• JC builds teacher residence on campus

JC builds teacher residence on campus

Published: Monday | January 21, 2013 Comments 0

The new apartment complex constructed for teachers at Jamaica College on Hope Road in St Andrew. - Photos by Ian Allen/Photographer

1 2 >
    Nadisha Hunter, Staff Reporter

Taking into consideration the distance some teachers travel to their jobs and the possible effect it can have on students' development, Jamaica College (JC) has built a number of apartments on campus to accommodate professionals.

The living quarters, which were built in conjunction with the National Housing Trust and the Jamaica College Trust, was constructed to the tune of more than $45 million and can house up to 12 teachers.

JC principal, Ruel Reid, said the project, which is an extension of the school's housing project, is part of the school's incentive and development programme.

"We have about 100 teachers, and, naturally, it is expensive for many persons to live in Kingston, and, particularly, it is expensive for those teachers who live outside of Kingston. We also have a lot of co-curricular activities, so persons are now able to stay longer hours to work with the students," Reid added.

He continued: "So all of that is part of what we have as a comprehensive incentive programme to motivate our teachers and to ensure that they are committed to the work at Jamaica College."

Compromised extra-curricular activities

Indicating that there are teachers at the school who are from as far away as Montego Bay, St Elizabeth, and Clarendon, Reid said the long distances could compromise the hours they spent in after-school events.

"If it wasn't for our houses on campus, then some of the teachers would have had to travel, or others would be living off campus, paying extremely high costs. It is a tremendous advantage. Co-curricular activities are an extended-hour activity, and so teachers don't have to worry and rush to go home because they basically live on campus," he said

Reid said teachers wishing to take up the offer at the school are expected to meet the criteria - which include being dedicated to improving the standards of the students - set by the institution.

"It is available to any teacher who needs it on condition that they are very involved in the life of the school and performing very well because it is an incentive," he added.

"As employers, you have to be able to motivate your employees, and I think that to the extent that the organisation goes out of its way to make the staff comfortable, then you will see that in their own commitment and their level of productivity," Reid argued.

An official opening of the apartments is schedule for January 31.

nadisha.hunter@gleanerjm.com

The new apartment complex constructed for teachers at Jamaica College on Hope Road in St Andrew. - Photos by Ian Allen/Photographer

1 2 >

Taking into consideration the distance some teachers travel to their jobs and the possible effect it can have on students' development, Jamaica College (JC) has built a number of apartments on campus to accommodate professionals.

The living quarters, which were built in conjunction with the National Housing Trust and the Jamaica College Trust, was constructed to the tune of more than $45 million and can house up to 12 teachers.

JC principal, Ruel Reid, said the project, which is an extension of the school's housing project, is part of the school's incentive and development programme.

"We have about 100 teachers, and, naturally, it is expensive for many persons to live in Kingston, and, particularly, it is expensive for those teachers who live outside of Kingston. We also have a lot of co-curricular activities, so persons are now able to stay longer hours to work with the students," Reid added.

He continued: "So all of that is part of what we have as a comprehensive incentive programme to motivate our teachers and to ensure that they are committed to the work at Jamaica College."

Indicating that there are teachers at the school who are from as far away as Montego Bay, St Elizabeth, and Clarendon, Reid said the long distances could compromise the hours they spent in after-school events.

"If it wasn't for our houses on campus, then some of the teachers would have had to travel, or others would be living off campus, paying extremely high costs. It is a tremendous advantage. Co-curricular activities are an extended-hour activity, and so teachers don't have to worry and rush to go home because they basically live on campus," he said

Reid said teachers wishing to take up the offer at the school are expected to meet the criteria - which include being dedicated to improving the standards of the students - set by the institution.

"It is available to any teacher who needs it on condition that they are very involved in the life of the school and performing very well because it is an incentive," he added.

"As employers, you have to be able to motivate your employees, and I think that to the extent that the organisation goes out of its way to make the staff comfortable, then you will see that in their own commitment and their level of productivity," Reid argued.

Mi did si dat dis mawnin seh it dun

Wi cyaan put up di pikney dem like unnu....di mose wi cyan duh is put up few teacha

But why yuh put dis inna Sports??...is nat one academy
    Last edited by Don1; January 21, 2013, 07:34 PM.

