• Peter R... a blast from the Past

Check it...
    Attached Files

JC football team. Are you there?

nuhbaddy at home

Can you name the 11? I am terrible with names..only two spring to mind tho' I recognize most of the faces. Bond and the fellow in the back second from right looks like Herbie Nelson but I could be wrong.

That would be sometime in the early 70's I'd guess.

Check it...
          Back Row Left to Right:
          Maxie Coleman, Steven Bond, Luke "Shenk" Whitney, Norman Pennycooke, Herbie Nelson, Ian Gage

Front:
          Heraldo Mitchell, Martin Woodstock, Donovan Brown, Jimmy Sinclair, Gregory Reid

Mose ah dem tek one ah di 5 flite ah day an end up inna di cultural wasteland dem kall Florida

My brain with names is terrible,... I can't believe I didn't recognize haraldo mitchell...we were in the same form I believe until fourth form?... Coleman , Sinclair and Reid i didn't know too well, but the rest I crossed paths with.

Nice photo by the way... and it looks like the south florida JC old boys assoc is very active... my older brother goes to the reunions regularly...Paul Marin might start attending since he recently moved south.

kool! If yuh know Mitch yuh supposed to know fi mi bigga bredda dem... Beefy1 & 2...

Maxie & Jimmy & Shenk were excellent ballers...dem & others bruk up di Mona Mafia whey did a rule wi football Part of the big wave of "Junior Secondary" students the Ministry of Education under Manley started to integrate into some so called "traditional" schools starting in 1973 I think with a 3rd Form class dem did call 3J composed of Junior Sec students (a kind of mini Apartheid way of going about it).... JC leadership did not handle that big transition particularly well...but that's anedda story
              Last edited by Don1; January 9, 2011, 09:24 AM.

I mean "no"... am not there...

Hey, was googling, saw this post, Haroldo Mitchell here. The one you're missing on the team is teddy alexander.

Don1, thanks for the pic, I've never had a copy of a team picture.

big respek Mitch!

Originally posted by Mitch View Post
                        Don1, thanks for the pic, I've never had a copy of a team picture.
                        Glad to oblige...a guy posted it on facebook and I picked it off

whey yuh deh??

I remember the team at Manning Cup...best offside trap I ever saw ran on a schoolboy defence....they had it down pat...I think Bond was the last stopper....

you got that rite...very disciplined Dennis Ziadie coached team ...wid Luke Whitney providing a Tappaesque presence in di miggle.. "God" dem used to kall im..

However that offside tactic failed in the '75 final (when that team was even better) against KC when the ref failed to call an obvious offside against Noel Rhudd or Bally Reid ...one ah dem...resulting in a tap in...the only goal of the game..

No doubt KC-ites have a different view..lol

What year was this?

Was this the team with the Dyer brothers and Alvin James?