Are gang of four plotting an exit strategy?

• Are gang of four plotting an exit strategy?

Daily Mail

Jeff Powell
    Are gang of four plotting an exit strategy?
    22:57pm 26th August 2007
    Comments

With Manchester United making a guest appearance in the relegation zone this weekend, and both Chelsea and Arsenal fortunate to edge wins which they took as routine in the past few seasons, you would think we might be heading back to the good old days of a wide-open English championship.

You would be wrong. We are accelerating towards the ultimate betrayal of our national game, namely the defection of the aforementioned three, plus Liverpool, to a European super league.

With every struggling embarrassment inflicted on the Big Four by such as Portsmouth, Reading and Manchester City, these Premier League upstarts are signing the death warrant of football as we know it.

Pressure point: Fergie has to keep United in pole position for any breakaway

Read more...

Reality check for McFadden as Goodison is united in grief
    Palace in £1m plot to help Heinze join Liverpool
    Sanchez rants over referee
    Stubborn Gravesen may not be tempted by Fulham loan deal
    Everton stunned as Fernandes heads to Spain
    Jerome getting his head round life at the top
    Fergie waves away Spurs' penalty appeals
    Jol feels hard done by after United defeat
    Nani sinks Spurs to open United account
    Carragher sidelined by broken rib

By a terrible irony, the more competitive the other teams become the more urgently the mega-clubs will address the issue of a pan-European breakaway.

It has only ever been a matter of time before it happens but come the first hint of Chelsea, United, Arsenal or Liverpool failing to qualify for the Champions League then it will be very much sooner rather than later.

To hell with more than a century of tradition which has gone into the making of football into this country's most abiding sporting passion.

Forget all those historic rivalries, Liverpool v Everton, United v City and Arsenal v Tottenham included.

This is about hard cash and the multi-million pound signs are on the wall already.

The first of them went up the moment Michel Platini proposed a reduction in the number of English clubs entering the Champions League.

The gang of four went ballistic, as did their blood-money brothers in Italy and Spain who faced parallel cutbacks.

More followed as soon as Platini suggested that one of England's qualifiers should be the FA Cup winners. United have led the protests - the English giants want the insurance of qualification through a fourth-place finish.

So much for those honourable attempts by the new UEFA president to preserve the integrity of Europe's supreme tournament and to restore the lustre of the oldest football competition in the world.

Platini grew up in an era when only national champions had earned the right to take part in the European Cup. He was an onlooker as the purity of Real Madrid's glittering creation was distilled into the absurd misnomer of a Champions League populated by a majority of non-champions.

Not only is it too late now to go back to one club per country but if Platini keeps trying to spread more of the jam around the smaller nations, the sooner the G18 giants will go off to do their own thing.

Since a rebel league would jeopardise the international game - unregistered football would banish the top players from England and the rest of the leading World Cup and European Championship nations - UEFA's only option is to keep the big clubs in-house.

The cost of that is going to be their endorsement of a Super League which will leave domestic football in the lurch, not least financially.

If nothing else, Platini's stand has helped blow the cover of the powerful few.

Their negative reactions to his initiatives have amplified the hidden messages leaking out of the game.

The massive overseas investment in English clubs always implied that those tycoons had identified riches beyond the current structure of our football.

That threat to the status quo has been revealed by indications from Liverpool's American owners that they want to negotiate the television rights to their games independently-from the rest of the Premiership. That has been the unspoken ambition at Chelsea and United, among others, for some time.

This is the forerunner to a Super League, where the broadcasting revenue potential is vast beyond even the Sky, Setanta and BBC deals.

Hence the pressure on Rafa Benitez, Sir Alex Ferguson, Arsene Wenger and, most publicly, Jose Mourinho to keep their clubs in pole position for the breakaway.

This goes a long way to explaining, also, the panic at Tottenham which has resulted in the humiliation of Martin Jol by the board's directors as they went looking for a replacement manager with this season only two games old.

Despite all that embarrassment, Jol still travelled to Old Trafford yesterday under warning that fifth place in the Premiership would not be good enough this season.

Tottenham are desperate to break the quadropoly of United, Chelsea, Arsenal and Liverpool before these cash cows high-tail it across the Channel.

Since that loss would plunge the Premiership into economic crisis and deprive Football League clubs of essential trickle-down revenue, no one can afford to be left behind.

None of that is of serious concern to the Russian at Stamford Bridge nor the Americans who have taken over United and Liverpool and are trying to buy Arsenal.

The great English football fan might prefer the clamour and cutand-thrust of his traditional local rivalries to week-in visits from Porto and Nancy or week-out trips to Belgrade and Kiev but halfempty stadia for the less attractive Euro-League fixtures will not bother the clubs.

Television's richest gold mines await selfish plundering on the Continent.

That is the real, and hitherto concealed, price which English football at large must expect to pay shortly for the invasion of foreign investors.

When it happens the most vexed question will be whether the game's administrators failed to see it coming, or chose to turn a blind eye.

Either way, it will not be a pretty sight.

Friendly fire is the last thing we need

Either Steve McClaren is a glutton for punishment or the Football Association fear England will fail to qualify for Euro 2008 and are trying to bank as much money as possible before what David Beckham describes as 'the unthinkable' comes to pass.

After last week's Wembley defeat by Germany reserves - and all the ensuing criticism - McClaren needs another tricky friendly like a hole in the hands of whichever calamity-prone goalkeeper he has to call on.

Yet England have shoe-horned an away game with Austria into their already crowded autumn programme of Euro-qualifiers.

McClaren must take his team to Vienna on November 16, just five days before the home match with Croatia on which England's qualification is likely to depend, thereby deciding his fate as England manager.

