• Wenger: We don't sign superstars, we make them

Wenger: We don't sign superstars, we make them
    Last updated at 20:32pm on 1st September 2007

Comments (2)

Arsene Wenger has defended his tight grip on the Arsenal purse strings by declaring: "We don't sign superstars, we make them".

If Russian billionaire Alisher Usmanov is successful during the looming power struggle at the Emirates, Wenger could be armed with the spending power to rival even Chelsea.

Finished article: Cesc Fabregas

But the Frenchman insists that whoever triumphs in the boardroom, he will continue pursuing his policy of signing promising talent and turning them into big names.

Thierry Henry, Patrick Vieira, Nicolas Anelka and latterly Cesc Fabregas are the pick of the players who arrived in north London as relative unknowns before developing into world-class players under the Arsenal boss.

And as Wenger is adamant that recruiting established stars does not represent value for money, he will continue to prize potential over experience.

"I'm not scared to spend big money. If there is a player that I feel we need then of course I will buy him," he said.

"But at Arsenal we make the superstars. If you find a special player then fine but I have not seen a number of what you might call world-class players available.

"Maybe some have a world-class price, but they are not all world-class players. If you sit down and give me £30million to buy one, could we find one?

"For £30million I will be told 'sorry he is not available and you can not have him for that price'.

"Chelsea maybe tried to sign Ronaldinho and they have more money than anyone in the world, but he has not joined them.

"For me, for £60million a guy must take the ball at the kick-off and score every time he touches the ball.

"The highest we have ever bid for a player was £15milllion for Antonio Reyes. We have never bid higher because the quality hasn't been there.

"I will only pay what I think a player is worth and there are not many world-class players better than we already have.

"I don't know why everybody wants us to buy. We have started the season well, qualified for the Champions League and are playing in a convincing way.

"We are in the process of turning Cesc Fabregas, Denilson and Abou Diaby into world-class players and I enjoy doing that. I buy maybe one player but I work with what is realistic.

"I have a team that I can honestly say will be successful. Are they hungry now? Yes."

He added: "I'm surprised that people think I have no money to spend. We were maybe a little bit short for a brief period but not now.

"We are not short of money and our results will come out soon and you will see."

Wenger believes his approach to squad building requires greater skill than buying established players, but is not concerned that his rivals in the Barclays Premier League will try to muscle in on his territory.

As prospective teenage signings know they will be given the opportunity to flourish at Arsenal, Wenger is confident the Emirates Stadium will always be their preferred destination.

"It's harder trick to pull off buying younger players," he said.

"But I am not that worried about the competition because players always go where they think they get a chance and not many clubs have the patience to give them that chance.

"They will make them wait until they think they are good enough.

"Because we start them early, they mature earlier and people integrated into our training sessions know exactly what they have to do."

Wenger's belief that the squad he has assembled can once again turn Arsenal into title challengers helps explain his decision to allow Thierry Henry to join Barcelona during the summer.

The 57-year-old hinted that Henry's presence was hindering the development of his younger players.

"The young players have to take more responsibility," he said.

"When he was here Thierry took on a lot of responsibility - when we didn't score he wanted more and more of the ball. The young players always thought he was the solution." Winger Alexander Hleb is unavailable for Sunday's Barclays Premier League clash with Portsmouth through illness.

Share this article:What is this?Digg it | Del.icio.us | Reddit | Newsvine | Nowpublic

Add your comment Comments (2)

Here's what readers have had to say so far. Why not add your thoughts below?

Thank goodness for the sense of Arsene - No-one else could have taken a failed winger and turned him into a world class striker like he did with TH14. We look forward to seeing all of the other emerging stars - there are three as yet little unknown English youngsters currently playing in the World U17s who will be Arsenal's next generation all coming on nicely (look at the score sheet for England v Syria) and watch for the names Henri Lansbury, Rhys Murphy and Gavin Hoyte. Plus Fran Merida Perez is playing in the same tournament for Spain.

- Jayne Stephenson, Ely, UK

First lesson as an Arsenal fan is to believe in Wenger.

- Ola`, Kaduna, Nigeria

Add your comment

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Benitez basks in joy of six
    Liverpool 6 Derby 0

By JOE BERNSTEIN - More by this author »

Last updated at 23:35pm on 1st September 2007

Comments

Rafa Benitez ended one of his hardest weeks in England sitting proudly on top of the Premier League for the first time.

In the end, watching his expensively-assorted stars destroy a hapless Derby side was the least stressful hour-and-a-half the Spaniard has had for some time.

Scroll down to read more

Having played mind games with England manager Steve McClaren over the fitness of Steven Gerrard and having lost his assistant manager Pako Ayesteran after a training ground row, Anfield saw the real Rafa yesterday — standing in the technical area and successfully directing operations with plenty of finger-pointing gusto.

"It has been a very disappointing time for me," said Benitez, who had worked closely with Ayesteran for 11 years. "But I am a football manager and to win 4-0 and 6-0 in the same week is not bad."

If Liverpool win their first League title since 1990, the Kop will not care who Benitez falls out with. His problem will now be dampening expectations after a victory that could, and probably should, have matched Manchester United's record 9-0 win against Ipswich.

As the injured Steven Gerrard and Jamie Carragher looked on, there were many red-shirted heroes to replace them. £25million striker Fernando Torres showed blistering pace to score his first two goals at the Kop end. Ryan Babel scored his first Liverpool goal with a real beauty, while Jermaine Pennant led Derby a merry dance on both right and left flanks.

Benitez allowed himself some satisfaction as Liverpool went top for the first time in five years but didn't let his guard slip enough to make any wild forecasts for the rest of the season. "Of course I am pleased to be top," he said.

