PLUS.....

Wenger pledges Henry gamble can pay off

Arsene Wenger accepts it was something of a 'gamble' to move on without Thierry Henry but the Arsenal manager is confident his men are up to the challenge of the Champions League.
    There may be continued uncertainty off the pitch with Russian businessman Alisher Usmanov having increased his shareholding in the club and over just what the intentions of American billionaire Stan Kroenke are, but the Gunners have nevertheless made a superb start to the new campaign.

Wenger's young side sit top of the Premier League table with four wins and a draw from their five matches, and they will head into tonight's Champions League clash against Sevilla full of confidence.

The Arsenal manager, however, knows there is a long way to go before any silverware is handed out.

'It was a big gamble, and it is one I have not won yet because we have only played five games and it is nothing,' said Wenger, who reluctantly let his star man join Barcelona during the summer.

'I knew I took a gamble by losing Thierry - but you cannot keep (players like Emmanuel) Adebayor (out). At his age you have to let him play.

'I am not surprised that we have started well - but they have confirmed my hopes.

'They have strengthened my belief that this team can do well, but you have to show it on the pitch.'

Wenger added: 'Many times Michel Platini told me when I went to watch him for French national teams, `They give me the ball when we lead 3-0' so it is natural when a player of the calibre of Thierry, they look for him first to do something, and when he is not there somebody else, it is a bit more shared.'

The Arsenal manager knows the visit of Spanish side Sevilla - coached by Juande Ramos, who was targeted by Tottenham as a replacement for beleaguered boss Martin Jol - will provide a stern test of their European credentials.

He said: 'My players must show the same belief, drive and consistency they have shown in the Premier League so far.

'There is a hunger in every game to play, and we just want to continue that. It is a different kind of football.'

Wenger added: 'It will be between two teams who try to play and go forward so it should be a good game.

'Maybe they can think as well that if they get a draw at Arsenal they are in a strong position in the group, so maybe they will change their philosophy, but usually they go forward.'

Defender Kolo Toure, 26, is one of the players whose influence in the side has increased this season.

However, the Ivory Coast defender knows there is no one single man able to fill the considerable boots of Henry.

Toure said: 'Thierry Henry has been a great player for us, but you cannot demand another player to do the same as him.

'You can see that everyone is taking their own responsibility.

'At the moment, we can see that we can score goals from everywhere, and for a team to stop us scoring is really difficult now because Cesc (Fabregas) can score, (Alexander) Hleb, (Robin) van Persie, (Tomas) Rosicky, Adebayor - the dangers can come from everywhere. That is the difference for this season.'

Honestly mi bredrin, I think you are a bit harsh on the master only because the team is performing so good after his departure. Henry is a team player and was a darn good captain, getting in the faces of players as he was supposed to do as skipper. Henry was never a slouch on the field and if he appeared unworkmanlike...who can blame him when he put out so much and got back so little from his teammates. For anyman here who ever played the beautiful game competatively or even just pick-up, it absolutely sucks the life out of you when a fellow squaddy is not carrying his weight, and there were many times that the defense lapsed. Kolo Toure is a hardworker but sometimes he made bad errors and the king of being sloppy is Lehman...I just can't wait for him to leave and just don't come back because him just wutless! Bottomline, Henry bring it everytime with the exception of the very rare offday, but he cannot be faulted for other players not stepping up and certainly not for being ambitious. What has happened at Arsenal is simply a lesson in life...people learning to fend for themselves when there is no longer a provider or the well dries up. These baby gunners have no choice but to grow up, rely on each other and perform because "daddy" Henry has left the building, similar to kids losing their parent(s) early. Furthermore, rejoicing that Henry has left Arsenal, is certainly a facade shown by you and other Gunner fans because no sane Gunner fan could be happy about the best player in the club's history leaving and becoming a rival. I pray that it doesn't happen but that joy will turn to tears if he ever unleash his magic against us in a CL game.

Bredrin, just mek dem gwaan talk because the only reason Henry may have underferformed during that time was the series of injuries he had to deal with...and still was being asked to carry everybody's weight. Just very unfair if you asked me. When Arsenal was mashing up the place, Henry was not only scoring, but having numerous assists to ligitimate second and third leading team scorers like Pires and Ljunberg. Since Pires left, no one has stepped up to fill his shoes and to compound the problem, Ljunberg was not even doing half of what he used to do also because of injuries. So now tell me, what does everyone really expect?

Why unnu bodda? Henry doan have to prove himself to nuhbody.