• JFF comes to Bora's defence

JFF comes to Bora's defence
    ... says TD was on scouting mission
    Friday, September 14, 2007

NATIONAL technical director Velibor 'Bora' Milutinovic made efforts to scout the Group D match between hosts St Kitts and Haiti, which resulted in his absence from Jamaica's Under-23 training session in Aruba on Monday, the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) said in a statement yesterday.

On Wednesday, the Observer reported that Bora was "noticeably missing from Jamaica's Under-23 Olympic team's training session here on Monday".
    According to the report, "when enquiries were made of the management staff here, no one could give account of Bora's whereabouts", though "it is believed" that he has gone to St Kitts.

But the JFF release contends that it "finds it unfortunate that the head coach (Wendell Downswell) was not consulted before the printing of the article".

The release also said that Bora was present at both games played by Jamaica in Aruba, a fact that was never questioned by the Observer in either the Wednesday publication or the follow up in yesterday's edition.

Below is the full text of the JFF release:
    "Contrary to reports in a local newspaper, the Jamaica Football Federation wishes to advise that technical director Bora Milutinovic has been present at both matches played by Jamaica's National Under-23 team in Aruba.

"The technical director also continues to have discussions with head coach Wendell Downswell regarding the team's participation in the Olympic qualifiers. He will be present at Jamaica's last match against Aruba tonight.

"With respect of reports of his absence from one training session on Monday, the federation further advises that the technical director, after discussions with head coach Wendell Downswell, made efforts to visit St Kitts to watch the match between St Kitts and Haiti in Group D of the qualifiers.

"Based on recent changes in the fixtures, technical director Bora and coach Downswell felt it important that this match be looked at as Jamaica will likely have to face the winner of that match.

"The federation finds it unfortunate that the head coach was not consulted before the printing of the article."
    Editor's note: Having got confirmation yesterday from head coach Wendell Downswell and head of delegation Carlton Dennis that enquiries were made of them about the whereabouts of the technical director on Monday, and that what was reported by the Observer was indeed correct, we stand by the essence of the stories. It should also be noted that team manager Howard Bell was also contacted about Bora's whereabouts.

Bora scouting for Wendell!

Well at least we now know who is the head coach! ...I wonder if Wendell is getting U$1,000,000.00 + at least U$1.00 more dollar

Bora scouting for Wendell!

Well at least we now know who is the head coach! ...I wonder if Wendell is getting U$1,000,000.00 + at least U$1.00 more dollar
      Karl. Give it a rest.

Give what a rest?
        Explain exactly what it is that you do not wish to be posted? ...and, why?
        Just would like to know!

My understanding of how scouting is 'managed' when matches are actually being played is - The coach remains with the team and the underlings and or asistants travel to observe and report on future opponents play?????

If my understanding is the correct stance...then, it would suggest that Wendell sent Bora out to scout for him! Right?

I just cannot remember, for example, Sam while at Bolton, leaving Bolton to play an EPL game managed by someone else while he scouted future opponents? ...or Wenger doing that while at Arsenal?

...or for that matter, Lazaroni while he was in charge of the REGGAE BOYZ leaving the team involved in playing a competition match so he could scout future opponents???

Are u trying to start something, Karl?

i know the answer....yes but no!

Are u trying to start something, Karl?
              Depends what you mean?
              Get persons to post more often?
              Yes!

To understand Bricktop's disaffectation?
              Yes!

Start a 'war'?
              No! I just do not know what Bricktop is thinking...and, I am curious.

Give what a rest?
                Explain exactly what it is that you do not wish to be posted? ...and, why?
                Just would like to know!

My understanding of how scouting is 'managed' when matches are actually being played is - The coach remains with the team and the underlings and or asistants travel to observe and report on future opponents play?????

If my understanding is the correct stance...then, it would suggest that Wendell sent Bora out to scout for him! Right?

I just cannot remember, for example, Sam while at Bolton, leaving Bolton to play an EPL game managed by someone else while he scouted future opponents? ...or Wenger doing that while at Arsenal?

...or for that matter, Lazaroni while he was in charge of the REGGAE BOYZ leaving the team involved in playing a competition match so he could scout future opponents???
                Karl, you are stretching things out of context. Who is the coach of the Under-23 team? Boyous. Now, did you expect Boyous to leave the team to look at the Hatians game?

