Tell me suppen Sickko. . .

• Tell me suppen Sickko. . .

They do not wear protective head gear in schoolboy cricket? I remember when I was in high school, I liked cricket but would have welcomed head gear to protect be from blows to the head/fact. I have seen where players at the international level are wearing them, but has it not caught on in Jamaica?

STETHS close in on Headley Cup

Published: Wednesday | April 13, 2011 0 Comments

Gayle

Richard Bryan, Gleaner Writer
    Defending Grace/ISSA Headley Cup champions, St Elizabeth Technical High School (STETHS), look unstoppable for a 24th title, after completely dominating first-time finalists Tacky High on day two of their three-day final at Alpart Club, Nain, St Elizabeth.
    When bad light forced the end of play an hour early yesterday, STETHS had piled up a 240-run lead, after progressing to 81 for one in their second innings.
    Earlier, Tacky meekly surrendered the battle for first-innings honours when they were bowled out for 71, after showing some promise at lunch, posting 40 for two.
    The St Mary team had made a fair start of 24 runs, seeing off the pace of Omar Samuels and Nicholson Gordon. However, Horane Linton's introduction in the attack, by way of spin, immediately accounted for Sherard Facey (12), who was caught and bowled for 12.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...s/sports3.html
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

They do but I guess the STETHS Senior Cup...oops ...Headly Cup team was so much better than Tacky the players did not feel threatened

OK. I think I would have welcomed helmets when I was a schoolboy. I was fraid of pace bowling like puss after I was hit in the mouth with a compo ball hitting a stone and rising quicker than I could take evasive action.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Flashbacks Tilla?

Who havent been hit in 'delicate areas' or on the fingers or in the face by a 'compo' ball....I recall having a few fingers plastered to a bat handle once and couldnt use the hand for days..

yuh 'fraida croaking lizard too tilla?

HEY!!!! finding amusement in another person's psychological challenges is not cool! Wha dat name again, Farmah?

(rahtid, is wha just mek dah sound deh?)

A wha Schadenfreud!
              "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Saw this post I am wondering if my old boys association should check into purchasing helmets for the cricketers. Are head injuries a serious concern in schoolboy cricket?

I am sure it is potentially a problem and you should encourage your old boys assn. to get your school some headgear. Knowing how things are in Jamaica, I can see many players still comfortable with taking the risk and have no concern about head injury.

Hey, when I was playing, I had no concern about head injury. It was after I was hit in the mouth by a bouncing ball that I started getting concerned. My concern then was not about me sustaining head injury. I was concerned that a ball could spoil up my handsome face.

On a more serious note, I think emphasis should be made in the schools about the importance of wearing these essential protective wear.

So if it wasn't a cricket ball that did it (spoiled your face), what did? just a little early morning humour... Morning Tilla, How are you?

On the helmet note at the club where I coach we do not allow players to bat without box nor helmet, no exceptions! leave your box home no batting for you... we provide the helmets ; the keener ones have their own(sometimes it is a function of affordability but I have observed that those who are really into it acquire their own gears usually, regardless of socio-economic circumstances) and there are a few in the age group I work with (8-10 yrs). Digicel sponsors the cricket "clinic" as they call it here and so we do not have a funding problem. Helmets with proper care can last for years.

I played cricket as a schoolboy and I remember a friend of mine being hit on the side of his head with a ball, it left a depression in the side of his head (temple) that didn't go away for several days. We had to take him to UC for attention, luckily he had no lasting injury... but we were all very concerned. Of course, now I would NEVER face a bowler without a helmet (I no longer play) something we didn't think twice about doing back in the day.

I see you got jokes PeterR!
                      Yes it is surprising how we risked it back in the day. Well, at the time even professional cricket was not using helmets, so there was no thought given to it.

Helmet fi School Boy Cricket ?

lol !

Jokers..

Well, you can say anything as you went to Campion. I on the other hand knew we had some fast bowlers in my time who would scare the daylights out of you. Hey, Jerome Taylor from STETHS walked right into the West Indies side out of high school. That should tell you something.

I played schoolboy cricket very briefly. In the last game I played, I had a nice ball which bounced suddenly and crashed itself right under my ribs. Wow!!! To this day I can recall the pain. It was a game against KC and the bowler was a guy named Clifton Hackett. Before that, I got hit under my chin by spin bowler from TG ( I think he was called Toothpick). Needless to say, I haven't played a game of cricket since that rib-cage impact.
                            "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Suh wait.. wi nuh haffi play di oddah school dem ?

Campion record in School Boy Cricket is actually quite good.. certainly in my day.. and we actually had to bat against some fast bowlers.. man all ah bruk stumps..