Alas, football will be rescued! - Captain Horace Burrell

I can recall Hugh Perry from Portland a good man and a willing man who took over the JFf Presidency in the 80s but didn't have a plan and the leadership capability, as a Portland man as myself I can remember the disappointment so that is why we need to look for better leaders to replace our current ones and don't think anybody can lead just like that.

Boxhill was never qualified but sometimes we put arrogance as the top of the not to do leadership chart, instead of putting checks and balances in place.

"is one thing about jamaicans, they will not rally behind anyone they believe is inept or lack superior skill set to achieve objectives..."

this is true but why do we elect them and promote them even when we know they lack the quality?

well ... even if you weren't wi nuh have nuh choice now.

BaddaZ, I do not agree with your third paragraph. Seems like you did not think it through...

Quote: 'is one thing about jamaicans, they will not rally behind anyone they believe is inept or lack superior skill set to achieve objectives...'

BaddaZ, I do not agree with your third paragraph. Seems like you did not think it through...

Quote: 'is one thing about jamaicans, they will not rally behind anyone they believe is inept or lack superior skill set to achieve objectives...'
          Sorry baddaz; HL ole yuh pan pint!
          Bax-ill jis wan heg-zample af a hin-ept an lack superior skills wi ...sum a wi di rally backa!

...nuh tuch Sitah P hor mi wi bex!

what kinda back and belly bill approach that?!

even while you were typing you KNEW that to be the case.....ah bwoy!!

what kinda back and belly bill approach that?!

even while you were typing you KNEW that to be the case.....ah bwoy!!
              Let us not hijack the thread.
              Suffice it to say Baddaz has given me his thoughts on PNP leadership before.
              Last edited by Karl; October 4, 2007, 01:04 PM.

So let me get this straight, even though Boxhill and Mrs Simpson Miller turned out to be the same kind of leader, one should be tarred and feathered and the other given sainthood?

this should be GOOD!!!!!!

Boxhill was never qualified but sometimes we put arrogance as the top of the not to do leadership chart, instead of putting checks and balances in place.
                    What were Burrell's qualifications when he first took the reins?

He was a captain in the Jamaica defense force and ran a successful business. Those both call for some leadership.

When he took over the JFF had no proven leader and he was much better than who was there.

Wrong!

The bakery was started in 1995. You may want to research when Burrell first assumed the JFF presidency.

I will give you the leadership aspect that comes with being a Captain in the army. I know several captains in the JDF and few impress me with any particular leadership qualities. The captain is obviously an exception.

Save the garbage about who was there before. The issue as you brought up is qualifications. Many of us could say that what was there when Boxhill took over was far from focused at the task at hand. Coincidentally, the Captain's demise occured when other things took pride of place, it appears.

Horace Burrell, principal of Captain's Bakery, was a 2001 Business Leader nominee for creating one of Jamaica's most successful baking retail outlets ever. That year he had five outlets in Jamaica turning over consolidated annual sales of $200 million and had established a US$3.4-million, 6,000 square-foot outlet in the Cayman Islands. Since then Burrell, who is also slated to take over the presidency of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), has continued to expand his bakery chain. In 2004, he constructed a 13,000 square-foot bakery at the Portmore Mall in Portmore, St Catherine.

You have hypocrisy running thru your veins.

When Boxhill was messing up, you kept repeating that if he would "just do" then nobody would have the opportunity to be sabotaging his program or for such a claim to gain any traction. Well, if Burrell had "just done" at the time he was kicked out of office, then no other person or team could have wrested the presidency of the JFF from him. Burrell was too lazy and arrogant to even put together a manifesto to counter the impressive one put forward by the other team. He deserved to go when he did and he best be warned that lightning does strike the same place twice!

"Save the garbage about who was there before" no I can't do that as the JFF before Burrell couldn't even enter FIFA competition or arrange practise games.

thanks for the info on the bakery but didn't they own a shop up at Red Hills road? If so what was it called?

it became the captains after he and his wife split....

Wrong!

The bakery was started in 1995. You may want to research when Burrell first assumed the JFF presidency.

I will give you the leadership aspect that comes with being a Captain in the army. I know several captains in the JDF and few impress me with any particular leadership qualities. The captain is obviously an exception.

Save the garbage about who was there before. The issue as you brought up is qualifications. Many of us could say that what was there when Boxhill took over was far from focused at the task at hand. Coincidentally, the Captain's demise occured when other things took pride of place, it appears.

Horace Burrell, principal of Captain's Bakery, was a 2001 Business Leader nominee for creating one of Jamaica's most successful baking retail outlets ever. That year he had five outlets in Jamaica turning over consolidated annual sales of $200 million and had established a US$3.4-million, 6,000 square-foot outlet in the Cayman Islands. Since then Burrell, who is also slated to take over the presidency of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), has continued to expand his bakery chain. In 2004, he constructed a 13,000 square-foot bakery at the Portmore Mall in Portmore, St Catherine.
                                He started in the bakery business before I left Jamaica in 1990. He started with his then wife at the corner of Red Hills Road and Medowbrook Avenue (I think is the name of the intersecting road). - Valentine Mall(?) was the name of the Mall...anyway I know Valentine Pharmacy was in that Mall. I was a frequent customer of the bakery.

He started his first bakery in May Pen (I think) before separation. Both bakeries were successfully run.
                                Last edited by Karl; October 4, 2007, 03:38 PM.