Another Coup against Boxhill Quashed

• Another Coup against Boxhill Quashed

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>Football feud</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline>Another move to oust Boxhill quashed</SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>KAYON RAYNOR, Observer staff reporter
    Tuesday, September 12, 2006
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=365 align=center border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>JFF president Crenston Boxhill (left) and general secretary Burchell Gibson at the launch of the NPL last Thursday at the offices of the JFF. </SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>A cloud of uncertainty is hanging over the nation's football programme following Sunday's failed attempt by the South Central Confederation to pass a motion seeking to bring forward the Jamaica Football Federation's (JFF's) Voting Congress next year by 11 months.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The motion, brought by Manchester FA president Dale Spencer and seconded by former St Catherine FA president Lincoln 'Happy' Sutherland, proposed that the Voting Congress, which is constitutionally due November 2007, be advanced to no later than January 31, 2007, in an attempt to oust incumbent president Crenston Boxhill.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Yesterday, an irate Burchell Gibson, general-secretary of the JFF, told the Observer that Spencer's faction is trying to destroy the nation's football.<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=120 align=left border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>SPENCER ... we have several strategies, but we'll cross that bridge when we get to it</SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>"When Heron Dale was the president - and you can quote me - the same persons who are behind this no-confidence vote got him out of office," screamed Gibson.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"I can also safely say that what they have been doing since the no-confidence vote (in February), is to be spending big monies to try and win voters and what they are doing is bringing the sport into disrepute, similar to a political climate, which is unethical for the development of the sport in the country."<P class=StoryText align=justify>Gibson further stated: "Those who are moving the no-confidence vote are apart of a plan, and that plan is to mash-up football in Jamaica by purporting that the national team is not performing and the football is now mash-up."<P class=StoryText align=justify>Eighteen voting members of the board were present at the time of the motion on Sunday, in addition to Gibson, who is not entitled to cast a ballot.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Nine members voted for the motion, eight voted against it, while there was one abstention.<P class=StoryText align=justify>In moving the motion, the South Central Confederation claimed that it was aimed at "renewing and revitalising the organisation" in an effort to give the JFF the "kind of unity and confidence" which would allow it to garner support from the various stakeholders such as the "government, private sector and general membership".<P class=StoryText align=justify>"This was critical," the Confederation said, as the local governing body "faces the challenges of 2007 and forward on to Africa 2010", the next World Cup Football Finals.
    The South Central Confed also claimed that the motion was "legal" and "appropriate" at this time.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Gibson told the Observer yesterday that the motion was annulled because it did not get the required support needed to be passed in accordance with article 72 of the JFF statutes.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"As per article 72, they failed to get three-quarters of th

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

RE: Another Coup against Boxhill Quashed

The heading should have been Boxhill escapes Coup........Gibson outburst are only reminding the public that they need no help in seeing themselves out of office.

We all know its a matter of time.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Comical!

"Yesterday, an irate Burchell Gibson, general-secretary of the JFF, told the Observer that Spencer's faction is trying to destroy the nation's football. "

Suh what him affi say about the Boxhill Administration? Blind loyalty seems to be a problem in Jamaica.

Yes but you will agree that the Burrell clan is getting relly desperate now and this almost monthly swiping is looking really vulgar now.

Doesnt this remind you of some African state or Haiti where every week there is a coup or attempted coup of sorts and there can be no progress because of this?

Shouldnt Burrell and his friends just wait their turn, do some real work in the meanwehile until the time for them to come back on their white horses to save the JFF?

OH BTW Dale Spencer has lost so much credibilty he should not be smiling in public at all....

How many leagues has Burrell sponsored? Yuh sure Burrell is behind this or people realize that Boxhill in over him head?

It amazes me how unuh love talk bout "mek him finish him term" as much as the man is failing. Why Jamaicans put up with mediocrity suh?

Sickko (9/12/2006)Yes but you will agree that the Burrell clan is getting relly desperate now and this almost monthly swiping is looking really vulgar now.
            This cannot be said to be a Burrell clan becoming desperate.These persons are a part of the current JFF administration.

Fact: It is the majority in the Boxhill administration that wants him out.

Doesnt this remind you of some African state or Haiti where every week there is a coup or attempted coup of sorts and there can be no progress because of this?
            How could this remind of coups or attempted coups anywhere? Coupsoccur when either of

i) minorities overthrowing or attempting to overthrow elected officials in an illegal and unconstitutional manner...

...or...

ii)majorities not being allowed to exercise democratic rights/operate within legal and democratic frame-work to attain power.

Fact: Boxhill has had the majority within his own administration voting for his removal.

see:<SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 10pt; COLOR: blue"><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 12pt; mso-bidi-font-size: 10.0pt; mso-ascii-font-family: 'Times New Roman'; mso-hansi-font-family: 'Times New Roman'; mso-bidi-font-family: 'Times New Roman'">RBSC's frontpage news - January 16, 2006</SPAN>- </SPAN>

<SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 10pt; COLOR: blue">http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/articles...the&amp;id=939</SPAN>

and

<U>A call for early Congress - </U>

<U><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 10pt; COLOR: blue">http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/articles.aspx?id=1024&amp;category</SPAN></U>

Shouldnt Burrell and his friends just wait their turn, do some real work in the meanwehile until the time for them to come back on their white horses to save the JFF?
            Based on the vote in January and Sunday's recent vote it may not even be a matter of whether or not Burrell's time has come...but, pointedly a matter that Boxhill's time has gone?

<SPAN style="COLOR: blue; mso-bidi-font-size: 10.0pt"><?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-comfficeffice" /><o>
            </o></SPAN>

OH BTW Dale Spencer has lost so much credibilty he should not be smiling in public at all....
            Fact: The votes tell a different story. Dale Spencer's faction has the majority votes and is in the acendancy.Spencer's faction has the belief of the majority, Boxhill's does not!

Burrell and his supporters should do what is best for Jamaican Football.

That is to remove Boxhill from office as quickly as possible.

True...but first they should try and find a suitable replacement, nature abhors a vaccum.

And until they find the optimal permanent solution that you so desire, the Captain is way better than Boxhill. He will do until they find a better candidate.

Sickko (9/12/2006)True...but first they should try and find a suitable replacement, nature abhors a vaccum.
                    Which or what "they"?

...and, how would we know "they" have not already decided on an individual as JFF president...and or the individuals to hold the otherkey leadershippositions?

...and, how would we know if "they" have not already settled on the individuals to fill key roles in all areas of the JFF structure - coaches, managers of departments, etc?

What we do know is the current JFF leadership, based on newspaper reports covering the period since it has taken office to present,has problems running from top to bottom within theexecutive and administrative structure.

The current administration has been able to mark time as far as our on-the-field dominance within the CFU is concerned and has failed to make any headway in CONCACAF and the widerworld.

We are still benefitingthrough some players receiving overseas professional contracts but the perception is the player numbers receiving contracts each year has not imcreased.

There is also the perception that -

a) the on-the-field performances of our national teams, excepting for our young ladies, have declined;

b) the JFF is in an eroding financial position;

c) ...perhaps most troubling is the belief that the current managers have tried their best and are making no headway in coming to grips with moving us on to a successfully run JFF and or 'di football'.

There is no documentand or recorded words that hint of coming successes. The available document "THE NEW GAME PLAN" and media reportsspeak tosound bites suggesting pending actions but this has been followed either with silence and or new sound bites...

...this while close to 3 years have gone by...?Small wonder some within Boxhill's ownManaging Committee want a "new beginning". The actions by those opposed to the current malaise isnatural.

Sickko (9/12/2006)Yes but you will agree that the Burrell clan is getting relly desperate now and this almost monthly swiping is looking really vulgar now.

I dont have a problem with burrell being "desperate" to take control of Jamaicas football once more, to save it from the people who are currently destroying it. As a fan of Jamaicas football, you shouldnt have a problem with that either. You all have resigned to the fact that Boxhill and crew have failed, and continue to fail....but at the same time, you are calling for him to continueto failfor another year and a half....at the detriment of Jamaica's football development.

I am not sure Boxhill and Company can get right in 1 year what they couldnt get right in the past 2-3 years.
                      President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

In journalism we have a principle called KISS. It means keep it simple stupid. You need to learn that.

BTW have you forgotten that when the Boxhill admin took over the inherited a $50M plus debt including a nearly $14m to the past presdient?

Sure you want to talk about fiscal management and Burrell who used to handle the tickets to WC games independent of the same JFF executive he had around him.

[quote]Sickko (9/12/2006)In journalism we have a principle called KISS. It means keep it simple stupid. You need to learn that.

[/qoute]

KISS is used in many different teaching courses...and practised by many persons.

BTW have you forgotten that when the Boxhill admin took over the inherited a $50M plus debt including a nearly $14m to the past presdient?
                          ...and, are the debts currently less than $60M...or, upwards of $60M?

Sure you want to talk about fiscal management and Burrell who used to handle the tickets to WC games independent of the same JFF executive he had around him.
                          Boxhill promised improvement...and, specifically he promised that outside agencies would be used to handle ticket sales. The RBSC addressed some allied matters in an EDITORIAL - http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/editoria...=the&amp;id=96

What have we gotten? A reported breakdown at the gates and millions disappearing.

Karl (9/12/2006)

Boxhill promised improvement...and, specifically he promised that outside agencies would be used to handle ticket sales. The RBSC addressed some allied matters in an EDITORIAL - http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/editoria...=the&amp;id=96

What have we gotten? A reported breakdown at the gates and millions disappearing.
                            Karl, please enlighten us - what breakdown are you talking about? Considering that we haven't had too many matches in Jamaica, you should be able to find your answers easily. And the loss of millions?!? Could this be from the matches that we never had?

Karl, are you starting some cayliss rumour? Don't we have enuff to credibly bash the Boxhill Crew?

Karl does not need facts to start his wutliss rumours dem....where did Karl get this $60m figure from by the way?