Geo Reyna and US team saga

• Geo Reyna and US team saga

That is a very dirty tactics and show how politics affect national teams.

USAF how mi nuh hear from you, you only carry the good news?

You're late to this.......Before the WC ended, I posted here that there was some developing drama coming out of the USMNT/U.S. Soccer, and asked HL if he was following it.

Ok man, never saw that. Cant believe that the Reyna family acted so low. This happened so long ago when they were teens.

soccer moms!

The Reyna family???.......This BS started with U.S. Soccer:
          1. NEPOTISM - Gregg Berhalter hired, by his friends & brother, as the head coach of the USMNT. Berhalter had never won a Championship nor Title, as a head coach, and he had one of the worst Win% of any MLS head coach. About a year before his hire, Berhalter stated, in an interview, that he was not qualified nor experienced enough to be the USMNT head coach.
          2. The Reynas and Berhalters are very close. Claudio & Gregg were friends since high school, and Danielle & Rosalind were friends since college (they were roommates).
          3. Gio Reyna is one of the most talented & promising U.S. players. Some, in the U.S. & Europe, think he will be better than Pulisic. Berhalter publicly acknowledged his talent and contributions, and expected him to make a meaningful contribution.
          4. Before the WC started, Berhalter informed Gio he would only play a minor role at the WC. Gio was the only player he told that to.
          5. Gio's attitude & behavior changed after that, and Berhalter & the other coaches spoke with him, telling him that if it continued he would be sent home. Gio apologized to the coaches and team for his behavior. Berhalter informed the team and coaches that this incident will be kept in-house.
          6. The press asked Berhalter why Gio wasn't playing, and he told them he was injured. Being suspicious, they asked Gio how was his injury, and he told them he recovered weeks ago, and was cleared to play by both the Dortmund & USMNT doctors & physios.
          7. During an interview, after the USMNT was knocked out, Berhalter spoke about dealing with a player with an attitude problem. When it was made public everyone heard it was Gio, and Berhalter had revealed his name. This was the same incident that Berhalter told the team & coaches to keep in-house.
          8. Gio started getting a lot of attacks on social media, and Danielle Reyna contacted Earnie Stewart to let him know she was angry that Berhalter betrayed Gio, and has the public attacking him. She then told him about Berhalter assaulting Rosalind, in college, and they forgave him and kept it private, but couldn't extend the same to her son.

So why bring up some teenage incident.

STOP FOCUSING ON THE BY-PRODUCT OF THE REAL PROBLEM. The REAL problem is NEPOTISM, and everyone, including Gregg Berhalter, knew that was why he got the USMNT head coach job. Gregg was not qualified for the job and that is why he was more focused on being friends with the players, and trying to please everyone, than being the leader, teacher & disciplinarian of this young, inexperienced group of players.......If everyone knows you got a job you weren't qualified for, you start out fighting for RESPECT, and Gregg never got that respect from the players, colleagues, friends nor former teammates.......This BS with the Reynas became public, but there is more craziness, like ostracizing John Brooks & Matt Miazga, and players disrespecting him.

I agree with the way he was hired but he has accomplished a lot more than the last coach. Now is not the time to making this dirty linen public. It just seems like add-on" when you have to get suspended for simply battery from such a long time ago. If the federation bow to that, they are only inviting more in the future. They made the hire in the first place, is not like it was forced on them.

Yes USAF I don’t know the details as you do. But I would say young Reyna is a good player and ought to be there. I don’t see why the Reynas brought up this old transgression. Regardless of what we think of the coach the US had a surprising good World Cup.

