Ex-KC Coach Vents At Disloyalty

Why is it always development of local talent/resources vs recruiting Jamaicans and tapping resources wherever found=tapping into Jamaica's talented residing outside of the island and tapping of outside resources?

Is it not commonsense to do both and having it all boil down to what is best for Jamaica? Will selecting from our entire talent pool and entire World resources enable maximization of 'fast forward'?

...perhaps that thinking of "me, I and myself" has ingrained ignoring of maximizing on our entire pool and using resources regardless where found? Right? ....inbred in our DNA fast forward to dead slow? Si weh di country deh tideh haf-tah wi hin-di-pen-dent more dan 50 years!!! Seit deh!!!

And even before that they get a self-selected elite from GSAT.

Nonetheless, if Jamaica had a choice of 10 more Campions or 10 more [insert your favorite high school sports juggernaut here] , give me the 10 Campions tomorrow.
      Again...why has it got be one or the other?
      Why shouldn't the school work at being excellent - best it can be - in all things? This work at being good in 'Math' and forget 'English Language' nuh mek sense tuh mi!!!

All the various programs must be TOP OF THE WORLD! ...if a nuh suh den wi a promote 2nd class schools! ...but kis mi neck back, nuh dat wi ave areadi

So true!
        He wants transfer fees? Is he ok?

However, we strongly believe that the receiving school should somehow compensate the other school for the investments made in the transferee's sports development

Does not have to be one or the other, but the reality is that the area that has more potential to move the country as a whole forward is the one that has been neglected.

We can and should do both, a well rounded student is certainly the ideal. but when schools are spending US $50-100k on thier sports program a year while graduating illiterates, maybe our priorities are a bit screwed up?

No we have Jumpy talking bout getting transfer fees for student athletes. And quite frankly, given how much is being invested in these athletes it is not an unreasonable request! But that does not have a place is a public school extra curricular program. I say go the sports academy route and gives these youths the specialist training and education they require.Can still be a part of the school but funding and other things should be dealt with differently.
          Last edited by Islandman; December 18, 2012, 08:45 AM.

We can and should do both, a well rounded student is certainly the ideal. but when schools are spending US $50-100k on thier sports program a year while graduating illiterates, maybe our priorities are a bit screwed up?
            It's totally screwed up!

It is easier to become a medical doctor than a pro athlete. We need to remember that!

"It is easier to become a medical doctor than a pro athlete. We need to remember that!"

I would say so too at our age and the fact that the champs medal a rust by now .

yuhzimi!

We know that but our average student athlete, probably our average student period, just does not believe that even if you tell them.

It is for the teachers to convince them of that.

I guess the sports masters and coaches do a much better job convincing their athletes of the lie that they will go pro as soon as they leave high school!

If you do not feed the natural inquisitiveness of the kids then you are marring!

I would say present the facts to the kids. ...and we should also be sure to present facts dealing with our Jamaica experience.

e.g. Number of footballers churned out each year and ...how many "Bibi's" are there/have we produced?

Why?

Do not treat the kids (and their parents/guardians) like they need to be 'protected' from the stats/the facts?
                      Last edited by Karl; December 18, 2012, 10:22 PM.