Really?!?

Only achievers in a particular sporting discipline are usually heard from.

The also rans are usually spectators as no one takes them seriously.... but mi naw kall nuh name
      Last edited by Don1; December 17, 2012, 01:37 AM.

It is the egregious nature of Wolmers' predation of KC etc students which has attracted this acute attention

Tone it down an unnu kriss

The irony is that CAMPION gets more transfers than all the other schools combined. LoL

And even before that they get a self-selected elite from GSAT.

Nonetheless, if Jamaica had a choice of 10 more Campions or 10 more [insert your favorite high school sports juggernaut here] , give me the 10 Campions tomorrow.

Neither is perfect. Would love to see more HSkools with balanced performance and less social elite pressure. That is good sports, good grades and good social cohesion.

Me too. But given how far we swing to one side for almost 40 years now, me will tek the bias towards the other side for the next decade or three.

What we really need is a way for all the youths to make the most of their talents. Not every student is going to be a scholar, let us be real about that.

But at least we can equip them to have careers in sports and related fields even if they never become superstar athletes.

The talk from many people is that every country in the world wishes they had a Usain Bolt.

That's probably true, but in exchange for the comforts they have there? Don't think so.

I wish Jamaica had a Neymar and a Messi too!

I wonder if the average Brazilian would give up their recent economic and political progress and go back to the 1970s and 80s if you threw in another Pele for the trouble?

Really though, I wonder what the response to a question like that would be.

And even before that they get a self-selected elite from GSAT.

Nonetheless, if Jamaica had a choice of 10 more Campions or 10 more [insert your favorite high school sports juggernaut here] , give me the 10 Campions tomorrow.
                      In a perfect world that equation would be great

Unfortunately the top performing 1-2% of the HS intake which Campion apparently dominates is not the "typical" student. To their credit Campion is able to maintain the performance of an already high performing cohort....creditable but not heroic achievement....and also of limited use as a model nationally...because it doesn't address our core problems

The schools (whichever they may be) that can take an "average" or even "below average" cohort ..closer to the majority of kids) and IMPROVE their performance significantly are infinitely more valuable as a model. Especially if they can do that job without throwing a lot of money at the problem....like some of the so called "traditional" schools (an archaic term if I ever heard one) Those schools are heroic

We need to really learn the lessons that those schools can teach
                      Last edited by Don1; December 17, 2012, 03:55 PM.

Old Harbor High is apparently doing something along those lines. They have a younger , dynamic principal who is not afraid to try new things.

Me all see them name a few time pon the list of top CAPE performers across the region, and nuff name brand school can't be found. The Trini dem a kick off we face overall though, as per usual.

Old Harbor High is apparently doing something along those lines. They have a younger , dynamic principal who is not afraid to try new things.

Me all see them name a few time pon the list of top CAPE performers across the region, and nuff name brand school can't be found. The Trini dem a kick off we face overall though, as per usual.
                          Aha! So now a school like that should be dissected from top to bottom for the recipe!! That could be a best practices moggle!

We should keep them in mind for inclusion in DY going forward...gotta support tings lika dat

Yeah I was thinking bout them for that.

If all goes as scheduled there should be an interview with the principal available for viewing early next year. I am looking forward to hearing what him have to say.

Keep me apprised pls

Gud nues.