• MLS: DC United vs. Real Salt Lake Post-match - Quotes

<CENTER>MLS: DC United vs. Real Salt Lake Post-match - Quotes</CENTER>

Major League Soccer
    Score: United 1, RSL 1

D.C. UNITED HEAD COACH PETER NOWAK

On the team's performance:

"They played a good game. We need to be a little bit smarter. We're leading 1-0 and I told them, we still have inexperienced guys playing in the game. Stephen [deRoux] wanted to go forward and Rod [Dyachenko] is pushing, but we need to keep the ball a little bit longer. We played very good in the first half, the ball was moving very well, and the last half didn't go as we wanted. We missed a couple of good chances in the first half. We had enough chances to win the game, but we made a couple of mistakes and the goal wasn't necessary, but the performance was pretty good."

On the performance of the new guys:

"They played very well. For Matias [Donnet], it was his first game here, and Stephen and Rod Dyachenko and Brandon Prideaux coming back from injury - we can be pretty happy with all these performances."

On the play of Stephen deRoux:

"He's pushing forward. He's strong enough with his body and he can blow by the defender. He can be very good."

On Matias Donnet:

"Matias is a very smart player. He makes a couple of good crosses inside and we make a couple of good passes to him, spread the ball. It's going to take time to make sure that he's on the same page with everybody."

On trying to hold on to the Supporters' Shield:

"We want to win it. That's a pressure that we want to have. We're in a good position right now to just keep going and we'll see what the other teams do, but we don't care about that - they're going to win or lose or tie - we've just got to play our game. And with the experience in this team, after a performance like that - they lost two points - but, we're going to get back those points."

On resting Troy Perkins:

"It was a decision together with Mark, Sean, Tommy, Dan, and Troy. I think Nick [Rimando] deserves to play. In the U.S. Open Cup, he was working very hard during this stretch and I think he deserves to play. That's why we made the decision to rest Troy and give Nicky a shot and he did very well today."

D.C. UNITED MIDFIELDER ROD DYACHENKO

On the second-half comeback by Real Salt Lake:

"It might have been fatigue a little bit. All they did was hit long balls in the second half, so their forwards had loads of space, and somehow a goal got through, so what can you do?"

On if the team should have been more patient:

"Yeah, maybe - we could've kept the ball a bit more. Sometimes we're a bit too urgent to attack with the lead, which I thought wasn't necessary, but we just have to regroup and learn from our mistakes."

On the altered lineup:

"I thought the young guys played well - no complaints. I thought we came out well, no nerves, and everybody got a touch on the ball and kept moving the ball, but we couldn't come out with the win."

D.C. UNITED MIDFIELDER BEN OLSEN

On the team's performance:

"Our overall play and performance was good. I think we got back to dominating and playing the way we want to play. Other than that, we got a tie today in a game that I think we should have won. But these teams are fighting hard. They're fighting for playoff spots and I think that it's going to be tough. We're going to have to do all the little things right. The little bounces that are not going our way, we're getting punished for them. Sometimes you luck out when you don't do the right thing, and these teams are fighting for a playoff spot and fighting for their lives here, and when they do get their chance, they're punishing us."

On the younger players:

"I think Rod [Dyachenko] did a great job. I think Stephen deRoux did a great job coming in. There are some b

RE: MLS: DC United vs. Real Salt Lake Post-match - Quotes

The youth soon buss. We need fi get him in the set up. It is sad that I have to say this, but heruns extremely hard for a yardman.

LOL......it is true to rhatid. I will put Omar Daley in that category as well. He runs pretty hard fora yarman too. You remember in the days when we use to have guys like Hall, Simpson and Malcom who would run the opposition ragged with an unmatched workrate? Ah....those were the days.

It will be tough for Deroux to start this season with Freddy starting out left and all.But if a Gomez or a forward misses a game I guarantee he'll be the first one they call to fill the void as Freddy is normally moved into those positions at those times. I am just hoping Nowak will give him a chance to be a super sub as we head into the play-offs. - T.K.

DC need to stop stifle the man and give him more than that damn development program contract

Mi hear seh yuttie's likkle Indian Pele, who him love talk bout, gone to the University program in DC that you and me disagree on.

Haha....to damn funny. Hey if it was not for that developmental contract Deroux would not be getting the opportunity he is now. Salary cap bitches!

For the record you and I never disagreed on the program we disagreed on C.L.'s ability to coach. As I've said before he is not very he is very good on the state odp level where the object is simply to get your kids identified by the regional staff. After that I would not trust him to coach my son's club team. (if I had a son of course) - T.K.

Them better up that contract soon. Don't think the people watching the Celtic game never see him. Once him get a Jamaica call up him gone.