You have hypocrisy running thru your veins.
When Boxhill was messing up, you kept repeating that if he would "just do" then nobody would have the opportunity to be sabotaging his program or for such a claim to gain any traction. Well, if Burrell had "just done" at the time he was kicked out of office, then no other person or team could have wrested the presidency of the JFF from him. Burrell was too lazy and arrogant to even put together a manifesto to counter the impressive one put forward by the other team. He deserved to go when he did and he best be warned that lightning does strike the same place twice!
Alas, football will be rescued! - Captain Horace Burrell
Wrong!
The bakery was started in 1995. You may want to research when Burrell first assumed the JFF presidency.
I will give you the leadership aspect that comes with being a Captain in the army. I know several captains in the JDF and few impress me with any particular leadership qualities. The captain is obviously an exception.
Save the garbage about who was there before. The issue as you brought up is qualifications. Many of us could say that what was there when Boxhill took over was far from focused at the task at hand. Coincidentally, the Captain's demise occured when other things took pride of place, it appears.
Horace Burrell, principal of Captain's Bakery, was a 2001 Business Leader nominee for creating one of Jamaica's most successful baking retail outlets ever. That year he had five outlets in Jamaica turning over consolidated annual sales of $200 million and had established a US$3.4-million, 6,000 square-foot outlet in the Cayman Islands. Since then Burrell, who is also slated to take over the presidency of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), has continued to expand his bakery chain. In 2004, he constructed a 13,000 square-foot bakery at the Portmore Mall in Portmore, St Catherine.
Leave a comment:
He was a captain in the Jamaica defense force and ran a successful business. Those both call for some leadership.
When he took over the JFF had no proven leader and he was much better than who was there.
Leave a comment:
So let me get this straight, even though Boxhill and Mrs Simpson Miller turned out to be the same kind of leader, one should be tarred and feathered and the other given sainthood?
Leave a comment:
Originally posted by Gamma View Postwhat kinda back and belly bill approach that?!
even while you were typing you KNEW that to be the case.....ah bwoy!!
Suffice it to say Baddaz has given me his thoughts on PNP leadership before.Last edited by Karl; October 4, 2007, 01:04 PM.
Leave a comment:
what kinda back and belly bill approach that?!
even while you were typing you KNEW that to be the case.....ah bwoy!!
Leave a comment:
Originally posted by HL View PostBaddaZ, I do not agree with your third paragraph. Seems like you did not think it through...
Quote: 'is one thing about jamaicans, they will not rally behind anyone they believe is inept or lack superior skill set to achieve objectives...'
Bax-ill jis wan heg-zample af a hin-ept an lack superior skills wi ...sum a wi di rally backa!
...nuh tuch Sitah P hor mi wi bex!
Leave a comment:
BaddaZ, I do not agree with your third paragraph. Seems like you did not think it through...
Quote: 'is one thing about jamaicans, they will not rally behind anyone they believe is inept or lack superior skill set to achieve objectives...'
Leave a comment:
I can recall Hugh Perry from Portland a good man and a willing man who took over the JFf Presidency in the 80s but didn't have a plan and the leadership capability, as a Portland man as myself I can remember the disappointment so that is why we need to look for better leaders to replace our current ones and don't think anybody can lead just like that.
Boxhill was never qualified but sometimes we put arrogance as the top of the not to do leadership chart, instead of putting checks and balances in place.
"is one thing about jamaicans, they will not rally behind anyone they believe is inept or lack superior skill set to achieve objectives..."
this is true but why do we elect them and promote them even when we know they lack the quality?
Leave a comment:
well a good businessman or leader would have to assess his failings... he is aware of why he lost but his arrogance remains... the quality he has why he will succeed is his pride and ambition... he desparately wants to be successful and to be viewed as the hero who saved jamaica football and made jamaica football a world recognised brand... thats his drive and if thats what helps jamaica football, i am all for it...
Leave a comment:
yow sass... boxhill took the job without a real plan... he was propped up to run against captain by people with an axe to grind... it was all a set up to knock the captain off his perch... now the captain, from what i see is an arrogant man but he gets the job done despite his faults...
if boxhill was a real administrator with vision and an ability to sell his ideas to the corporate sector, we would not be having this discussion now...
is one thing about jamaicans, they will not rally behind anyone they believe is inept or lack superior skill set to achieve objectives...
thats why boxhill failed miserably... the best thing he did as president was remove himself from consideration in the next election...
Leave a comment:
cost painful yes....VERY painful and much worse than i would have imagined but burrell had lost focus and i think even in his approach now, it is evident that he is at least aware of why he lost.
Leave a comment: