Please note the key word "genius"...mi nuh wan' no eedyat chat. So I just came back from an ODP event in North Carolina. Teams aged 2005-2011 both girls and boys played a little jamboree between WV, VA, GA, NC. Each team played 3 games and each age group had up to 3 teams. For those of you who don't know, these are State pool teams, from which the National pool players are supposedly developed and drawn from. I coached our girls 2010 and 11s.
Now - with that in mind...every team, in all the age groups, played the same system, (i.e. same formation, same instructions to each position, same tactics). For example, it was rare to see a keeper punt the ball out of the back. On goal kicks, everyone had the same possession-based approach (I have 9v9) so the 4 and 6 drop into the box, the 2 and 3 go high, and the 10 and 9 pivot while the 7 and 11 stretch them high as well. All short passes, ball on the ground, varied runs, diagonal passes, etc. Everyone on all teams played the same way so it was a bit predictable, but from a development point of view, I was able to replace my #10 (injured) with a #10 from the second team, and not lose a beat. That's a simple example of why having a single system of play has huge benefits and I personally advocate that approach especially because once you have the baseline, you can always tweak it for individual circumstances.
Now my questions for the intelligencia:
1. Does Jamaica have a single system of play in our youth system?
2. If not, what is a realistic approach for Jamaica to create a single system of play?
3. If so, is it working?
Tenk u.
P.S. Me nuh like this new forum. Grey/Black screen hard to read, so search so cyan drape up the pinheads. Just fi mi tuppance.
Now - with that in mind...every team, in all the age groups, played the same system, (i.e. same formation, same instructions to each position, same tactics). For example, it was rare to see a keeper punt the ball out of the back. On goal kicks, everyone had the same possession-based approach (I have 9v9) so the 4 and 6 drop into the box, the 2 and 3 go high, and the 10 and 9 pivot while the 7 and 11 stretch them high as well. All short passes, ball on the ground, varied runs, diagonal passes, etc. Everyone on all teams played the same way so it was a bit predictable, but from a development point of view, I was able to replace my #10 (injured) with a #10 from the second team, and not lose a beat. That's a simple example of why having a single system of play has huge benefits and I personally advocate that approach especially because once you have the baseline, you can always tweak it for individual circumstances.
Now my questions for the intelligencia:
1. Does Jamaica have a single system of play in our youth system?
2. If not, what is a realistic approach for Jamaica to create a single system of play?
3. If so, is it working?
Tenk u.
P.S. Me nuh like this new forum. Grey/Black screen hard to read, so search so cyan drape up the pinheads. Just fi mi tuppance.