Jawges finds bottom dwellers a perfect match....

• Jawges finds bottom dwellers a perfect match....

Spanish Town notch important win
    Sunday, October 07, 2012

Spanish Town High scored an invaluable 2-0 win over Ascot High in their Zone E ISSA/Digicel/Gatorade Manning Cup match at Ascot High yesterday to stay two points clear of Holy Trinity atop the standings.
    Captain Owen Walters opened the scoring for the visitors in the 76th minute from the penalty spot and Kevon Nembhard sealed the win with a sumptuous strike 10 minutes from time.

With one eye on qualifying for the Walker Cup play-offs, Spanish Town's coach Anthony Thompson declared this a crucial win for his team.
    "We are trying to get into the Walker Cup and winning this game put us ahead, so we just have to win one of our next two games and we will be on our way," he said.

In a tightly-contested game, the home team had the better of the chances, especially in the second-half. But it was the visitors who went ahead with 15 minutes to go when Spanish Town were awarded a penalty for a hand ball inside the area.

Walters expertly converted the resulting kick to put his team in front.
    Minutes later they added another to their tally when Nembhard latched onto a ball down the flank, got by his marker and unleashed a vicious shot that flew across goalkeeper De'Angelo Austin and into the top corner of the goal.
    Ascot's coach Jason Grant said his team conceded a soft penalty but his players are still confident they can advance to the second round.

"I was disappointed that we lost the game but I was pleased with the actual performance because they put out a lot and I was very grateful for their effort," he said.

In the group's other games, Holy Trinity beat Trench Town, 3-1, on goals from Kiquiro Williams, Shamar Stephenson and Nicholas Hamilton to remain second on 16 points.

St Catherine stayed third with 11 points despite going down 1-0 to Jonathan Grant on Kimoni Francis' goal.

Meanwhile, Hydel reclaimed stop spot in Zone C on goal difference after beating Cumberland, 5-0, while defending champions St George's College drew 1-1 with bottom side Dunoon.

In the group's other game, Denham Town slammed Clan Carthy, 5-0.
    Hydel and St George's are now locked on 18 points, with Hydel holding a better goal average. Denham Town are third with nine points.

In Zone B, Jamaica College (JC) maintained their perfect win record from six matches after a Okeeno Bailey's hat-trick and an Albert Aaron strike carried them to a 4-1 drubbing of Waterford.

In the group's other game, St Jago and Camperdown played out a 0-0 draw.
    JC sit atop the table with 18 points, seven clear of Camperdown, while Waterford are third with six points.

In Zone F, Jose Marti (13 points) maintained second spot by a point after a 2-0 win over Kingston Technical. Jeremy Nelson and Miguel Ormsby were the scorers for the Spanish Town school.
    Donald Quarrie (12 points) also kept alive their hopes for a second round berth after Michael Lucas' goal gave them a 1-0 win over Oberlin.
    Wolmer's lead the group with 23 points.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz28b0jyZDP
    Last edited by Don1; October 7, 2012, 04:13 AM.

Too much midfield and the fwds goal shy.

Given that the U-20s coming up, I take solace in the fact that we will skip the Walker Cup and stay fresh and recharged for the Manning. After all, Burrell aggo strip all the top ballers for his FIFA thing....

Remember 2008????

The story of the game:

Andrew Harris, Sunday Gleaner Writer

Defending ISSA/Gatorade/ Digicel Manning Cup champions St George's College were held to a 1-1 draw by Dunoon Technical in their Group C encounter at Winchester Park on North Street, Kingston, yesterday.

In another Group C encounter, Hydel High blanked Cumberland High 5-0.

At Winchester Park, Roshane Bailey scored in the sixth minute before Cardel Benbow earned a point for the Georgians in the 69th minute.

"Dunoon came here, took a point and they deserved it," said Neville 'Bertis' Bell, coach of St George's College.

Bailey sent his team ahead when he collected a through pass and outsped the St George's defence to score.

"We missed a lot of chances that we paid for," added Bell. "Definitely, we need to work on our finishing, because this is a problem we have been having all year."

Chances missed

The defending champions missed numerous chances in the second half. Oshane Boothe, who missed a few of these chances, was replaced midway the half by Andre Lewis, a player who has been included in Jamaica's squad for Friday's CONCACAF World Cup qualifier against Guatemala.

It was Lewis who set up the equaliser. His shot to goal in the 69th minute was blocked and Benbow was on spot to put the rebound into the back of the net.

"St George's are a very good team and so we decided to play behind the ball and hit them on the counter," said Dunoon's coach Omar Edwards. He added that they are in a rebuilding process and they expect to be very competitive in the Manning Cup in the next two years.

Too much midfield and the fwds goal shy.

Given that the U-20s coming up, I take solace in the fact that we will skip the Walker Cup and stay fresh and recharged for the Manning. After all, Burrell aggo strip all the top ballers for his FIFA thing....

Remember 2008????
        Di zone rounds nuh dun yet an yuh ah concede Walker Cup tuh no name Hydel bug side areddy?? Nuh unnu ah champion....yuh naw defen it??

But ah wha dis Faada??
        Last edited by Don1; October 7, 2012, 07:49 AM.

Manning is Highest priority! Always.

Of course

But if unnu still cyan inna Walker Cup as brawta...why discount it...why not defen it?

Is a back to basics thing....

U haffi mek sacrifices sometimes and mi can live wid dat tradeoff.

Besides, with a Manning tikle, yuh can still win a 2nd Cup. Walker Cup is a dead-end brawta. Haffi get strategic now.

as it stand right now...my Georgians will travel over the other side of North Street, and then thru Hope Rd (Old Hope Rd), to get to the semis.....of the Manning Cup. So we meet that wrong, ugly blue team and the purplites dem.

Death before dishonour !!

Forward Jawges !!

Keep on trying ....one day unnu mighta ketch wi up inna tikles...after 103 solid years of effort

Doan tap tryin' atall

Di gap cut badly, afta wi gi unno a 12 year "jump". LoL

lol... Unnu ah gwaan good lately fi reel...I guess it's a trajectory thing

Finishing 2nd in the group, might be a blessing in disguise for the Light Blues, current Champions.

We end up with Innswood, kc,and jc. Shouldn't be that difficult to win this group,and then meet either Haggie or B'port in the semis. That too shouldn't be that difficult...and has HISTORY has it recorded, WE never ever lose a Manning final...so that is title number 22.

si the plan deh ... FORWARD LIGHT BLUES !!
                        Last edited by Twan; October 12, 2012, 05:57 PM.

keep on trying yuteman ...someday unnu might emerge pon top

JC cyaan carry di load fi iva ...lol

LoL

Wrong blue have nuff mouth eh?

On a real note though, ManningCup has been subjected to a BLUE takeover...nuh wonder KC/Bar/Ulmaz vex.