• Refs targeted Crouch

World Cup refs 'targeted Crouch'

Crouch in the thick of aerial combat for England against Germany

Former referee Graham Poll says officials at last summer's World Cup were encouraged by Fifa to "look out for" England striker Peter Crouch.
    Crouch, 26, is banned for the Euro 2008 qualifier against Israel on Saturday and Poll says that is no surprise.
    He told BBC 5live: "Fifa's head of refereeing said, 'look at Crouch, he's a pain and he gets away with a lot. We need to mark him out and look for him'.
    "We were shown videos of him. I tried to defend him, being English."
    Poll added: "Before last year's tournament in Germany, we watched England's warm-up games.
    606: DEBATE

I have long thought that he gets too many fouls given against him purely because he is so tall

Evanovich

"We had been out there for two or three weeks before, and it was pointed out the way he used his arms.
    "Now, Crouch has been picking up cautions in qualifying and is out of Saturday's match." Recalled Wigan striker Emile Heskey could be set to partner Michael Owen in Crouch's absence on Saturday. Crouch will be available when England take on Russia in another crucial Euro 2008 qualifier next Wednesday.

Good job, Jack Warner!

Them did tell the dread fi cut him hair long time.

yeah? where were they for the first goal against t&t??!!!

World Cup refs 'targeted Crouch'

Crouch in the thick of aerial combat for England against Germany

Former referee Graham Poll says officials at last summer's World Cup were encouraged by Fifa to "look out for" England striker Peter Crouch.
          Crouch, 26, is banned for the Euro 2008 qualifier against Israel on Saturday and Poll says that is no surprise.
          He told BBC 5live: "Fifa's head of refereeing said, 'look at Crouch, he's a pain and he gets away with a lot. We need to mark him out and look for him'.
          "We were shown videos of him. I tried to defend him, being English."
          Poll added: "Before last year's tournament in Germany, we watched England's warm-up games.
          606: DEBATE

I have long thought that he gets too many fouls given against him purely because he is so tall

Evanovich

"We had been out there for two or three weeks before, and it was pointed out the way he used his arms.
          "Now, Crouch has been picking up cautions in qualifying and is out of Saturday's match." Recalled Wigan striker Emile Heskey could be set to partner Michael Owen in Crouch's absence on Saturday. Crouch will be available when England take on Russia in another crucial Euro 2008 qualifier next Wednesday.
          Poll is misleading.

Before tournaments and during tournaments we (refs) look at players...not all players, but players it has been noticed commit the same type foul over and over and over and get away with it. There is discussion on whether or not the look at the player is warranted and what it is that some refs - the player getting away with the foul frequently says in and of itself some refs find nothing wrong with the action - consider should be put under the microscope.

The "picking on the identified players' actions"...how do you separate the player from the action?...is all part and parcel of searching for uniformity in refereeing and in refereeing during the current tournament.

Sometimes some of the decided way to deal with agreed on incidents is communicated to all teams. Sometimes not. The Crouch way of, for example, using his hand or hands as support to rise above opponents to head at goal and or hold his defending opponent down - (based on my previous knowledge gained in pre-match or post-match seminars during tournaments) - would not fall under areas where teams would be informed on manner in which that type incident would be handled. Clearly holding opponents rooted to the ground or preventing opponents from being able to jump freely for the ball by placing a hand or hands on that opponents body is a foul - HOLDING an opponent!

It would be interpreting of 'Law' (new interpretation) that is usually communicated to teams.

Aside:
          I will never forget that in our 6 pre-World Cup 2006 that Crouch scored (I think, his first goal) one goal by holding down our defender. In my mind -it was a hometown decision - not refereeing as it should be!

..besides, Crouch scores an appreciable number of goals by first holding his opponent out of the path of the ball before 'climbing' to nod at goal.

how come yuh neva tell us that you were at that meeting?

So it is as I said, you believe that the looking at Crouch's actions in a World Cup refs' seminar is personal attack on Crouch?

Yup! You have confirmed what I thought and am still thinking Poll has misled, at least some, into believing Crouch was unfairly treated.

Just imagine if Crouch had, as players should, took note of what he was doing that was being called and stopped committing such offenses...no calls calls against him on that action? Right? The action would not be on display...so would that then make Poll's statement incorrect?

Correct statements: Do circumstances make them false?

i said what and agreed with who? karl PLEASE don't take those liberties.....nuh suh!

So what where you saying? Obviously I did not understand what you were saying with the question: "Where you there?"

...because you knew as sure as you understand that 'night follows day' that I was not there...so again, what were you saying?

so you knew as well that you weren't there?

I knew as well as Poll that the targeting of Crouch's actions (...and, thus the player) is normal behaviour. Poll's words...as yours underscored, gave the impression to those not familar with what is the norm at these tournaments...caused some to think Crouch's actions being looked at is not the norm and in that context causes some to think - UNFAIR treatment being meted out.

You now know that...but, may be refusing to acknowledge same. Your right, if that or any other position is taken!
                      Ride on, boss!

i NEVER thought that he was being targetted unfairly after reading that post. as i pointed out if he was being targetted they missed his dutty actions in the goal he scored ahainst t&t ...check mi earlier post ef yuh nuh believe me....

Tell yuh bout (mis)understanding the written word....looking behind the words to grasp true meaning?

Egg pan mi face!

if you look for russians behind trees invariably you will find them, however, many times there are no trees and are no russians.

jus a frog!