"But it might only be for one day. It is more important that the team keeps the right mentality.

"People will talk about Babel's goal because it was really good. But I was also pleased to see Torres and Andriy Voronin score. I was waiting for Dirk Kuyt to score as well. It was a pity he didn't because he worked hard.

"We have four strikers now — Peter Crouch didn't even make the bench yesterday — with the quality and skills to score goals."

Derby, the only Premier League side without a win, are perfect medicine for stressed managers.

They carried the air of a beaten side even in the pre-match warm-up and the biggest surprise was that they lasted 27 minutes without conceding, largely owing to two excellent saves from Stephen Bywater that denied Torres and Daniel Agger.

Alonso opened the floodgates with a 40-yard free-kick that evaded its intended targets in the penalty area and crept inside Bywater's far post.

Babel fired the second just before halftime after excellent passes by Agger and Alvaro Arbeloa in the build-up.

The biggest roar came when Javier Mascherano crunched into a tackle to dispossess Robert Malcolm and Torres moved into overdrive to run past two defenders and score. By this stage, Benitez could do no wrong. He sent on Yossi Benayoun, who should have scored but was tackled by Jay McEveley.

No matter, the loose ball was buried by Alonso.

To prove it was no fluke, Benitez then introduced Voronin off the bench and the Ukrainian scored with his first touch when he followed up Kuyt's parried shot. Then his second touch set up Liverpool's final goal as Andy Todd miskicked an attempted clearance and Torres rounded Bywater to score.

Derby manager Billy Davies knows his side have a huge task to reach safety and he needs £3.5million deadline- day buy Kenny Miller to hit the ground running.

"We are not competing in the manner we should and won't pick up points until that changes," he said. "Our timing in conceding a second goal before the break was terrible. The second half was a calamity."

Benitez still has private battles to complete. He again warned England last night not to risk Gerrard's fractured big toe against Israel at Wembley on Saturday.

"We didn't risk him against Derby and I don't think the national team should take any risk," he said, although the Liverpool skipper will be allowed to join the squad to be assessed by England doctors.

Benitez was likened to a teddy bear when he arrived from Valencia but has transformed himself into a bearded conquistador this season. When he looks at the table this morning, all the recent confrontations will seem worthwhi

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

wise man.

Oh my goodness - Wenger saw and thought exactly what I saw and thought?

Wenger: We don't sign superstars, we make them
        Last updated at 20:32pm on 1st September 2007

Wenger's belief that the squad he has assembled can once again turn Arsenal into title challengers helps explain his decision to allow Thierry Henry to join Barcelona during the summer.

The 57-year-old hinted that Henry's presence was hindering the development of his younger players.

"The young players have to take more responsibility," he said.

"When he was here Thierry took on a lot of responsibility - when we didn't score he wanted more and more of the ball. The young players always thought he was the solution."
        Nice way of saying Henry had become too selfish...too often anti-TEAM!

Too simplistic ,so after being team for so long he turned anti - team, you dont think the sale of certain players and the infusion of young blood had anything to do with the balance of the team?

Wegner clearly stated the youngsters depended on Thiery too much .Karl team is not just a word that you can through on a player ,it involves tactical balance and chemistry to produce a fluid game.Wegner is right, not that Thiery did anything wrong.The system or balance was anti team.

yes teacher

I agree with Wenger's philosophy. More than anyone else, he has proven that you can take players with potential and make them into superstars. Henry as the article said, is just one of them. The future stars in the making at Arsenal will be a force to reckon with that few will be able to match in coming years. The unfortunate reality is that not everyone has the ability he has to spot and develop talent...so they buy them.

I believe Rafas is in his class in youth development and above in the club tactical game awareness.

I think Maschi ,Sissoko and levia will be the foundation of pool dominance for the next 7 years.Mr Liverpool will be severly threatened as Rafas next move will be to develop Levia to exclusively threaten his place and another youth will be bought to compete with Levia.

RAFA = GENIUS!

Him did waan King Robinho badly. I
                  think after RMA it will be just exhibition games (as his predecessor)

Bwoy...I don't know if Lucas in Mr. 'pool level...but we will see. He is only 20 after all.

Anyway, who in the Liverpool first team has Rafa brought in as an "unknown" that has become a star? I can't think of anyone other than maybe Danny Agger. That is hardly a match for Wenger's record.

I don't disagree though with your position relative to Mascherano, Sissoko and Levia being the foundation for the future. One thing you notice, is that players that come to Liverpool, never want to leave...dem cyan seh dat at boyu.

Danny Who???
                      Wenger probably saving Arsenal some money guised under this never ending rebuilding process.
                      Is the same madness happened when Ruud left,you can't lose Henry and it is not an absolute loss, and your fault. BIG BIG players left Arsenal through out the years and Henry kept Arsenal respectable.

Congrats to Pool...

Blessed

Not necessarily unknowns but potential and they are , blossoming , Pennant ,Maschi ,Agger, I would even add Crouch and he didnt pay too much for them not these exorbuent ransoms..more to come glad to see Pennant being linkec with an england call up .

Crouch is a good example he had a name at southhampton and pompey but Liverpool made him an international superstar.Fans call them half the product at the time now they cry international superstars.

wenger DID NOT even intimate what you said and are now saying! look at what he said prior to the statements you highlighted! and tell me how HENRY is to be blamed?

you have a proven match winner...you have replaced his supporting cast, you have made him captain...isn't it NATURAL for the young players to look to hm to be a match winner come crunch time?

michael jordaan has GOT to go down in history as being the MOST selfish player in the history of team sports!

not badly enough as he wasn't willing to bruk do bank.

you can't put Liverpool in the same class as Arsenal when it comes to grooming talent. Even Manu is ahead of Liverpool in that department.