• Let's go .........Charlie Smith

Manning finalists set for big celebration

Published: Friday | November 25, 2011 Comments 0

St George's captain Oshane Jenkins. - file

Charlie Smith High's captain Javoni Simms. - file

1 2 >
    Jermaine Lannaman, Gleaner Writer St George's College vice-principal, Suzette Mullings-Douglas, and Charlie Smith High principal, Dr Dennis Kelly, say preparations are in high gear heading into tomorrow's staging of the urban area ISSA/Gatorade/Pepsi Cup final at the National Stadium.

The final, which kicks off at 4 p.m., two hours after the important staging of the third-and-fourth-place play-off match between dethroned champions Jamaica College (JC) and Wolmer's Boys, will bring together the competition's two in-form teams, and according to Mullings-Douglas and Dr Kelly, the schools have been putting in the measures to ensure victory.

"The whole community is elated at what we have achieved thus far, and in a bid to ensure that we go all the way and win we have been preparing accordingly," said Kelly, who was vice-principal when the school last captured the trophy in 1995.

"The players have been getting the support from our teachers, who have been giving them counselling and advice; the students have been involved in preparing flags and uniforms for the occasion; and we, the administrative staff, have been trying to oversee everything so that Saturday will be a success," he declared.

Recapturing the title
    Mullings-Douglas has been witness to St George's recent successes. The North Street-based institution won back-to-back titles in 2008 and 2009, after a 16-year hiatus, and the school is looking forward to recapturing the title.

"It's football and St George's is seen as a football school, so everyone is excited and looking forward to the final," said Mullings-Douglas, who is in charge of the Light Blues upper school.

She said the football team has been getting excellent support from the school's old boys since the start of the season.
    She added: "We have been helping the students with getting tickets, and helping in their arrangements with regard to transportation. So we are ready and raring to go."

The Neville Bell-coached St George's, who are also in the final of the Walker Cup, will enter the game as slight favourites, having not lost a game all season. Their line-up includes five national Under-17 players, who were part of Jamaica's campaign at the FIFA Under-17 World Cup earlier this year.

Outstanding player
    Charlie Smith, on the other hand, who are conditioned by Jerome Waite, and whose last major football title came back in 2002 when they won the Walker Cup, have not lost a game in the Manning Cup, but were beaten in the Walker Cup. They will pin their hopes on the competition's most outstanding player, left-side midfielder Javoni Simms.
    Simms and outstanding central midfielder Andrew Allen played leading roles in helping Arnett Gardens-based Charlie Smith to defeat JC 3-2 in the semi-finals.

Forward Kendon Anderson, defender and captain Oshane Jenkins and goalkeeper Nico Campbell were instrumental in St George's 1-0 over Wolmer's Boys in the other semi-final.
    Only the grandstand will be utilised for tomorrow's matches at the National Stadium. Entrance fees: Students with identification cards will pay $300, while it's $600 for general admission.

...lol...go where ?

St.G. CCCCCCCCCCCCCCC !!!!

good luck !!

Gimme ah SSSSSSSSS!

St.G.C 2 Charlie Smith 1..

second half in progress...

Congrats on a nice victory

Tonx!

Congrats on a nice victory
              Thank You !! ..

thats number 20....
              See, when we seh wi nuh lose Manning Cup finals, is not a joke ting.....

now Don 21, gimme a ESSSSSSSSSSS.
              and a TEEEEEEEEEE
              try a Geeeeeeeee
              and the big Ceeeeeeeeeeeeee

ST.G.C !!!!1 ST.G.C !!!.....only TRUE BLUE School !!!

No man,

Number 21!

JC has 24, but we coming fi dem! LoL

oh yeah mi figet deh Don1 did buy three more tikle back in the day..

dem other 3 shouldnt count

Willi...ah really 22 wi ave...

coz in 1982, when we was kill off every school, Kempes mek dem disqualify wi....da team deh was unstoppable....

is bare 5-0 we drop...Strachan, Littlejohn, as forwards, with chicken a run the middle..

ahhh boy dem Kempes mek dem get weh..

When St George's College (StGC) won the Manning Cup title in 2009, Romario Jones and Davion Kelly watched from bench as their team recorded a come-from-behind 3-2 victory over Bridgeport High.

Two-years on, both players are now at the forefront of the Light Blues' starting line-up and looking to take Corporate Area's most prestigious schoolboy trophy back to North Street. The Georgians will oppose Charlie Smith in today's final at the National Stadium.

Both players, who have netted 17 goals between them this season, will add a lot of experience to StGC line-up, who are seeking their 20th hold on the trophy.

Jones, a member of Jamaica's Under-17 team which participated in this year's FIFA Under-17 World Cup, said he is confident of victory.

second Manning Cup final

"I am very happy to be playing in my second Manning Cup final," said Jones, who has scored eight goals in this year's competition. "We are very confident because we have a very good team, and so we just have to do what the coaches say when we go out on the field."

A midfielder, who can also play in defence, the versatile Jones added that it would be a dream come true if he were to win the Manning Cup for a second time in his career.

"I am also looking at threading some passes through to Kendon Anderson or Davion Kelly or any other player to get some goals for us because this is what I have been doing since the start of the season," said Jones, who represents Cavalier in the youth leagues.

Continuing, Jones said: "It will be a big achievement for me winning this Manning Cup, because this will be my second title and it will be good for my record and my career going forward."

Kelly, a bustling striker who is well known for his swiftness, dribbling skills and clever off-the-ball movements, said he is ready for the big occasion.

"It is a very good feeling to be in the final again, and I hope that we can do our best on Saturday to win the title again," said Kelly, who has netted nine goals in this season's competition.

"I think that once we play our best and do what the coaches tell us to do then we should be able to come out top," Kelly added.

No man,

Number 21!

JC has 24, but we coming fi dem! LoL
                        gotta give Jawges unnu props But mi tink is 20 unnu ave now

mi tink JC might ave 21 tikle...but mi ear all kinda numba

Nah, confirmed for both. Check Wikipedia or even today's Gleaner final preview. It has also been confirmed by several on Fbook alum site.

Here are the years for StGC.

1912,20,27,-29,32,35-7,45,47-8,55-6,59,83-4,92,2008-9, 2011 ..Dats 21.

JC is 1909-10, 13-19, 21-2, 33-4, 40-2, 46, 61-3, 68,74,2007, 2010...dat 24.

...OK but some the years that JC claim, mi get fi undastand dat deer was no competition in those years....so dats how de get to 24

LoL