• USA vs Brazil - Sept. 9, 2007

U.S. MNT Notes
    Chicago, Ill.
    Sept. 5, 2007

CLOSING IN ON THE ‘CLASH’ WITH BRAZIL: The U.S. team training is full speed ahead as hump day hits in preparation for the meeting with five-time World Champions Brazil on Sept. 9 in Chicago. More than 30,000 tickets have been sold for the “Clash of Champions” at historic Soldier Field (tickets). Kickoff for the match against the No. 1 ranked team in the world is set for 3 p.m. CT and will be broadcast live on ESPN2 and Univision. Fans can also follow the match live via ussoccer.com’s MatchTracker.

KERRY CALLED IN: U.S. head coach Bob Bradley has called in Kansas City Wizards midfielder Kerry Zavagnin, who arrived in Chicago in time for the USA's training session Wednesday morning. Zavagnin replaces Pablo Mastroeni, who is still recovering from an illness that forced him out at halftime of the Rapids 1-1 draw at Columbus this past Sunday. Zavagnin has made 21 appearances for the United States, having played in six matches during the 2006 World Cup qualifying campaign. An alternate for the 2006 FIFA World Cup, the 33-year-old last played for the U.S. in the 4-1 loss to Germany on March 22, 2006 in Dortmund.

United States Roster vs. Brazil
    Goalkeepers (2) –Tim Howard (Everton FC), Chris Seitz (Real Salt Lake)
    Defenders (7) – Carlos Bocanegra (Fulham FC), Steve Cherundolo (Hannover 96), Jay DeMerit (Watford FC), Oguchi Onyewu (Standard de Liege), Heath Pearce (Hansa Rostock), Frank Simek (Sheffield Wednesday), Jonathan Spector (West Ham United)
    Midfielders (6) – DaMarcus Beasley (Glasgow Rangers), Michael Bradley (SC Heerenveen), Bobby Convey (Reading FC), Clint Dempsey (Fulham FC), Benny Feilhaber (Derby County), Kerry Zavagnin (Kansas City Wizards)
    Forwards (4) – Davy Arnaud (Kansas City Wizards), Landon Donovan (Los Angeles Galaxy), Eddie Johnson (Kansas City Wizards), Josh Wolff (1860 Munich)

BRAZILIAN SCORING MACHINE IN HIGH GEAR: While the Brazilian team doesn’t assemble until Friday, their players have already seen plenty of action with their clubs and early on have shown why they are amongst the best attacking players in the world. Kaká, who last week was voted UEFA Club Footballer of the Year, already has four goals in three matches for AC Milan, including a pair in their opening day victory against Genoa and a goal in the UEFA Super Cup final victory against Sevilla. Ronaldinho, the two-time FIFA World Player of the Year, notched a pair in Barcelona’s comprehensive 3-1 win against Athletic Bilbao this past weekend.

Brazil Roster vs. United States
    Goalkeepers (2): Doni (Roma), Julio Cesar (Inter Milan)
    Defenders (8): Maicon (Inter Milan), Daniel Alves (Sevilla), Alex Silva (São Paulo), Lúcio (Bayern Munich), Juan (Roma), Alex (Chelsea), Kleber (Santos), Gilberto (Hertha Berlin),
    Midfielders (8): Gilberto Silva (Arsenal), Mineiro (Hertha Berlin), Josué (VfL Wolfsburg), Fernando (Bordeaux), Elano (Manchester City), Kaká (AC Milan), Julio Baptista (Real Madrid), Diego (Werder Bremen)
    Forwards (4): Ronaldinho (Barcelona), Robinho (Real Madrid), Vagner Love (CSKA Moscow), Afonso (SC Heerenveen)

Can the US hold out against
    such awesome power? The King alone will have them running. Coach Bradley is a smart man What can they say; it was Brasil.

The King alone will have them running. Coach Bradley is a smart man What can they say; it was Brasil.
      Yuh right, Kaka gwine dun dem.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran