• EDITORIAL: Another JFF coup plot

published: Wednesday | September 13, 2006
    <DIV class=KonaBody>

The insurgency at the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) continues unabated. Same plot, same principals, even if it is not always the same voice or same hands that are at play. It's the Jacob and Esau syndrome.

We might have found the process, and its predictability, slightly amusing and, at worst, mildly distracting, except that it highlights a vulgarity and crassness that is, to say the least, nauseating. Personal ambition and ego have trumped decency.

This newspaper is not enamoured with Creston Boxhill, the president of the JFF. Neither are we taken with some of the characters with whom he surrounded himself on his way to the presidency. Indeed, Mr. Boxhill lacks charisma and there are those who may assume a congruence between the cadence of his speech and his manipulation of ideas.

But whatever our, and other people's views of Mr. Boxhill, he enjoyed the will of the majority, however slim it may have been. And as the result of Sunday's latest challenge to his leadership confirmed, he continues to do so.

Of course, we do not question the right of members of an organisation to question and to attempt to unseat its leadership. It is called democracy - if they play by the rules.

But there is a point when such actions are not really democratic challenges but guerrilla action at overthrow and move from the realm of the permissible to the indecent. That is how we feel about those who having not prevailed with the battering rams have resorted to consistent sniping at the JFF.

Even before the Boxhill regime had settled into office the undermining and politicking began. There appeared to be an international cabal at work.

Adversaries were shunted into significant positions in hemispheric and international football, helping them to maintain high profiles and to fuel the perception that they can impact the flow of largesse.

The timing of visits to Jamaica by international football bigwigs on the eve of the JFF congress at which Boxhill prevailed was, indeed, suspect. The announcement of projects by the previous regime was less than subtle. Then there were the 'coincidences' of complaints by FIFA of this or that action of the JFF on the eve of subsequent congresses at which the insurgents were to mount anti-Boxhill challenges.

Rather than settling down to deal with the business of Jamaican football, this JFF executive has been preoccupied with self-preservation, forced into the preparing for the next challenge, which is always just around the corner. The demand of the snipers is now for elections to be held a year early, in January. They lost on Sunday, but warned of a new attack in a fortnight.

They may eventually wear down Boxhill's crowd. They will then have the leadership of the JFF. And perhaps they will have better ideas and greater intellect to pursue their programme. Yet we doubt that, in the circumstance, they can achieve much, unless they believe that there are persons with mountains of cash ready to chuck at Jamaican football.

We remind the insurgents of the Jamaican saying that the knife that sticks a sheep can also stick a goat. It is not particularly difficult for anyone with the desire, and a little backing, to create an environment of instability. </DIV>

RE: EDITORIAL: Another JFF coup plot

As much as they try to be balanced they still refuse to see the reality. We are insinking under this administration and the best way tostay afloatis to get rid of the dead weight.

Why we continue sticking up for those that fail is beyond me.

Allow me to add my signature to this editorial.

Expected!

The Gleaner bugged my mind to blouse and skirts, wasnt this exactly whatI posted yesterday???

Lazie (9/13/2006)As much as they try to be balanced they still refuse to see the reality. We are insinking under this administration and the best way tostay afloatis to get rid of the dead weight.

Why we continue sticking up for those that fail is beyond me.
            But whatever our, and other people's views of Mr. Boxhill, he enjoyed the will of the majority, however slim it may have been.
            And as the result of Sunday's latest challenge to his leadership confirmed, he continues to do so.
            Itis also appalling when a newspaper's editorial stoops to lying to support its cause. The Gleaner usesa sentence of truth on the "2003 Congress" and follows that with a lying sentence as it describes the "Sunday challenge".

See it is lying when they dont support yourcausebut I am sure had the Gleaner called for Boxhil to step down you would support them wholeheartedly.

Why dont you write them a letter pointing out their folly Karl?

What exactly is the lie, Karl? Exactly! Please don't lead me around the mulberry bush!

Mosiah (9/13/2006)What exactly is the lie, Karl? Exactly! Please don't lead me around the mulberry bush!
                  Suddenly you cannot read?

Here is the lie once more -

whatever our, and other people's views of Mr. Boxhill, he enjoyed the will of the majority, however slim it may have been. And as the result of Sunday's latest challenge to his leadership confirmed, he continues to do so.
                  Lie!

<U>Supporting fact 1</U> -

Boxhill based on the result of the January "no confidence vote" - At the end of the failed attempt, Samuels, though disappointed, said he was left with some degree of satisfaction.
                  'It would appear that the case was not strong enough to get a two-thirds majority, but strong enough to get a majority,' Samuels said.

'Majority supported the motion because we received 53 and they got 51. We needed two-thirds, but I am happy to know that with the 104 delegates inside there, the majority supported the motion itself.'
                  And despite the outcome, he said it is now back to work.

- By IAN BURNETT Sports Editor Copyright© 2000-2001 Jamaica Observer

Source: http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/articles...the&amp;id=939

The above states that from January 2006 Boxhill's was a minority administration.

<U>Supporting fact 2</U>

According to the JFF by-laws congress is due to take place in 2007 but the proposed date of November of that year was brought into question by the SCC, who pushed the motion for an earlier sitting.

The motion itself was almost split down the middle with those voting for a January election winning by one vote. Nine directors voted for, while eight voted against, with one abstaining from the process.

Paul-Andre Walker, Staff Reporter

© Copyright 1997-2006 Gleaner Company Ltd.

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/articles...amp;category=1

The above shows Boxhill's arm got a minority of the votes cast. Boxhill's group within the JFF's Board Meeting received minority support!

The Gleaner Editorial told a bald-faced lie!

Imagine minority support Jan. 2006 through to September 2006 - MINORITY!

Karl, explain, if you can, how the minority can have their way in the JFF for 2 years. Can you see the difference between a vote for a referendum or a no-confidence vote as opposed to one where someone is elected to office?

Mosiah (9/13/2006)Karl, explain, if you can, how the minority can have their way in the JFF for 2 years. Can you see the difference between a vote for a referendum or a no-confidence vote as opposed to one where someone is elected to office?
                      Is this a joke?

Let me state:w00t: (perplexed and well...? - sigh!)- Boxhill has obviously not been having his way! I have just given you proof that he has lost serious major votes/not had his way!!!

Next thing you are going to tell me Boxhill, as some grand strategy,arranged the voting to be against himself and his administration so asto elicit "poor ting" votes? Jezzzas H. Christ - help???!

<DIV>No. The next ting a gwine tell yuh is, Boxhill must be a dictator. Because he is still in power when the majority don't want him there, even though elections are held.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>HAHA!</DIV>

Karl you have gone way past desperation when you are reaching for quotes from Sheridan 'Worms' Samuels to make a point.

Do some research on Hanover's football and how they spend their sponsorship money and their collosal failures and you will see why Worm is not in any position to make any claims against anyone.

Sickko (9/13/2006)Karl you have gone way past desperation when you are reaching for quotes from Sheridan 'Worms' Samuels to make a point.

Do some research on Hanover's football and how they spend their sponsorship money and their collosal failures and you will see why Worm is not in any position to make any claims against anyone.
                            Cho Siccko man! What was the vote count?

51 for Boxhill! - minority!

53 against! - MAJORITY!!!

No matter how big you make the letters or how loud you shout, you cant over ride the simple basic rules under which the voting was conducted.

Those in opposition had to have at least 70 votes to be able to unseat the JFF president.

How difficult is that to understand? Surely you had the benefit of two good schools and no way you can be that daft..or are you?

Or are you clutching at straws to make a silly point?