I notice Ruel bringing all the ideas from his alma mater over to JC. Not a bad ting. In fact, a very good ting!

And nuh worry. Him soon put up di pickney dem too!

Can we say, Gwaan Ruel!?

Looks like they bypassed an architect...god awful...
        Last edited by Bricktop; January 22, 2013, 02:17 PM.

Mi fi tell yuh!

It was probably designed to look like some of the other god-awful buildings on the campus.

I notice Ruel bringing all the ideas from his alma mater over to JC. Not a bad ting. In fact, a very good ting!

And nuh worry. Him soon put up di pickney dem too!

Can we say, Gwaan Ruel!?
            Well mi juss post how dem waan restart boarding at Old Hope Rd...

Gwaan Ruel fi reel

1 2 >

Congrats JC on the upgrade not sure if we will copy the idea. Not sure anyone would want to live at Heroes Circle except the caretaker. Wolmer's do have a house in upper St Andrew for the principal.

What are those lines on top, power lines or zip lines to travel to classrooms? Why not one entry point into the building for cables and why not in the ground? I ran data cables underground between buildings in Jamaica 20 years ago. No storm is going to blow down my cables.

Did you Mosiah or some other Munro old boys design this building?
              Last edited by Time; January 23, 2013, 06:25 AM.

Originally posted by Time View Post
                Why not one entry point into the building for cables and why not in the ground?
                $$$$$$$$$$$$$$

I think I started at JC two or three years after boarding was eliminated... When I was in first form and maybe second?, I remember Mr. Carnegie living on campus as did Mr. Elcock ("el birdy") the English PE teacher. I remember Mr. Carnegie well as you could hear the music coming from his room/apt. mainly jazz albums.

They occupied rooms in the building that was at the back of the property, on the eastern end, where Hardy House used to have their morning assembly... so was that building torn down? I know later on it was converted to classrooms as I used to have third form classes there before we moved to the (then) fourth and fifth form blocks on the westerly side of campus...

Dem couldn't even put a window pon the side of the building.

Is who design it?

I think I started at JC two or three years after boarding was eliminated... When I was in first form and maybe second?, I remember Mr. Carnegie living on campus as did Mr. Elcock ("el birdy") the English PE teacher. I remember Mr. Carnegie well as you could hear the music coming from his room/apt. mainly jazz albums.

They occupied rooms in the building that was at the back of the property, on the eastern end, where Hardy House used to have their morning assembly... so was that building torn down? I know later on it was converted to classrooms as I used to have third form classes there before we moved to the (then) fourth and fifth form blocks on the westerly side of campus...

They cannot just tear down buildings as dem might like....nuff ah dem protected as national heritage sites

I don't know where Jimmy used to live but it was probably the building adjoining/behind Scotland Bldg

You can see that bldg in pix #7 of this gallery...

Or it could be that bldg west of the tuck shop where I understand boarders were housed back in the day...that bldg is not pictured tho
                      Last edited by Don1; January 23, 2013, 05:01 PM.

Originally posted by Time View Post
                        Congrats JC on the upgrade not sure if we will copy the idea. Not sure anyone would want to live at Heroes Circle except the caretaker. Wolmer's do have a house in upper St Andrew for the principal.

What are those lines on top, power lines or zip lines to travel to classrooms? Why not one entry point into the building for cables and why not in the ground? I ran data cables underground between buildings in Jamaica 20 years ago. No storm is going to blow down my cables.

Did you Mosiah or some other Munro old boys design this building?
                        ==================================

zip lines to travel to classrooms?

We are certain these buildings will never get national heritage site status any time soon!

Wii dun ave enuff heritage sites areddy....wi nuh need nuh more

Utility and cost effectiveness are the watchwords in dese parlous economic times...not style poppin'

Suh mi tek di bad mind ting wid one truckload ah salt
                            Last edited by Don1; January 23, 2013, 10:23 PM.

You should never put up such cloddish buildings beside historical buildings such as those on the JC campus. Not the first time it has happened there, but no need to repeat the crime.