• Karl - Lincoln Phillips makes steady progres

Lincoln Phillips makes steady progress.
    By: Flex Mohammed.

Trinidad and Tobago Technical Director Lincoln Phillips touches on his progress with T&T football and everything that surrounds it since returing home. His latest project would be his initiative to improve the coaching education environment at all levels of participation.

Lincoln said "the D License (over 300 already certified throughout the country) is a basic course for coaches who work with players ages 10 -13. During this period of their development, just like their classes in school, the youths must be exposed to the proper mechanics of performing technique. If the proper mechanics of passing, receiving, dribbling, shooting, heading, running, jumping, goalkeeping are taught from an early age then we would not see the deficiencies that plague all levels of our football in the areas of possession, speed of play, penetration, finishing, goalkeeping and defending.

"My aim is to develop a huge base of D license coaches throughout the country in order to meet the needs of coaches working with youths of primary school age (9,10, 11) and early secondary school age(12, 13). In just 3 years in the job I have certified over 300 + D license coaches. I have now expanded my coaching staff to 10 coaches so we expect to have 5 to 6 D license courses going on at the same time. Within the next three years we expect the number of D license coaches to go past the 1,000 mark. We understand that quantity is not quality so plans are in place to conduct refresher and continuing education courses in the near future. These seminars will include day sessions on possession, defending, goalkeeping, nutrition, football fitness, ethical issues in sports, how to conduct an effective practice session, finishing etc etc.

"As we continue to develop our coaching education program, we will send more of our staff coaches overseas to the top football countries in the world (we already sent two to Holland in August 07....Reynold Carrington and Jefferson George). We already have a working relationship with Holland (KNVB), and we are seeking ties with France, Spain, Argentina, Brazil and Mexico. We want our coaches to be heavily influenced by the training methods that favor fluid, possession-based, technical play. It is my belief that T&T and the Caribbean is too heavily influenced by old style English training methods that favor heavy, static drilling and then perhaps a game at the end.

"By next year the D license coaches will be ready for the C level and the B the following year. Within ten years (I will be gone by that time) hopefully we will have every person participating in football expose to experienced, certified adult coaches at all levels of participation.

"Our dream of being the top CONCACAF football nation will only be realized by taking patient and progressive steps as outlined above. So, while everyone is focusing on the negatives of the "Player Impasse"; the U-17 losses in Korea, and un-fairly blaming everything on the Secondary schools league, I am working on developing a structure and supporting existing entities such as the PFL, the SSFL, TTOC because they are major stakeholders in the player and coaching development department. I will continue do my job quietly and hope others will realize the only true way our football will advance is when we make it a collaborative effort, ended Phillips."

Best Regards
    LP.
    Last edited by Karl; September 9, 2007, 05:48 PM.

Good!
    Seems to have taken an all-nation approach! That will eventually produce and unearth 'very best talent'...if we in JA sit on our behinds T'dad and Tobago may leave us behind.

...as it was for Boxhill, so it is for Burrell: No excuses! Just "do"!

Lol Trinidad only had foreign coaches that's why they were better. Things ago change now cause we have better talent than them, by faaar. Look at our Pan Am performance. If we had a foreign coach preparing our U-17s from way before qualifiers like them, I'm sure we would reach the WC and not get embarassed like them in it. We just needed a more experienced coach to hone our talent. Nuh watch nuttin, Bora a come done the place(even though all him a do now a siddung and watch WD).

Originally posted by Lionpaw View Post
        Lol Trinidad only had foreign coaches that's why they were better. Things ago change now cause we have better talent than them, by faaar. Look at our Pan Am performance. If we had a foreign coach preparing our U-17s from way before qualifiers like them, I'm sure we would reach the WC and not get embarassed like them in it. We just needed a more experienced coach to hone our talent. Nuh watch nuttin, Bora a come done the place(even though all him a do now a siddung and watch WD).
        Mr lion,non of that.We clearly knoe there intentions.Loook at the U23 an tell mi if yu nuh see a settings like last Gold Cup.dem betta wip barbados.

Your head stick in you ass stay there in your denial ...... about the under 17 ..... and about JA talent etc etc .. and get carried away with that brazil performance
          Last edited by Naminirt; September 10, 2007, 08:07 AM.

Bora a come done the place(even though all him a do now a siddung and watch WD).

Somehow I do not think "siddung and watch' a guh cut hit!

Niminirt!!

Check your Football facts about your beloved TnT!!
              TnT has never, and I repeat, NEVER defeated JAMAICA in a World Cup Qualifier!!

So my friend.......concentrate on that first and then maybe, just maybe you can "cum pon yah an chat bout!"

Courtesy of FIFA.Com
              First game with TnT August 1947 which TnT won. Since then, we have met 30 times, 4 WCQ's, 8 Fifa sanction games & 18 friendlies. Jamaica has won 3 WCQ against TnT drawing 1, 4 wins, 1 draw and 3 losses in Fifa sanctioned games and 7 wins, 4 draws and 7 losses in friendlies.
              Jamaica 15 wins, 5 draws, 10 losses vs TnT 11 wins, 5 draws, 14 losses
              Last edited by JaMekAn; September 10, 2007, 08:05 PM.

how come wi beat dem 15 times but dem only lose 14 times? and just as interestingly we lost 10 times but they beat us 11 times?

i am a simple man....can smaddy dumb it down for me?

yes stay there and live on past results ..... jamekan

Well show me YOUR future nuh?! Show WE mon!!

Go read the article and yuh get ah glimpse .....