What is the explanation?

• What is the explanation?

Why Kingston Boys school dominate ISSATrack and Field ?

Why Rural Girls dominate ISSA Track and Field ?

Do the boys at Holdwood and Edwin Allen get a fair opporunity on the teams or do the coaches stack the deck in order to win girls champs?

Full list of champs results at;

http://www.golocaljamaica.com/champs/latestresults.php

always wondered. when was the last time a rural school won boys champs? or a town school won girls champs?

bwoy I dont know

but I can only guess and say the rural skools go out and buy the best girls n train them properly as opposed to the urban skools who depend mostly on girls passing exams to attend thr

while the urban skools do the same for the boyz ie the traditional skools eg KC calabar jc go out n scout talents while the rural boyz try to do the same but they dont have that old boyz support or system/tradition with a few maybe bn VERE TECH n even holmwood

my3cents

Originally posted by Skeng D View Post
        bwoy I dont know

but I can only guess and say the rural skools go out and buy the best girls n train them properly as opposed to the urban skools who depend mostly on girls passing exams to attend thr

while the urban skools do the same for the boyz ie the traditional skools eg KC calabar jc go out n scout talents while the rural boyz try to do the same but they dont have that old boyz support or system/tradition with a few maybe bn VERE TECH n even holmwood

my3cents
        Good points. With respect to the boys it may be the alumni and size. Munro is doing well but they don't have the size. Cornwall College lack of effort is preplexing. It is a boy school, it has the size and alumni is powerfull but the interest does not seems to be there. I wonder if Sicko could enlighten us on Cornwall's lack of interest?

The Kingston girls schools don't seem to have any interest. I dont know about the others but Wolmer's girls reject tens of applications each year. They also had the chance of a lifetime to expand track and field when Shelly Ann Fraser struck Gold in Beijing. Over 80 girls who had entered through exams showed up for training and money flowed in but the school promptly cut the size of the team.

Maybe the rural schools focus more on football..the best ballers come from the country....

Really? Yuh young still!!!
            Last edited by Farmah; April 9, 2011, 10:24 AM.
            "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Time, maybe the track program at the Kingston schools are overall more set-up to produce more athletes in in different disciplines of track & field for the boys.

Girls Champs is a differrent kettle of fish because we have seen where dominance over the years came from the town schools then swing back to the country schools.
              "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

remember holmwood n edwin allen go out and buy athletes enuh

keep that in ur minds

also these top boys town skools do it

just see how when them interview sum a dem top 18 year old athletes n them can hardly put a sentence in english together lol

wining at all cost

lot of these town skool(esp.. girls) dont stoop like that

I object to that as a Georgian!

All Manning usually beats All Dacosta too.

How come STETHS have all the cricketers?

Yes, STETHS produce a trailer-load of good cricketers. I don't know how they do it. Holmwood, St Jago, KC, XLCR and especially Wolmer's produce a fair share too.
                      Last edited by Farmah; April 9, 2011, 11:45 AM.

for athletics it have tuh do with the schools system

but it even have to do more with scouting new talents and making them come to ur school

while STETHS and this cricket thing have to do with the system aswell BUT in that particular parish CRICKET is basically the only sports they play they eat breed sleep it thr n also in manchester

suh u can understand why they do well cuz people thr simple luv it more than any other sports even football

if urban girl skools want to do well at champs they have to simple follow what they male counterparts are/have bn doing

ie go out and buy runners and making them represent the skool no matter how poor thr academics are, instead of depending solely on luck ie GSAT results

also funds for training equipment etc

SkengD, the town schools who have won Girls Champs in the past how did they do it? I doubt that they bought athletes.

Originally posted by Farmah View Post
                            SkengD, the town schools who have won Girls Champs in the past how did they do it? I doubt that they bought athletes.
                            you have a list with year school name etc

people a buy athletes from whopi kill philop

even more than ever then cuz I doubt they had academics requirements back in the old time dayz

or am I wrong

no worry i found it @ http://blogs.jamaicans.com/tracknews...winners-girls/

the LAST GURL skool who won

Vere Technical
                              Excelsior High

things time change since 73 full 17 years before me enter the world lol