Saw on interview where Brent Sancho former TT player and club owner and pro player stated that at the higher levels such as the hex Caribbean teams don’t have the ability to possess the ball , therefore although we the fans may not agree it is prudent to construct a midfield that is made up of ball winners more than creative. So in essence Jevaughn Watson. And The Grants over the Tavel and McGee types. Your thoughts?
Interesting take on our football
Do you believe it must be taught to posses the ball and if no/ yes, 1) whose responsibility is it and 2) are they qualified to do it to meet a professional standard ?
Tired of this circular arguement, look we have a starting 11 of english Jamaican ballas , that look as if they are struggling to posses the ball when they play for the national team, why is it no so with their clubs ?THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Let's hope the field at the national stadium will be of better quality than the one in El Salvador. If so, then I think we will see a better output from our team. I believe the poor El Salvador pitch contributed to our performance.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
The problem we are having is a generational one. The game has changed and we do not have 1 single midfielder who is good at all 3 phases of the game in attacking/passing accurately and changing game/defending. Most of them have one or two phase. The problem is when one attack others should cover, we need to have a decent defensive shape even if you are not the best defender, we need to stop the ball from going through the middle, let the oppose side turn back the ball and keep them on backfoot. This is also a problem with coaching at all level. We think because we have speed that can hide some of the deficiencies like goal side making and properly moving the ball.
The problem is you guys are ridiculous, so these bag of english Jamaicans that play in the EPL and championship have a generational problem with possessing and passing the ball when they get called up to Jamaican team and you can seperate it from the "coaching problem" of using our speed.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Originally posted by Sir X View PostDo you believe it must be taught to posses the ball and if no/ yes, 1) whose responsibility is it and 2) are they qualified to do it to meet a professional standard ?
Tired of this circular arguement, look we have a starting 11 of english Jamaican ballas , that look as if they are struggling to posses the ball when they play for the national team, why is it no so with their clubs ?
If a coach think along Brent lines he obviously thinks he( coach ) isn't a problem and that is a problem.
The first rule of any root cause and analysis ,starts with one's self.
That said take the English players out of it and let's say Brent sees the same problem . I bet he doesn't know a solution because it's not the coach.
The greatest thing interjected in Jamaicas football education for the past 4years is licensure of the highest standard. The A !THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
The local Jamaicans have the same problem the only difference is they spin and give the ball away. tell me when last you see a team local or Jamaican settle the ball in midfield and move it from side to side and wait for the game to develop?- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
You miss the whole point, its not that they have the same problem, the questions is why ? Hint there is one common denominator, both the local and forgein players be it english or out right Jamaican are coached by whom or what standard licensure of coaching.?THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
In my opinion that hasn't change in the last 20 years, Tappa or no Tappa. The last time we had a decent midfield who can win ball, and keep the ball and then give it to the runner. Tappa is a part of the problem but not all. Go and listen to McGhee interview and it tell you the problem right there. He accept that things he should have learn to do as a midfielder he hasn't. There is a reason none of our midfielder is playing at a high level in the last 15 years.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Interesting you should use Mgee he is one of the few that can possses and distribute the ball , a player Tappa overlooked until he was forced to use him out of desperation and what does Tappa do , to build his confidence. Dismiss him for the elsalvador game.
You aren't making any sense .THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
yes he is an asset but if you listen to his interview he also tell you he is also a liability because growing up he was not taught about defensive shape and proper defensive positioning. That is why I saw we either have people who can win ball but kick it out or those that can beat people and will hold the ball up but do not have a clue about defensive shape. We need at least 2 midfielders who are defensive aware and can start attack without kicking it over the top.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Thanks for making my point , it's moreso a coaching problem than any thing else ,you stated he said and I quote " he wasn't taught ,defense or shape " growing up.
That's is a problem of coaching ,so anyone expecting a player to put it in practice or worse yet blame a player doesn't understand how to connect the dots between causation and outcomes.
In other words you aren't making sense,are you saying he should have taught himself.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
Issue is coaching, but especially at the grass roots.. Playing techinical football and to maintain possession is something that needs to be coached. You are not going to be able to pass and maintain possession on bad fields and bad coaches who are focus on competition at the young ages. At the senior level its coaching. How to create space, angles of support ect.. You need to have quality to do so.