Stud Morgan is dead

• Stud Morgan is dead

Former Munro College star athlete Stephen 'Stud' Morgan died recently of a heart attack I heard

No details but will share as soon as I hear anything.

Morgan was a star athlete and star pupil I hear and was fun to watch even whle he beat many CC boys in his days, i used to see him at Western champs all the time

what sport?

Horse racing.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

track and field

Steven came to Munro College from Unity Primary on a Government Scholarship in 1976 and left in 1983.

He was the epitome of excellence in the classroom and on the track. In 1983 he could only be beaten by Olympian Raymond Stewart in the Class I 100m and 200m. He also won the islandwide Math Competition.

Having earned a perfect SAT score and on the basis of his stellar academic and athletic exploits he was awarded a full scholarship to Princeton University that year as well. While at Princeton he established numerous school records that still stand today.

RIP Steven Stud Morgan.

Sounds like an All Round Champ...RIP

Steven came to Munro College from Unity Primary on a Government Scholarship in 1976 and left in 1983.

He was the epitome of excellence in the classroom and on the track. In 1983 he could only be beaten by Olympian Raymond Stewart in the Class I 100m and 200m. He also won the islandwide Math Competition.

Having earned a perfect SAT score and on the basis of his stellar academic and athletic exploits he was awarded a full scholarship to Princeton University that year as well. While at Princeton he established numerous school records that still stand today.

RIP Steven Stud Morgan.
              Hail the real man!

btw - All those who claim the athlete cannot 'do his books' if he gives full reign to his athletic talents...weh dem deh?

I will say it again - This argument about school is for academics only and the emphais on sports is unhealthy, is bogus.

It makes some feel good by the saying...but the mind does not go to sleep because of 'pumping iron'...or 'running track'...or 'playing ball'...or whatever on the playfield or in the gym!

Walk good, Stud!

we shouldn't get overly excited because a few exceptional people are able to excel at both sports and academics. Unfortunately most may not have the same ability and/or be blessed with the enabling environment for that sort of achievement...

Well then, please explain the fact that in any of our school's population less that 2% of our kids put in any serious effort at sports (could be considered to take part in sports?) and of that remaining 98% less than 2% are what you refer to as "exceptional people who excel at academics"?

I hope you will not even think of saying that those outcomes are the result of those kids watching sports?

...and may I ask you to focus on the many reports on our 'failing schools' as it relates to academic results gained year over year as you consider the arguments suggesting that the playing of sports/involvement in sports act as inhibitor to academic achievement?

Karl, not everyone is a Stud Morgan.

=Karl;275147]Well then, please explain the fact that in any of our school's population less that 2% of our kids put in any serious effort at sports (could be considered to take part in sports?) and of that remaining 98% less than 2% are what you refer to as "exceptional people who excel at academics"?
                      I hope you will not even think of saying that those outcomes are the result of those kids watching sports?
                      Between track, football at 3 levels, cricket at 2 levels, basketball 2 levels, and the more minor sports... I'd say up to15% - 20% of the typical school's population is seriously involved in sport... definitely not 2%....not saying that's a bad thing. Sport is great for kids on multiple levels.

In terms of popular recognition and hype however... sports ah di lick... not academics, especially not science which is the key to development..

That's unbalanced & unhealthy imho.

...and may I ask you to focus on the many reports on our 'failing schools' as it relates to academic results gained year over year as you consider the arguments suggesting that the playing of sports/involvement in sports act as inhibitor to academic achievement?
                      I don't know conclusively if it's an inhibitor...I advocate research to find out... it's important

Between track, football at 3 levels, cricket at 2 levels, basketball 2 levels, and the more minor sports... I'd say up to15% - 20% of the typical school's population is seriously involved in sport... definitely not 2%....not saying that's a bad thing. Sport is great for kids on multiple levels.

In terms of popular recognition and hype however... sports ah di lick... not academics, especially not science which is the key to development..

That's unbalanced & unhealthy imho.
                        15% - 20%?

No way!
                        You often find the same kids participating in the various sports.

I don't know conclusively if it's an inhibitor...I advocate research to find out... it's important
                        Agreed we need the facts...including comparing performances of those who play with who dabble or do not take part.

Karl, not everyone is a Stud Morgan.
                          Of course!

...and that is part of the problem - seeing a kid involved in sports who is an average student or poor student and jumping to the conclusion 'dat a sports mek hit'!

If you ask me poor performers are there because of the school and home environment. Most kids...I am thinking 80+% and perhaps higher have the capacity to do great work.

It is lack of motivation - poor school environment or poor teachers (school, home and the society at large) that results in the results.

The 'big downer' - lack of motivation. Matters not if it is poor self-esteem, poor health/going to school hungry...or tired have to work late...poor role models at home or society - e.g. studying is for girls or smoking 'weed'...or no one at home does homework...teachers who only cater to the 'faster kids' (who usually come out of, relatively speaking better home environment)...etc., etc.

There is just no one highly motivated who cannot excel in the classroom at multiple disciplines. NO DAMN PERSON!

Unless you believe that a healthy proportion of the population are born fools.

It is 'funny' but what or who motivates one child truns another off. Most teachers just cannot be bothered to work as hard as is demanded to, for example, find the method that would be unique to each child in his/her class. ...and that is understandable - just think on it 25 kids = 25 different targeted methods! ...each method to fit each child's unique 'motivation button'.

It does not mean the teacher has 5 super kids and 15 mediocre and 5 dumb...or whatever...

It means some are just not getting that which is unique to them. ...that which will turn on that thirst for knowledge. ...and it may mean it is not only the teacher who should shoulder that responsibility of 'hitting' that 'turn on button'...but the parents...the government that may not be providing the proper physical plant - e.g. well equipped chemistry or biology/zoology or physics labs...or language labs...

...and a whole host of 'other stuff' that has an effect on rate of development and learning...

=Karl;275324]15% - 20%?

No way!
                            You often find the same kids participating in the various sports.
                            2%?? If my school has 1500 kids that would mean 30 are involved in school teams.... pretty sure that the track team alone may be twice that.... not to mention the various other sports at various age groups

Agreed we need the facts...including comparing performances of those who play with who dabble or do not take part.
                            true dat..