and we actually had to bat against some fast bowlers.. man all ah bruk stumps..
Tell me suppen Sickko. . .
"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
I am not talking about Viv. I am speaking of less able players than Viv who run the risk of suffering serious injury because of taking unnecessary risk. Viv was exceptional, so too were Haynes, Greenidge, Rowe etc, etc. Mi nah talk dem man deh."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
gotta play the odds.. not that many high school pace bowlers that don't give you enough time to negotiate... yuh gwine buy a helmet sake ah one or 2 bowlah dat yuh may or may not face ?
Unless yuh juss reflexes like molasses or yuh fraidy fraidy...
Even if a bwoy quick. yuh ah guh give him the satisfaction of wearing a helmet and him a bwoy not even 19 yet ?
Yuh mad !
OK, so it is an ego thing for you over safety. I got you..."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
As I said, some schools don't have the quality pace bowlers like some. Some schools (like Campion) don't make it to national finals to face the best of the crop of young pace bowlers. Again, I remind you, Jerome Taylor left high school and walked into Jamaica and West Indies teams. That should tell you something. Courtney Walsh did it before too so I think you get my drift.
It should be safety over ego. I bet you would not allow your young teenage son to go face a Jerome Taylor without helmet?"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Tilla has a point there Maudib. Some high school pace bowlers are very fast. When Holding was at KC he wasn't even the faster paceman on that Sunlight team. Consider also, that Patrick Patterson was super fast even as a high school pacer.
Helmets should be a requirement in high school cricket. Don't they use helmets in high school baseball in the US? I think if cricket were a high school item in the US you would see them using it. It's no psycho or ego issue; it's a matter of safety first!"The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011
True and he was the most consistent one in terms of line and length."The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011
mi deal wid it ahready..is an issue of playing the numbers...
The number of bowlers at schoolboy level that would possibly warrant a helmet is so low as to make this helmet discussion a non-issue..
If one feels particularly concerned that a cricket ball may hit them in the noggin (this can happen even by mistiming a swing at a full toss by a spin bowler) then fork out di money.. get all di equipment fi dat mattah.. elbow guard, chess guard... cyann afford to get a bruise...
I won't continue the discussion with Ben. He is in a win-an-argument-at-all-cost modes where he defys common sense. Any well thinking person would agree that in the interest of safety, then helmets should be worn, especially against fast bowlers."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran