George's played the beautiful game

Is that the teacher that won the female teacher 100m race on sports day that was greeted by students giving her those congratulatory touches that darn well almost had the whole school suspended?
    Well if that is the one,she was the reason for my first encounter with Father Quinlan's cane.I was probably his first victim because it was the first day at school I had the misfortune of sitting next to Raymond Cater(the only student that did not lie, he was the nephew of the then Arch Bishop.On seeing this phat teacher I whispered something nasty to him and she somehow heard.She told me to repeat what I said and yes I lied. She then asked Cater..., he wrote down exactly what was said and she immediately sent me to the office,and forwarded the note to Quinlan.
    You really know me,1d,2d,3d,4-4,5-4
    Still thinking hard on two letters.
    A gwaan link yuh pon de private message thingy tomorrow,but jah kno it feel good fi link wid a I from dem times deh,fi reeeeal,over 30 + years after.

Yes, I remember the Kempes incident.
      Saw a picture of Price in the papers the odda day, I think he is at Boys Town.I will have to ignore his assessment of Hue in order to keep faith,worried though because he knows ball.
      Do you remember Big Ben, the security guard for the lower forms,he eventually was promoted to manning the main gate?.
      Lower school teachers for me was Ramsey,Wright,Campbell,the extremely attractive Mis Bahador,the baldhead American art teacher(he was a good artist),Sister Mary Grace...
      Upper school I chose business and as bad luck would have it the same teachers from the lower forms I was happy to get away from collectively decided to move up to higher forms,never had a chance at dishing Sister Mary Grace.

Dwain was StGc 100% from first form. I knew him well, very nice guys, a few years behind me.

Guys, there are 2 groups on Facebook with StGC alumni and di man dem all a debate all time starting 11 and is nuff sparring over that.

When man like Skitto and Ziadie cant make it....

It is NOT worse Peter. Indeed, CHAMPS is the major offender, not football.

Get a crack 100m runner and the points are sure. Get a crack fwd with a lousy team and you still lose. Football is a team game and last minute recruiting can hurt more than it helps.

I think even Wolmers who tried something this year ensure that the team members maintain some minimum academic standards.

Darn, I really did not know.

I suspect Buddyhead and the midfielder Chang made the most teams.Our keeper that JC man dem nearly kill probably figured too.

Linton Chang hardly made it (most there too young). Poodly, Earl Hay, in a battle with Robbie and Foxie Forbes as best goalie. DaCosta figures too.

Granny Marshall has the most passionate boosters.

Buddyhead is a shoe in for almost every list.

It is NOT worse Peter. Indeed, CHAMPS is the major offender, not football.

Get a crack 100m runner and the points are sure. Get a crack fwd with a lousy team and you still lose. Football is a team game and last minute recruiting can hurt more than it helps.

I think even Wolmers who tried something this year ensure that the team members maintain some minimum academic standards.
                    'Even Wolmers', why you love call that name suh? The reason why we have n't won as many titles as the blues is that we put academics and behavior above the ability to play sports. If the academics ad behavior is not up to par then you cannot enter or if you are there then you cannot stay.

Coz Wolmers made it look a way this year. Too transparent.

I am well aware that Wolmers has decent standards, and even in this most egregious year for you, I expect you still managed to maintain a modicum of the standards of yesteryear.

As for behavior, I rather think that no other boys school in Jamaica was as strict as StGC in my time for many things. For example we heard of nuff instances of Wolmerians using the wood from their desktop to play cricket. In my time, if you were caught vandalizing ANY school property, that was grounds for instant expulsion with no chance of appeal.

Anyway, its overall good news of all the schools are maintaining standards and helping the kids to progress in life.

OH, BTW, I dont dislike Wolmers, despite what U seem to think.

Some of my good friends are from there. LoL

Originally posted by Time View Post
                          'Even Wolmers', why you love call that name suh? The reason why we have n't won as many titles as the blues is that we put academics and behavior above the ability to play sports. If the academics ad behavior is not up to par then you cannot enter or if you are there then you cannot stay.
                          LOL.... wat a specious, self-aggrandizing excuse fi unnu impotence....like one man who seh im ah fiya blanks tru im read to much book ah night time LOL

Mi nuh si wich part Wulmaz boys ave nuh exceptional academic rating more dan anyone else now ar inna di past....Nuh data nuh show dat. Mebbe unnu juss too owl an get tiyad easy ar yuh ah mix up Wulmaz boys wid unnu girl skool
                          Plus fram lang time ah bayh crikita unnu produce....di ball an tracks ting miss unnu

Unnu ah weak heart das why yuh cyaan win ball ar tracks too tuff...Fighting spirit nuh dehdeh...memba mi tole yuh dat

BTW like Willi mi ave couple key bredrin well weh did guh Wulmaz...suh ah nuh nutten
                          Last edited by Don1; December 5, 2012, 03:41 AM.

Coz Wolmers made it look a way this year. Too transparent.

I am well aware that Wolmers has decent standards, and even in this most egregious year for you, I expect you still managed to maintain a modicum of the standards of yesteryear.

As for behavior, I rather think that no other boys school in Jamaica was as strict as StGC in my time for many things. For example we heard of nuff instances of Wolmerians using the wood from their desktop to play cricket. In my time, if you were caught vandalizing ANY school property, that was grounds for instant expulsion with no chance of appeal.

Anyway, its overall good news of all the schools are maintaining standards and helping the kids to progress in life.
                            Don't go there Willi. It was my year that was suspended for that cricket and football incident. It was not a case of vandalizing school property. It was case of retrieving broken property and utilizing downtime when there were no teachers to teach. The school collected a fine per person ....

I know. It's just you way of expressing you regret that you never went to Wolmers.

This was late 1970'/early 80s. U were there then? If so, I haffi call yuh FATHER TIME. LoL