The new Tappa?

• The new Tappa?

google_protectAndRun("render_ads.js::google_render _ad", google_handleError, google_render_ad);Halliman says schoolboy trio deserve national call

Published: Wednesday | December 23, 2009

Jermaine Lannaman, Gleaner Writer

Halliman
    Lebert Halliman, head coach of Jamaica's successful All-Schools team which recently returned home from a schools football tournament in South Florida, USA, believes that at least three players who were part of the team should at least be invited to train with the national senior team.

The Jamaican team trounced a Barbados All-Schools team 8-1 in the tournament's first game last Friday, before wrapping up the tournament with a 4-1 win over a South Florida equivalent.

Speaking after the team's return to the island on Monday, Halliman said St James High midfielder Ricardo Morris and defender John Barrett, as well as Manchester High midfielder Romena Bowie, were outstanding and have the ability to go very far.

"I think Morris has the skills and ability to be the new Theodore Whitmore and, along with defender John Barrett, who has the size and strength, and defensive midfielder Romena Bowie, should be invited to at least train with the national senior team," said Halliman.

He was assisted on the tour by St Elizabeth Technical High School (STETHS) coach Andrew Edwards and technical director Patrick 'Jackie' Walters, coach of Ben Francis Cup KO champions Glenmuir.

Influential

The trio, according to Halliman, were influential in two matches, which were of varying scales.

In the first game, led by hat-tricks from Wolmer's Christopher Waugh and St James' Allan Ottey, Jamaica outplayed their Barbadian counterparts. Deshawn Brown of STETHS and St George's Deshawn Forbes were the other scorers in the Barbados game.

In the second game, it took a brace from Ottey and goals from Barrett and forward Brown to break the back of the South Florida team.

"It was an outstanding tournament, a classic display from the boys, as evidenced by the scorelines. Barbados could not beat us, but the South Florida team was a fairly good team," said Halliman.

"What was also amazing was that it was the first time that the boys were playing on astro turf and they adjusted well. This was even more apparent in the second game, where the team had to play in below 34-degree temperatures. I lift my hat off to them," he added.

Halliman, in the meantime, says he is looking forward to defending the title next year.

Annual event

"At the end of the match, the commissioner of Lauderhill came up to us and said that he wants the tournament to be annual event. It's an opportunity to expose local talent to college coaches and scouts and I am looking forward to defending our title." The tournament also saw Inter-Secondary Schools Sports Association (ISSA) president, Dr Walton Small, and competitions secretary and head of delegation, George Forbes, who is the ISSA competition's director, making the trip.
    Last edited by Karl; December 25, 2009, 11:43 AM.

Why not the new Jermaine Hue... ?

Hmmmmnnnn! That's some high praises for the litle one, considering that Daley (TGFC), Steele (HVFC) and Priestly also play that maestro position.

Let's hope (if the yute really that good) that the powers that be will make sure that young Ricardo Morris gets the required help to hone his skills.

Too many of the young linkys since Tappa have fallen by the wayside.
      Keith Kelly, Lenny Hyde Jr, Omar Brissett, Lacon Brissett, Ricardo Cousins, Michael Campbell, Akeem priestly, Damion "Cappo" Williams and Sean Fraser have been around without stamping their imprint on the baton.

The way I see it, we should take the best of the young midfield maestros
      and try to get the best two of the lot. Obviously Halliman is very high on Ricardo Morris; however, how would he compare that youth to the skills of Keammar Daley, Andrew Steele, the inactive Lenny Hyde Jr., and Akeem Priestly?
      "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Dem tink Tappa Genius grow pon tree ?

Too late shall be the cry...

Dem commission di Statue yet ?

because he's not nearly that good. i know ricardo morris, and he's no maestro!

He's young, and can't really compete with the likes of a Keammar Daley right now. But in terms of grooming him to be the next "whomever", yes, he does have an educated left foot, like Maestro, and deserves to be guided properly. However, there still is big gulf between what he has shown and what Maestro did at that age. We should not get carried away. But the Tappa comparison could be on point.

I think Deshorn Brown of STETHS could become a lethal striker for the Boyz soon.

Why not the new Jermaine Hue... ?
              has jerry hue achieved more than tapparino as a centre ? big ben you
              need a slap in your head . Tappa was one of the best midfielder to come
              out of JA .
              Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
              United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
              happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
              Probably forthcoming...

Originally posted by Farmah View Post
                Ricardo Cousins,

what happen to Ricardo cousins Farmah ?
                Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
                United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
                happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
                Probably forthcoming...

Heh, heh..

Comparisons to Hue are not recommended..

Don't want to consign the poor chap to an unremarkable international and club career...

Sacrasm is lost on you.. my position on the matter should be clear by now..

You Tube Video Jamaica HS All Stars vs. South Florida

YouTube - Jamaica All School (4) vs. South Florida Select (1)

This is the first of several videos posted on You Tube. This video shows nothing more than players lined up for the national anthems. From this site, you can link to the others showing game action.

Is like Halliman nuh watch schoolboy football this year???

Marvin Morgan was waaayyy ahead of all other players, powering StGC to 3 finals and 2 trophies. It is hard to conceive of a more dominant player in recent years.

He skipped this tourney for a tryout with Birmingham Football team

See the 2 magical
                          goals from Morgan here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RjiaEjptF2s

Is like Halliman nuh watch schoolboy football this year???

Marvin Morgan was waaayyy ahead of all other players, powering StGC to 3 finals and 2 trophies. It is hard to conceive of a more dominant player in recent years.

He skipped this tourney for a tryout with Birmingham Football team
                            Yuh cyan really get carried away... tell wi ow much ah di school yute game dem yuh watch dis season.

Mi ah get mi reports regular!

Plus the stats speak fi demself. Every game that breddah name get called as the talisman (Marvin).

Indeed, based on reports, the JC yute Ashani would be clear number 2.

Mi know Halliman and him done confess his anti-Jawges bias to me years ago!