• The Purples bleeding Maroon n Gold

Purple exodus — KC stars make switch for Manning Cup season
    BY HOWARD WALKER Observer Senior Reporter walkerh@jamaicaobserver.com
    Tuesday, August 21, 2012

NATIONAL player Jorginho James is among a handful of Kingston College (KC) players seeking to switch allegiance to Wolmer's Boys' for the upcoming Manning Cup schoolboy football season.

James, 18, who scored on his senior debut in helping the Reggae Boyz edge Cuba 1-0 in February, was expected to lead the charge for last year's beaten Walker Cup finalists KC.

Along with Jason Greenland and captain Tazeo Gilpin, James is reportedly on the verge of donning the maroon-and-gold colours of the Heroes' Circle institution. He would thus continue the recent trend of the past four years where some of KC's top players have transferred to rival schools.
    In 2009, prolific national Under-20 striker MaCauley Tulloch made the surprising trek across North Street to neighbours and bitter rivals St George's College (STGC) and was instrumental in the Light Blues' successful defence of their Manning Cup title.

The following year, another national youth striker, Rohan Roye, also joined the Light Blues. Just last season, Taval Whittaker and Kamario Osbourne made the move to Old Hope Road to represent Jamaica College (JC).
    These transfers have been rumoured to result from a poor relationship and loss of respect for former coach Trevor 'Jumpy' Harris. Sportsmaster Noel Channer is cognisant of these developments, but believes the Sixth-Form curriculum is the major problem.

"This year there is a little discomfort with the players and the coach and there have been rumours that a few has been wandering and Wolmer's is one of the areas of targets," Channer told the Jamaica Observer.
    "I'm not sure of the numbers of players who have targeted Wolmer's, but we're still in contact with some of them to convince them, irrespective of their exam results," he said.

Channer added: "I think it has to do essentially with the programmes offered at Sixth Form. The... programmes do not suit some of the players and we (therefore) have students going as far as Camperdown and Wolmer's from time to time.

"But to the best of my knowledge, there is a little softening of the administration at times. There is this notion that the players are not accommodated, but sometimes it has to do with the grades. If they don't meet the requirements, we cannot accommodate them," he pointed out.
    KC, meanwhile, will enter their latest campaign with a new coach, Donovan 'DV' Hayles, after parting company with Harris.

"As far as I'm concerned, the coach had a verbal tendering of his resignation... I haven't seen it in writing... He indicated that it's family commitment, so I don't know how accurate that is," Channer said of Harris' departure.
    KC have not won the Manning Cup for 26 years, dating back to 1986 when they defeated Charlie Smith, 1-0, for back-to-back titles and their 14th overall.
    "There is no pressure on the current coach. As a matter of fact, he has asked for a three-year programme that will enable him to sort things out," Channer noted.
    "But whatever time he has for the two weeks before Manning Cup we will be grateful for that and for him to get his programme going," he added.
    KC will play last year's 'triple crown' schoolboy champions St George's on Saturday in the annual Roper Cup extravaganza contested by the North Street rivals.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz24CTnF47X

For the people who are against transfers, should KC keep these players even if they have no program the boys are interested in?

Wouldn't that result in them just playing football and not really giving 100% in the subject area they want to cover?

Well if 6th form too hard they should go to wolmers. Nothing wrong with that.

KC don't have the programs for the players? Yeah, right!

Snicker.

"Channer added: "I think it has to do essentially with the programmes offered at Sixth Form. The... programmes do not suit some of the players and we (therefore) have students going as far as Camperdown and Wolmer's from time to time."

not me implying it at all.

When is not ok for the kid to transfer? That is why in my book the parents should be ones making the decisions and not just schools. Some of the school keep the players back only for their own purpose.

I have seen youths get in college in the states and his coach calling him to come back to strengthen his manning cup team and his mother almost let him. Good thing the youth and his grandma had their head screwed on.

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
                Well if 6th form too hard they should go to wolmers. Nothing wrong with that.
                LOL - The last thing I heard is that you need 7 subjects to get on the Wolmer's 6th form list and a distinction in every subject that you want to do in 6th form.

All this is news????

LoL

Jawges still aggo win again, no matter how many transfers Wulmaz gets. LoL

Love that confidence

mi brethren yout a run the midfield fi Jawges.
                      Jerondy Henry. Should be break out year for him. Playing since 14 years old.

mi brethren yout a run the midfield fi Jawges.
                        Jerondy Henry. Should be break out year for him. Playing since 14 years old.
                        HIM have St.George's College pedigree ?

See for yourself. this was at least a year to 2 years ago.

Anthony Minott, Star Writer

Jerondy Henry - Anthony Minott
                          Jamaica's senior football programme's mid-field issues could soon be a thing of the past if Portmore United's, Jerondy Henry, who is just 14, reaches his full potential in the coming years.
                          The midfield general has been a bright point for his outfit and has attracted much praise because of his technical ability and pin-point passing.
                          Add to the mix his impressive work-rate and it becomes glaringly clear that this multi-dimensional talent his worthy of the attention that his coming his way. This gifted St George's College standout was instrumental in his team winning a junior title in Port-more recently.
                          In the Senator Arthur Williams sponsored Portmore Under-15 League final at the Ferdie Neita Park last Sunday, Henry scored his team's fifth and final goal on the stroke of full time, and assisted on another in a 5-2 win over defending champions Cumberland. Ishmail Curry scored a brace, while, Andrew Gutzmore and Rasheed Hamilton also netted for the victors.
                          Henry said that his father, Jerome Henry, who played for Jamaica National in the Business House football league inspired him to play the game. He however has Brazil's Ronal-dinho, as his international inspiration.
                          "He is a skilful player, has good composure and makes good decisions whenever he has the ball in his possession," the older Henry stated in an interview with STAR Sports on Monday.
                          Dwayne Atkinson, Jerondy's Under-14 coachat St George's believes that the young player is a special talent. "His work rate and skills are exceptional, if he puts his mind to it he will go much further in the game," He added. "I'm sure he wants to go further than schoolboy football, and he's very passionate about the game. He's talented, humble, soft spoken, and a very good player."

ok nice article ! hopes he progress well.

seems that the Light Blues not as strong this year, inexperience and youthfulness set in ...

Who told You that? If you a georgian, guh pon facebook and see that the full side nuh start play together yet in friendlies as nuff on National duties.