Gio Reyna's mother has stated that she led the charge after Gregg. Not justifying it, because she said that it took her a while but she finally forgave Gregg for the assault, BUT if a mother sees you did her son/child wrong, hurt him & caused strangers to start attacking him, she is coming with wrath to get you.
                    The whole thing at the WC didn't add up, but the more info I get the more I see what kicked off the Reynas vs. the Berhalters -
                    1. Claudio Reyna is the Sporting Director of Austin F.C. He hired Josh Wolff, who was Gregg's assistant for 5 years (Columbus Crew & USMNT), as their head coach. Some say Gregg helped him get the job.
                    2. Ever since Gregg called Gio into the USMNT he's been singing his praise. Talking about his talent & his play, and how much of an asset he is.
                    3. Gregg's son, Sebastian, was struggling at Columbus Crew, and got Claudio to take his son on loan for the 2021 season, with an option to signing him.
                    4. After the 2021 season Claudio & Josh didn't think Sebastian was good enough and sent him back to Columbus (he's now at Vancouver).......Some say this ****ed off Gregg, because he felt that Austin F.C. was the ideal club to nurture his son, but Josh & Claudio didn't look out for his son & help him.
                    5. While in camp, before the WC started, he tells Gio, who he said was an important player in the teams attack, that he was only going to see limited playing time.
                    6. When the media asked Gregg why he didn't play Gio, after the 1st game, he told them that he was recovering from an injury, but when they asked Gio about the injury, he said he fully recovered before leaving Dortmund, and both the Dortmund & USMNT doctors & physios declared him fit & ready to play.
                    7. Because of this, Gio acted up. He was reprimanded, and he apologized to the coaching staff & players. Gregg then told everyone not to discuss the incident with anyone outside the room, that the incident should stay in-house.
                    8. Gregg then told a reporter about the incident, and that they almost sent Gio home. The reporter told the story, and then came the attacks on Gio, for being selfish and not caring about the team.

• 7. Because of this, Gio acted up. He was reprimanded, and he apologized to the coaching staff & players. Gregg then told everyone not to discuss the incident with anyone outside the room, that the incident should stay in-house.
                        8. Gregg then told a reporter about the incident, and that they almost sent Gio home. The reporter told the story, and then came the attacks on Gio, for being selfish and not caring about the team.

Only in American soccer.
                      Did the consider why he was just going to give him limited play?? Better players than him had limited roles e.g. Marcus Rashford, Jack Grealish, Ronaldo after the first game and so many others.
                      He could be doing this because of his formation, because of weakness in some areas like defensive duties. Some coach don't like to play teens. So many players come off the bench and even though he is a good player he has limited experience. The coach may have told him that his role is limited because of the family connection.

The young man has a long career ahead of him and been a sub and playing 25-30 minutes you can make your mark, Just as the Saudi forward sp. Abubacar.
                      It is politics and entitlement that shows it ugly head at the youth level in US soccer. If they have a problem and are that close they could at least hear out the coach but they think their son should be a starter while other players is looking on and saying that Geo is Greg's boy so the coach is in a no win situation, one of the reason I stop coaching my sons in a formal setting. The mother is wrong, will she do the same thing if he is benched at club or the next US coach?

Ok I see the nepotism circle… messy…Earnie will have his work cut out for him to clean up this mess.

Earnie Stewart contributed to the BS, because he co-signed the hire of Berhalter, his close friend. To this day, no one has seen the list of coaches U.S. Soccer interviewed for the USMNT head coach position. We heard that Berhalter was one of the candidates, Berhalter was one of the final 3, and Berhalter was hired as the head coach.......Later, someone informed the press that Julen Lopetegui applied for the job, but was rejected. When the media & ex-players asked why, it took them almost a week to say Lopetegui's application was submitted late.
                          Yesterday, they told the press that they spoke with Zinedine Zidane about the USMNT head coach position, but he turned it down - DUUUUHHHH!!! Get the hell out of here with that BS. Who think Zidane would be interested in this type of job???.......I think they threw that out there to distract people from the Reyna-Berhalter BS.

who would you like. What about Wagner who use to be at livingston.

David Wagner was hired as the Norwich City head coach, about 3 or 4 days ago.......
                              Pellegrino Matarazzo, former VfB Stuttgart head coach, should be on their list - Mentored by Julian Nagelsmann; good at coaching, developing, & mentoring young players; took VfB Stuttgart from 2. Bundesliga to Bundesliga (2019/20), and kept them in Bundesliga for 2 seasons (9th & 15th), before being fired October 2022; and likes his teams to play attractive, pressing soccer through each phase of the game, like Nagelsmann.
                              Marcelo Gallardo, former River Plate head coach, is another - Played in South America, Europe & U.S. (MLS/DC United); good at coaching, developing & mentoring young players; coached River Plate to Argentine & South American Championships, and considered River Plate's most successful head coach; and likes his teams to play attractive, attacking soccer.