If this is his decision, then for sure a long streak of masochism runs through his nature.

If the FA have inflicted it upon him, it can only be because they are eager to collect the appearance fee before the worst might happen. Because the most opportune time for any of the finalists to pay a playing visit to one of the host nations for next summer's tournament - in terms of both goodwill and familiarisation - would be next spring.

Jumping the gun, just in case they miss out, is not exactly an FA vote of confidence in their head coach.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Lord?

X - funny I just emailed this article to two bredrin. One of them said this:

money will ultimately be the deciding factor as it was which lead to the establishment of the Premier league. I am not sure if you realise how big a deal this was in the early 1990's when the premiership was formed. As you may know the Football League used to run the old division 1 through 4 structure. The premiership is now "run" separately from the football league but is integrated (under a compromise agreement) to maintain the old relegation/promotion structure. TV money was the catalyst then and TV money will be the catalyst again.

If some tv channel will double the present money that Man U et al can earn then there is no stopping the league. Remember the big clubs in the other country's do not earn anywhere near what their english counterparts earn.

The fans are the only possible constraint. If football fans in europe want a US type arrangement where the same clubs dominate then the euro league is practically a done deal. I am hoping that the promotion/relegation aspect of football will not be killed in the name of money.

My question to him was...

If UEFA doesn't sanction a new league, then wouldn't that mean players in that league would be ineligible for International play? So no world cup, no Euro etc. To me, that would be the way to block the traditional approach. I don't see how the fans have any real say either as no real fan is going to stop supporting their team, no matter what league they are in.

Hocus pocus it's not going to happen! Anedda conspiracy theory...

I hope you are right. It would be the death of football as we know it.

One of my brother's and I had a chat on it - He asked a simple question; if the money was right would you do it?

I then asked what about losing the right to represent your country? His quick answer was in a question to me; if the money is right? ...and, then he said that FIFA would come around as it could not afford to lose so many of the World's best players.

...but...will the fans go for it????

I dont see it happening because of one main factor FIFA would be cut out of it and the clubs would be a MAFIA organization that rivals FIFA.

I mean you think they would release thier multi million dollar stars for FIFA tournaments ? and then sue FIFA if injured ? too many intricacies to work out and the biggest one is to get the blessing of FIFA.Remember the various Leagues will revolt not only fans , the people , masses will also revolt.These clubs have forgotten that what makes them attractive it is the relegation battles and the battle for the said C.L positions .

The Thought of a Super League to exclude so called average clubs is unworkable in that whom will be relegated ? and to what league ? will the Leagues they up and left take them back against the wishes of FIFA ? will FIFA punish them ?...Again it comes back to whom........FIFA . The only true/pure/bonafide one don , don of dons WORLD MAFIA . If the idea is to have an MLS type League then it will be a failure.Europe Loves Tradition and I would bet money that in the Long run keeping it as is will be more profitable for all , and they will acknowledge its the only way to go.

Yes there will be this talk of Super league but it will be nothing more and it will always be around as long as the playing field gets bigger in that more Billionares snap up small clubs.

I tell you something ,food for thought , it is my belief the prem is the 1st of many Billionare invasions across europe, the Championships or old 1st division will be next, then Legue1 , La Liga , German, Sweedish etc .In case we have forgotten Russian billionares invest heavily in the Russian league buying Brazillians to muscle thier way into the C.L

All I see happenning is a compromise with FIFA to make the C.L league more profitable.
                Last edited by Sir X; August 27, 2007, 10:50 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Its more than a conspiracy theory, its Art of War at its finest. Its about who blinks first and who can actually win a war without even fighting.

Why fight and look bad to your fans when you can get a well paid source/journalist/novelist to do your dirty work.

The English are old hands at this and no one does this better than them. In fact back in the days they used to publish novels with "scenarios" to build tension on opposing sides and that is why its important to ALWAYS maintain DIALOGUE no matter what the relationship is like.

One must always talk to the other side even when there is conflict. What the clubs are doing is forcing FIFA to come to the table and forcing some concession as its always about money.

Everytime they don't get their way they bring up the G-14 as a reminder of what can happen. If the fans get upset they can say look its some "rogue" reporter stirring up trouble and the reporter will get paid handsomely as a fall guy.

FIFA a try muscle into the clubs territory and the clubs are fighting back. Its too much money to be made from overseas tours and building fan base etc. right now.

What you all are seeing is the shock waves from Brand Beckham reverbating in Europe as now footballers eyes have been opened to the fact that like NFL and NBA players they are worth something.

Now its to hell with the transfer fee among you guys its about my image rights and Brand. Who owns it? the club or the player?

This is the tip of the iceberg just wait until Brand Jamaica buss pon dem.
                  If England think they are going to appropriate our "One Love" song of the decade and Rasta Anthem and wi no go back fi wi things den dem mek a sad mistake.

Everything is in the open now and there is no turning back thanks to Alexi Lalas and the MLS.(HL how are you doing today boss?)

The Prodigal son has returned(has the President of the newly formed NPL association visited the site yet?)

respect

Originally posted by Shatta View Post
                    Its more than a conspiracy theory, its Art of War at its finest. Its about who blinks first and who can actually win a war without even fighting.

Welcome back, boss!
                    You were sorely missed.

yuh could't just tek time ease yuh way bak een boss? yuh gi wi di whole sermon one time??!!!!

X - FIFA may not be able to do that because of EU labour laws which would prevent them from cutting off the players from international competition...not that I understand all of that, but that's what I have been told by a lawyer bredrin in London when this has been suggested before.

Point taken but Fifa will deal with it.