I guess if the technical team thought they were in danger of losing to any of the minnoes they played, then Bora would have stayed. Bora went to scout the stronger opponents so they can have a better game plan when they play them.

I really see nothing wrong with the move. If the fact is established that Bora is not the coach of hte team, then I see no issues there. Mountain out of a mole hill. . .
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

There is no story here. Tilla, it's simply called teamwork. I am at a loss as to what Karl wanted in this instance. But Karl is not worth the stress.

Karl, you are stretching things out of context. Who is the coach of the Under-23 team? Boyous. Now, did you expect Boyous to leave the team to look at the Hatians game?

I guess if the technical team thought they were in danger of losing to any of the minnoes they played, then Bora would have stayed. Bora went to scout the stronger opponents so they can have a better game plan when they play them.

I really see nothing wrong with the move. If the fact is established that Bora is not the coach of hte team, then I see no issues there. Mountain out of a mole hill. . .
                    Stretching?

I wonder what you gentlemen would say to these questions:

1. Who is more qualified to coach the team?

2. Wendell is the coach of the team - Yes?
                    ...and, Bora is the most experienced assistant he had with him - Yes?
                    ...and, the team - Wendell's words - is using this last match to prepare for the stronger opposition it shall meet - yes?
                    Who best to help/assist Wendell to improve the team's standard during preparation(s) - Bora?

3. If Bora is best qualified to assist Wendell in preparation of/with the players - Why wasn't he with Wendell?

4. If it was thought he would be more valuable as a scout - by all means send him to scout! I am saying again - I cannot remember top coaches...and I now add, or bottom coaches for that matter going off to scout teams while the team is actually engaged in a competitive match/tourament!

It seems you gentlemen have a problem with that statement - Why do you not list a few coaching situations where with the team engaged in a tournament it was abandoned to the lesser technical person while the top technical director went off to scout future opponent or opponents?

Statement seems simple! Question seems straightforward!

Mountain out of a mole hill? Maybe! ...but, just help me by answering the question by listing some instances where the top man left his team to face an opponent while he went scouting future opponents?

...oh Tilla: To answer your question of Boyus leaving the team to go scouting - NO! ...neither should Bora have left!

...somehow I am under this obviously false iimpression that the JFF had coaches...their national coaches...well suited to take back useful information on a match future opponents were involved in or better yet take back a copy of any matches our future opponents were involved in for analysis by Wendell and or Bora.
                    Last edited by Karl; September 17, 2007, 02:46 PM.

Karl, itemizing your points does not in any way make them more valid. I still stand by my position that Boyous is the coach of the under-23 team. He has worked with the majority of these players (what, half of them from the Pan Am Games team?). This is invaluable experience Boyous is getting and Bora does not have to be over his sholder ever step of the way.

I see nothing wrong with the arrangemet as long as the two men (Boyous and Bora) see eye to eye. As Mosiah said Karl, it is demonstration of team work.
                      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Karl, itemizing your points does not in any way make them more valid. I still stand by my position that Boyous is the coach of the under-23 team. He has worked with the majority of these players (what, half of them from the Pan Am Games team?). This is invaluable experience Boyous is getting and Bora does not have to be over his sholder ever step of the way.

I see nothing wrong with the arrangemet as long as the two men (Boyous and Bora) see eye to eye. As Mosiah said Karl, it is demonstration of team work.

Itemizing the points?
                        You mean asking the questions?

Team work? Yes!
                        Good or poor?

I can just imagine the lead doctor taking a walk to read on the next operation when his hand is needed on the operation under way. ...but, this is not an operation of any particular importance..right?

Oh well!
                        Have a good night!

Oh well!
                          Have a good night!
                          Yes sah. Gwaan ah yuh bed. Yuh tired and cranky. What time is lights out at Shady Pines?

Karl, when do you suppose anyone could have gone to scout the other teams? It so happens that everyone is playing at the same time and we may never know when the other countries are playing a match. Scouting a team during their own competition has got to be a smart way to do it.

Should we have requested of the CFU a postponement of our game so that our coaches would not have this conflict?

Please advise!

karl who is in charge of the team?