is, we can do without him to some degree. But I don't think Delano wants to run for Britain.

Well, tell me who is the best.

I don't think Delano is doing very shabbily if the persons whose records he did not break are the reigning world champions in the events!

Delano did 10.28 to Yohan's 10.24 and 20.27 to one Usain Bolt's 20.25! So slew him, he did not break any record.

His only record came in the 4x400, not really a sprint event and not an individual one, for sure. But still, what a ra$s run by the man!

But tell me, Stoni, who would you say is the best 100/200 meter sprinter in Champs history?

Don't take a whole week to research this, Stoni.

Please and tanks!
                    Last edited by Mosiah; March 17, 2013, 01:47 AM. Reason: Corrected the time for Williams' 200m

Mosiah that is the toughest question ever, I am not sure anyone can even answer that, we would have to set up parameters of eligibility and get data of performance and measure that against world standard at that time to get a true sense of best at that level in that time and come up with a method to equalize performance across time which should be easy enough to do if you could get the data. Anyway too much chat, here is my simple list of the great ones i know about at champs, definitely incomplete as I have left off a ton of great champs class 1 sprint performers.
                      1. Norman Manley
                      2. Coco brown
                      3. Douglas Manley
                      4. Dennis johnson
                      5. Lennox miller
                      6. Donald quarrie
                      7. Raymond Stewart
                      8. Usain bolt
                      9. Yohan blake

If I had to choose one then it would be Norman Manley, he was a sprint machine and won multiple events at champs including the 1 and 2 and winning the 100 yards in a time very close to the world record at that time, that record stood for 41 years, that alone takes the cake for me.

From yuh put Yohan Blake and Usain Bolt in it, it is clear that you either don't understand the question or just...badmind?!

And Manley winning multiple...ok, Stoni. Thanks for participating!

Pro talk...

Delano's Dad is Jakan and Mom is Haitian.
                            He is going to Racers and already linked up with Bolt.

He got the baton ahead of the Cbar yute, as they both had a split of 45.7s. Seno J already gave Munro the lead on the 3rd leg.

Todd had never won and indiv. champs medal before this year.

Yes, Delano is a good yute.

I dont think he would ever run for Jam, as the Turks would excommunicate him. Dem hate Jamaica like poison!

Tesfa Latty ran 10.24s . Blake did 10.21s.

But they probably hate the UK more! Turks does not have an Olympics team!

You heard it here first - Delano will wear the red, gold...the black, gold and green of Jamaica!