• Chelsea's Brazilian internationals Alex and Belletti

Tim Vickery column

By Tim Vickery
    South American football reporter

Chelsea's programme for Saturday's home match against Portsmouth announced that the club "have brought a touch of samba football to Stamford Bridge with the acquisitions of Brazilian internationals Alex and Juliano Belletti".

Elsewhere in the same publication captain John Terry welcomed the new players and put the samba stuff into perspective.

Alex's arrival at Chelsea ensures the
    Blues have good cover in defence at
    Stamford Bridge

"Suddenly we've got Brazilians in the back four!" he wrote.
    "The only other Brazilian we've had since I've been here is Emerson Thome, so we specialise in Brazilian defenders."

In fact Belletti, as he himself points out in the programme, is "a typical Brazilian full back" who likes "to get forward up the wing". A converted midfielder, he offers lung power and attacking ability.

Alex can also score, both with towering headers and ferociously struck free-kicks.
    But the giant centre back has been signed to stop goals rather than set them up - and bringing in a Brazilian for such a task is not as incongruous as it might first appear.

I still wince about a line I wrote in my first piece for World Soccer magazine, just over 10 years ago.

It was a profile of Carlos Germano, a Brazilian goalkeeper who, as his name suggests, was the descendant of German immigrants. This, I foolishly argued, was surely the perfect combination - some German defensive steel to back up the Brazilian flair.

It sounds good, but in fact it was glib nonsense.
    Check the statistics - Brazil's defensive record in World Cups is way superior to Germany's. There have certainly been Brazil teams which were not great defensively - even the classic 1970 side may well fit into this category.

But in general the Brazilian centre back tradition has much more to celebrate than lament.

In the 1930s the elegant Domingos da Guia did much to advance the idea of the centre back bringing the ball out and initiating the attacks. A few years later Brazilian coaches hit upon the idea of the back four - coming off the WM system they decided to withdraw an extra player to the heart of the defence. It had the by-product of pushing the full backs wider and giving them freedom to roam forward - hence the likes of Belletti.

But the main purpose behind the change was to provide extra defensive protection through the middle, with one centre back marking and the other available to cover.

An excellent example is the 1958 side, Brazil's first World Cup winners and still the only South American triumph in Europe. Big Bellini won everything in the air, the classy Orlando Pecanha swept up on the ground and Brazil didn't concede a single goal until the semi-final.

More recently there is the extraordinary story behind the 1994 World Cup win.

First choice centre backs Ricardo Gomes and Mozer were both forced out on the eve of the tournament. Next in line, Ricardo Rocha, was injured in the opening games, so Brazil patched up a terrific combination between Marcio Santos and Aldair, who had not even been included in the original squad.

Brazil had such strength in depth that truly great defenders such as Julio Cesar and Mauro Galvao were not even considered.

With strong recent displays from Lucio and Juan, as well as the commanding form of Alex with PSV, it is probably true that Brazilian centre backs have more international prestige than ever before.

In fact it is doubtful whether they have the same embarrassment of riches as in 1994.

And the recent signs from Brazil's youth teams have been worrying, leaving the doubt that maybe more emphasis has been placed on size and build than defensive technique.
    Even so, Brazil remains a fair producer of central defenders - and while there may be the odd casual lapse to tolerate, Chelsea fans should feel comfortable enough about the presence of big Alex in the middle of their back four.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Keep an eye on Man City ericksson has a thing for Brazillians ...Adriano

If what I think will happen this season , 2 of the biggest Brazillians players migrating to the prem then its the seal of approval that this is the league to be in.

Not the MLS !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

X, wha' you think about Ronaldinho joining Chelsea? It gwine happen, so stay deh.

Westham also interested in Adriano, so Manchester city will have to move quickly.

We cannot too knock MLS X, because it is the closest thing we have on this side to a good league we can identify with. MLS will and can create more opportunities for our players than the EPL will. We have to make sure we don't bite then hand which feed us.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

better than the mexican league or the the argentinan league or even the brasilian league...it is the best league for jamaicans to wet dem foot in a professional environment without having to concern themselves musch with a language barrier of food.

or having to play for country 75% of time

X, wha' you think about Ronaldinho joining Chelsea? It gwine happen, so stay deh.
            Mi neva know sey yuh is a rum drinker. It nat gween happen.

I think it will happen but probably in the winter , Roman wants he buys.Cannot see the difference it will make against liverpool.One word that Rafa has enlightened me on and which you should mediate on ((balance))

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Westham also interested in Adriano, so Manchester city will have to move quickly.

We cannot too knock MLS X, because it is the closest thing we have on this side to a good league we can identify with. MLS will and can create more opportunities for our players than the EPL will. We have to make sure we don't bite then hand which feed us.
                Ok, well how many of our players have played in England compared to MLS?

I think I could count the more Jamaicans who have played in MLS than in the EPL. So far, if we look at the Jamaican born players, only Gardner, John Barnes, Shelton, Big Claude Davis, Jermaine Johnson and Donovan Ricketts have ever been associated with an EPL club. BTW, remember I made the distinction of playing in the elite English league the EPL, not Division 1, 2 or 3 ball. When X was making his disparaging remarks, he was comparing MLS to the EPL.

If you take a look at the players born in Jamaica who have played in or are playing in the MLS it goes like this:
                  Andy Williams, Ryan Johnson, Tyrone Marshall, Onandi Lowe, Jerry Hue, Shavar Thomas, Damani Ralph, Fabian Taylor, Dane Richards, Trevor McEachron, Omar Cummings, Nicholas Addlery, Craig Ziadie, Stephen deRoux and Wolde Harris. If you choose to include Cunningham as a Jamaican too, although he represented the USA, then it is even more. I could be missing some players here or there, but you get the picture. I am sure others have played in the past to which I cannot put my finger on at this time.

If you chose to want to count the folks playing in the lower divisions in England, then I would have to take a look at the bunch of players playing in the USSL which I really do not want get into at this time. Let us focus on top flight football in the countries in question.