• Ex-KC Coach Vents At Disloyalty

Trevor'Jumpy' Harris, Guest Columnist

After my resignation as technical director and coach of Kingston College (KC) in August 2012, the KC sports master made an unsubstantiated remark that there were problems between the players and the coaching staff. He was never in the football admin loop, and could only speak about KC football from third- or fourth-party sources.

I was asked not to reply by prominent KC people, as his comments were to be withdrawn. So far, I have not seen or heard of any withdrawal, and references continue to be made to his statements.

The former coaching staff denies these statements made by a KC sports master we considered inefficient and ineffective.

For the record, we had one-on-one discussions at KC's training sessions with all 2012 transferees during summer. The coaching staff specifically asked about the transfer rumours, and all swore allegiance to the Kingston College football programme. None informed us that there was a problem with us or with the programme. In fact, Jorginho 'Moonman' James played at least one practice game (Camperdown) and attended some training sessions. He even enquired about when training 'live-in' camp would start. Jason Greenland was at the Camperdown game, but was not selected. He was also at the Excelsior practice game, and I think played. He also attended training sessions.

The coaching staff knows that we made significant progress at Kingston College with the very limited resources and despite numerous obstacles (including the head of the sports department) we encountered. Our performance record, including 2011 stats of 11 wins, one draw and two losses, and a Walker Cup final berth, support this assertion.

TWO RULES

We also share with the fraternity the disappointment of not winning the Manning Cup. We could have in 2012; we should have had 14 experienced returning players for such a run. That did not materialise, as a small proportion of misguided players, parents, administrators and old boys ran into a coaching staff that would not compromise on discipline. We simply declared and lived by two rules:

1. Every player must be committed and loyal to the team.

2. Performance on and off the field is the key criterion for team selection.

We stood firmly behind those rules, and most transferees had problems abiding fully with them and with us. All our efforts were to build a Fortis team, nothing else.

This year, transferees to Wolmer's were relentlessly recruited (from 2010) via Harbour View Football Club by the Wolmer's/Harbour View coach. We still wonder, at what price? One of these boys was contacted through KC connections, by a highly regarded US University, offering a full football scholarship, yet he jumped ship.

During our time, 2010-2012, at KC in football, we preferred and adopted the developmental approach, and therefore looked to the grade seven entrant, but we do not condemn others who recruit.

However, we strongly believe that the receiving school should somehow compensate the other school for the investments made in the transferee's sports development. We also believe that no transferee under any disciplinary procedure should be allowed to participate in any sports activities for any other institution.

WIDESPREAD APPROACH

Our staff members are aware that the recruiting-to-win approach has become widespread since our leading football administration, the Jamaica Football Federation, under Captain Horace Burrell and René Simões, renewed, adopted and endorsed the recruiting approach in our 1998 World Cup campaign. Recently, 14 years later, they went abroad to again recruit players for the 2014 World Cup campaign. This approach, even if to the detriment of the development of the game, is now fast becoming the norm in youth football, with high schools and even preparatory schools following the lead.

O that Spencer Darlington had run a series on the 1998 recruits, on his one-time TV programme 'Where are They Now?', and what they have done for Jamaica's football since 1998. This could help football and the fraternity to determine the best way forward.

We hope this current debate will focus a little more on recruiting vs development for the benefit of football and Jamaica.

Finally, I would like to pay tribute to the late St George's College stalwart Ian Phillipson. Together with Jack DeLisser and Stewart Stephenson, he managed and personally financed tours of select youth teams to the Chung Fah-founded Miami Classics international youth football tournaments. This tournament exposed and groomed many future Jamaican national and professional footballers such as Andy Williams, Tyrone Marshall, Wolde Harris, Fabian Davis, André Virtue, Dr Julian McMorris, Gregory Simmonds, Justin Bramwell, Mario Ventura, Edsel Scott, Mario Watts, and others. Neville 'Bertis' Bell also started his coaching career during this time.

Continue to 'walk good', Ian. The team, and now Jamaica, salute you.

Trevor 'Jumpy' Harris is a football coach who, with others, led the Kingston College programme from January 2010 to August 2012. Email feedback to columns@gleanerjm.com and tjumpyh@hotmail.com.

However, we strongly believe that the receiving school should somehow compensate the other school for the investments made in the transferee's sports development
    Maybe its time for these schools to have separate, privately funded academies for their sports programs. These programs are sounding more and more like professional organizations than extra-curricular school activities.

it could work,why not ,brilliant idea,it would be a natural progression,i think Karl has argued along those lines for years.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

This recruiting this is messier than we are admitting. I myself have not spoken about it much because to substantiate certain points I may have to call names and tell what I know, which could be embarrassing to the player, the coach and the school.

All I will say though is success in the major sports at the school boy level is not attained in what I would call the best interest of the player. And it is also unfair to other members of the school and society in many instances.

H. View has is leading recruiting efforts at Wolmers. The Cavaliers crew is who responsible for players "asking" Georges to let them in.

where are the parents and what role do they play? If rules are been broken then why nobody not complaining? Again it Jamaica and "informer fi dead".

While we complain, and try to conquer the world, no other coaches don't want to talk up. Notice NCAA how often complains are lodged against rivals?

No club should be involed in the process. I can understand an HV coach working with a school but if it is proven that he has undue influence in getting the players to the school action should be taken, but us Jamaicans don't want to see action taken against these institution, so just blame the players and continue the debate.

Originally posted by Me View Post
              H. View has is leading recruiting efforts at Wolmers. The Cavaliers crew is who responsible for players "asking" Georges to let them in.
              Virtual Club Academies!!!! Wikkid!!!! ...Willi whe yuh deh??

So, given what we seem to have accepted, that schools should be allowed to recruit freely, what's the big deal with the HV coach recruiting players for his school? So what if they come from a rival school!?? The HV coach did nothing wrong and no sanctions can or should be brought against him. It was not HV, the club that did it. What would be in it for them?!?

Parents? Heh heh!

What rule was broken, Sass?

What's in it for the clubs?

The coach is saying some money may have been paid or promise of other things. How HV or any other club benefit? They can benefit by having a package deal but to find out if they benefited it can be investigated.

The fact is we can talk and continue the debate forever, unless proper action is taken nothing nah gwaan.

Continue to develop the team as a unit. Especially in the cases where is the same club and high school coach.

Right yasso a watch all the man dem whey a buy Champs athletes fi years with dem holier dan dow attitude. LoL

LOL

All is clearly not well in the Fortis camp

Whats up with these attacks on Wolmer's Other schools have been buying football and T&F athletes for years and and people keep quiet. Of the premier schools in the corporate area, only Campion College can play innocent! Only the Campionites have the right to chat!

So true!