Post Match Press conference and Highlights
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.Tags: None
I watched this Gold Cup to assess the team and the coach to see if we were starting from scratch or from a solid foundation. In my opinion, we are ahead of the game with this squad and this coach. As fans, many of us demand positive results without caring for the details. We are dismissing the critical fact that last night's match was the fourth match that many of these players are playing together. This squad needs more time and games to start gelling. In this coach, I am already seeing some tactical improvements over Tappa. We got outplayed in every department by the Mexicans last night, and the coach's game plan of having young Lowe playing the long balls from the back did not work. However, there are many positives to acknowledge and take into context from this competition. There has been an overall improvement over the last regime with how we moved the ball from back to front, and despite the three goals against us last night, it's the first time since I started watching Jamaica's football, I haven't felt anxious about our defense when the opponent is in and around our 18. Plus, when have we had so many different players scoring goals in a single competition. The most endearing thing that I saw and gained my respect of this foreign coach, is seeing him singing the words of our National Anthem. We will be going to the next World Cup.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
I am anxious to see the final between Panama and Mexico.
Panama is more gelled than Jamaica. I am expecting a better challenge for Mexico.
I like Bailey. But I sometimes feel he is trying too hard.
Like this Jamaican squad make-up. Can't wait to see games between them and Honduras, Panama , Costa Rica and Guatemala.The only time TRUTH will hurt you...is if you ignore it long enough
Our biggest problem has been the second line of defense or the defensive midfield position. Mexico always kill us by going behind our midfield and pretty much have a field day there. They did that again tonight. The first goal, a defender and midfielder crash and gave it to Mexico. Why was Lambert tackling so much and so wildly on the wing. He should be in the midfield. The Midfielder were not making good and simple passes, while Lowe kept on booting the ball. At one stage we had 5 forward on the field, where where the midfielders? Instead we had the forwards dropping and playing too deep, That is not their game. The last game we only scored as DJ and Damari made two simple passes. Now DJ is the only one who can actually lead the midfield and he was on the bench. We have a lot to improve on. In the past games the spaces were there except the US game only that the teams didn't take advantage.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Disagree with you totally , the defensive midfield of Lambert and Latibeadure have been stellar, one of the bright spots of this tournament. Our biggest fault in this last game was individualism from the attacking 4. To concede a goal against Mex is expected the response should have been a discipline approach to claw our way back into the game as a TEAM !. Two of the attacking spears seemed to have gotten the memo, but Antonio and Reid seem to want to force the issue,thereby leading to a fall in the standard of the attacking spear. They all went individualistic or selfish at times, it just seemed like Bailey and Gray was feeding off that vibe from Antonio and Reid.
On our DF mid- Lambert has drawn a penalty ,Latty has made some goal scoring passes and Russell scored one . In fact all the defensive mids have either created , assisted or score a goal, that includes Johnson. Never have we scored so many goals from open goals in a GC tournament from every player position on the field
To speak specifically for this game , Mex showed what consistency can achieve, they have been playing together from the nations league and it wasnt as if they are better than us, they performed better on the day. We were our worse enemy, we gave the ball away, slow to close spaces and the front lacked cohesion.Last edited by Sir X; July 14, 2023, 02:32 PM.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
I can't talk to you because if you think that is great midfield. There is a reason why Lambert was sub early in the the two games. Latti run around but not a passer of the ball. Just look at the goals the Mexicans score, right on top of the 18 yard box, that is where a defensive mid should be. It seem you don't realize we got 4. Anyone watching can tell you the midfield switch off defensively. There was no leader in the midfield.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.