• Poor Field Undermines Calabar, B'port Clash

Poor Field Undermines Calabar, B'port Clash

Published: Wednesday | September 19, 2012 0 Comments
    Jermaine Lannaman, Gleaner Writer

A stone-filled, bumpy and close to grassless playing surface wreaked havoc on a dour 0-0 draw between Group D rivals Calabar and Bridgeport High at Red Hills Road yesterday, as action continued in the ISSA/Gatorade/Digicel Manning Cup schoolboy football competition.

The game, a top-of-the-table clash, saw the players struggling to come to terms with control being extremely difficult, passes going awry and players holding back when contemplating challenges.

The result was Calabar's second draw in three games, following a 2-0 win over St Mary's College in their opener and a 1-1 draw with Haile Selassie.

As for Bridgeport, they were dropping their first points of the campaign, having defeated Haile Selassie 6-0 and Innswood 1-0.

Frustrated players

"The surface is poor and really affected the way we played here today," said Calabar's coach, Marvin Tate.

"We could not get any rhythm and this frustrated the players. But it is what it is as the school is in no position to upgrade the field.

"In fact, the situation has persisted since last season where I had made it clear that one of the pre-conditions of me returning this season was the field.

"But again the school is not in a position to help and, as such, I have been forced to work with what we have," he added.

Bridgeport's coach, Tyrone Roberts, who saw his charges getting the better of the limited chances that were created throughout the match, also bemoaned the surface, saying that it's anti-football development.

"It's sad when we are trying to develop young players and they have to play on surfaces like these," he said.

"It holds them back and in some instances it's also dangerous.

"But having said that, I thought we could have come away with all three points as we got the better chances."

The group's other matchup between St Mary's College and Innswood at St Mary's College ended 1-1.

YESTERDAY'S RESULTS

Group A

Excelsior 2 Norman Manley 1

Group B

St Jago 1 JC 2

Group D

Calabar 0 Bridgeport 0

St Mary's 1 Innswood 1

Group F

Kingston Tech 0 Jose Marti 0

Group G

Charlie Smith 14

Meadowbrook 0

Ardenne 0 STATHS 0

There is hope for Calabar. Yesterday I went to see the Excelsior - Norman Manley clash at Excelsior and it was great to see a football field complete with lush green grass. In fact, the grass was too lush and required a good cutting to take at least 2 inches off in many places. But I can't remember the last time Excelsior field had grass.

Calabar's field has been like that since I was a boy growing up next door. I remember the oiled lines were an inch above the dusty field and I can only imagine how many broken bones were caused by that scenario.

Good to see Excelsior making a move to play on a decent surface. Full time big school like Calabar make an effort.

Agreed!

JC need to dump up dem field to mek it level!

No wonder dem track stars used to run 10 flat on dirt at their sports day. LoL

Agreed!

JC need to dump up dem field to mek it level!

No wonder dem track stars used to run 10 flat on dirt at their sports day. LoL
        ....den flop ah Champs...lol

I'll have you know that downhill track (balanced out by "Melrose Hill" on the Old Hope Rd section of the track) is a time honored tradition dating from Jamaica's first world rated sprinter...Norman Manley in 1910-12... is dat said track im run pon

...So changing that would be like destroying a national monument...we can't have that
        Last edited by Don1; September 19, 2012, 02:46 PM.

100 yards running downhill .....

dat nuh seh....evvybady who run pon it ave di said chance same way

They all do personal bests (sic) which they have not been able to replicate anywhere else. LOL. If only JC could get the Olympics.

LOL