'It's the daCosta Cup we really want' - CC coach
Richard Bryan, Freelance Writer
Clarendon College coach Kevin 'Sensie' Williams has asked his fans not to be disheartened at losing Saturday's Ben Francis Cup final to Frome Technical.
"We started the season with an intention to win three titles; as far as I am concerned, the main one is not lost," said Williams, a former Clarendon player who won several Ben Francis titles as well as the daCosta Cup between 1989 and 1991.
"It is not a case where we lost by a big margin or anything like that. I didn't think we lost the game because of any bad tactics or anything like that. Against a good team, we just didn't score our chances when we got them and it is as simple as that," he added.
Clarendon lost 5-4 on penalties at St. Elizabeth Technical High School.
Williams believes the Ben Francis Cup is not as prestigious as the daCosta Cup and that Clarendon is more hungry to win the latter, something they have not done since the departure of the institution's most successful coach, Patrick 'Jackie' Walters.
Their quest for the daCosta Cup title resumes on Wednesday against Manchester's Holmwood Technical in a group that also includes DeCarteret College and STETHS.
The parting comments of a Frome fan to his Clarendon counterpart, after they two were hotly engaged in bets as to which team would win during Saturday's match-up, suggest Frome and Clarendon may end up in the daCosta Cup final.
"We a guh buck again 'cause me nuh think you have two better teams in the competition," the fan said to the other.
Saturday's game totally mirrored those comments as both teams could confidently claim dominance of at least one of each halves.
Clarendon won the midfield battle in the first half and duly took the lead midway the period after Gregory Lewis volleyed home a cross that was set up by connecting plays from wingback Akeem Anaki and Damali Samuels.
In fact, these three may have proved the decisive element in Clarendon's loss. Lewis was unfortunately sent off in the first half of extra time when he received a second caution for allegedly deliberately handling the ball to secure an advantage in his opponent's box.
It was Anaki's penalty which was saved during the shoot-out by the player of the match, goalkeeper Shamar Mullings. And, according to coach Williams, it was Samuels' failure to convert close to the half-time mark which let Frome off the hook.
"We could have knocked the wind out of them," he said.
Richard Bryan, Freelance Writer
Clarendon College coach Kevin 'Sensie' Williams has asked his fans not to be disheartened at losing Saturday's Ben Francis Cup final to Frome Technical.
"We started the season with an intention to win three titles; as far as I am concerned, the main one is not lost," said Williams, a former Clarendon player who won several Ben Francis titles as well as the daCosta Cup between 1989 and 1991.
"It is not a case where we lost by a big margin or anything like that. I didn't think we lost the game because of any bad tactics or anything like that. Against a good team, we just didn't score our chances when we got them and it is as simple as that," he added.
Clarendon lost 5-4 on penalties at St. Elizabeth Technical High School.
Williams believes the Ben Francis Cup is not as prestigious as the daCosta Cup and that Clarendon is more hungry to win the latter, something they have not done since the departure of the institution's most successful coach, Patrick 'Jackie' Walters.
Their quest for the daCosta Cup title resumes on Wednesday against Manchester's Holmwood Technical in a group that also includes DeCarteret College and STETHS.
The parting comments of a Frome fan to his Clarendon counterpart, after they two were hotly engaged in bets as to which team would win during Saturday's match-up, suggest Frome and Clarendon may end up in the daCosta Cup final.
"We a guh buck again 'cause me nuh think you have two better teams in the competition," the fan said to the other.
Saturday's game totally mirrored those comments as both teams could confidently claim dominance of at least one of each halves.
Clarendon won the midfield battle in the first half and duly took the lead midway the period after Gregory Lewis volleyed home a cross that was set up by connecting plays from wingback Akeem Anaki and Damali Samuels.
In fact, these three may have proved the decisive element in Clarendon's loss. Lewis was unfortunately sent off in the first half of extra time when he received a second caution for allegedly deliberately handling the ball to secure an advantage in his opponent's box.
It was Anaki's penalty which was saved during the shoot-out by the player of the match, goalkeeper Shamar Mullings. And, according to coach Williams, it was Samuels' failure to convert close to the half-time mark which let Frome off the hook.
"We could have knocked the wind out of them," he said.