• Jamaica In Colombia-Gleaner

Reggae Boyz to go for big guns in Colombia friendly
    published: Friday | August 31, 2007

Kwesi Mugisa, Staff Reporter

JAMAICA'S REGGAE Boyz are expected to go for their big guns when the team travels to face Colombia in an international friendly next month.

While final negotiations are still ongoing, the outing booked for the September 12 FIFA international match date will be the first for the national team since its unsuccessful tour of Asia in June. On that occasion Jamaica, made up entirely of a local-based players, suffered a number of embarrassing losses to teams ranked well below them.

String of defeats

The string of defeats included a 2-1 loss to Indonesia, a 3-0 defeat to Vietnam and then a bitter 8-1 demolition at the hands of then 46th ranked Iran. Following the tour, the team plummeted a shocking 25 points to 93rd in the FIFA rankings. Jamaica then fell two more spots in this month's latest edition.

However, with Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) president Crenston Boxhill announcing that the experimentation period was officially over after the tour of Asia, if word coming from the JFF is correct, don't expect the same sort of team to be lining up for the South American friendly.

Sources indicate that Jamaican internationals Damion Stewart of Queen's Park Rangers, Luton Shelton (Sheffield United), Jamal Campbell-Ryce (Southend), Claude Davis (Derby County) and captain Ricardo Gardner (Bolton) are all expected to be among those called up for an A-string Reggae Boyz squad subject, of course, to their availability. Midfielder Gardner and central defender Davis are questionable due to recent injuries.

With the CONCACAF World Cup qualification to get under way during the first quarter of next year, the encounter is expected to give national technical director Velibor 'Bora' Milutinovic, who earlier listed his primary objective as building a strong local-based squad, his first shot at having first-choice players at his disposal.

A few of the country's top players expected to be named for the Colombia friendly have not been in action for Jamaica for nearly two years, not having represented island since the unsuccessful 2006 summer tour of England which saw the team beaten 4-1 by Ghana and then pounded 6-0 by eventual 2006 World Cup quarter-finalists England.
    Last edited by Tilla; August 31, 2007, 04:05 PM.

did not expect this,a return Game in Kingston is good for both Teams.

Sources indicate that Jamaican internationals Damion Stewart of Queen's Park Rangers, Luton Shelton (Sheffield United), Jamal Campbell-Ryce (Southend), Claude Davis (Derby County) and captain Ricardo Gardner (Bolton) are all expected to be among those called up for an A-string Reggae Boyz squad subject, of course, to their availability. Midfielder Gardner and central defender Davis are questionable due to recent injuries.
      It is also understoood, that coach Bora has been in touch with Real salt lake's Andy Williams, Omar Cummings (Colorado), Dane Richards (NY Red Bulls), Nicholas Addlery & Steve deRoux (DC United), Shavar Thomas (Chivas USA) and Tyrone Marshall (Toronto FC). When questioned about the availability of Marlon King, coach Bora said he will wait until after November 4th to see if the new admin will consider rescinding the remainder of the two year ban placed on the player by the current Boxhill admin. Bora wispered under his breath , "this is off the record, but I tell you, that ban was bull $heet!"

It is understood that midfield maestro Jermaine Hue should be recalled to the mix, as Bora said he needed someone in the miggle of the park to mix it up.

Suh mi getti suh mi selli. Mi nuh mek nutten affa hit.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Jamaica needs this win--and need it very badly.

is the jamaica in Colombia confirm?.

Besides HL,what make this Game all important is that the experts who chat loose are saying,Colombia is rank # 3 in the Caribbean Basin.To my beliefs Jamaica rank #* .... off the books, they're Mexico,USA,Colombia,Costa Rica.Costa Rica may fallen from this Group.They are a number of emerging teams like Canada,Haiti and Jamaica.It's to my belief that along with the USA,we will be in a Tuff group of the two top emerging Teams. *=reserved
            Last edited by Pepsi; September 1, 2007, 05:56 PM.

It is also understoood, that coach Bora has been in touch with Real salt lake's Andy williams
              Good choice,did not expect im to get his spot back.

it's more than possible for jamaica to win this Game.Jamaica won in colombia before,eventhough it was a u23 team.

We beat Colombia usder Simoes, Jamaica 1, Colombia 0 August 1997 at the National Stadium. Valdarama was peed off by the result too. I think they were only missing one player and that was Freddie Rinkon. I cannot remember is Faustino Aspilla was there.

BTW, I was present at that match.
                  "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Originally posted by Pepsi View Post
                    is the jamaica in Colombia confirm?.
                    ask this Question from last week all now nobody answer,kwesi Magusa bust the story too early and should be charge for espionage.