• No Stephenson challenge - KSAFA throws all behind Burrell

No Stephenson challenge - KSAFA throws full support behind Burrell

published: Saturday | August 25, 2007

From left, Stephenson and Burrell

Kwesi Mugisa, Staff Reporter
    Kingston and St. Andrew Football Association (KSAFA) president, Ambassador Stewart Stephenson, has ended weeks of speculation regarding a challenge for local football's top spot, following the announcement of the parish association's intention to support the candidacy of Captain Horace Burrell.

KSAFA came to the decision after a meeting called on Wednesday night which Stephenson had insisted was necessary before reaching any personal decision regarding the issue of his candidacy could be reached.

'Right man for job'
    "We decided after Wednesday's meeting that our association would support the candidacy of Burrell, as he seems to be the right man for the job at this time," Stephenson explained. "As a result, we have decided that it is not necessary for us to put another candidate forward for the position of president.

"A couple of our delegates wanted us to examine looking to make our presence felt in other capacities,like perhaps a vice-presidency spot. But Burrell already has his team in place and we have assessed that it is a capable one.

The issue of Stephenson challenging for the spot of Jamaica Football Federation president arose quite unexpectedly, as incumbent president Crenston Boxhill pulled out of what many thought would have shaped up to be a two- horse race between himself and Captain Burrell.

http://reggaeboyzsc.com/articles.asp...172&category=1

KSAFA nominates incumbent Speid for JFF treasurer
    ... Offers no nomination for post of president

Saturday, August 25, 2007

The powerful football confederation of KSAFA will not be nominating a candidate for the post of president of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) when the polls will be held on November 4 in Negril, Westmoreland.

KSAFA will, however, be nominating their treasurer and the JFF incumbent, Rudolph Speid, for the post.

The confedretaion, headed by Ambassador Stewart Stephenson, decided not to nominate anyone for the post of president as it became clear that a huge majority - some suggesting 12 of 13 parishes - have committed to supporting former president and sole candidate, Captain Horace Burrell.
    The incument, Crenston Boxhill, announced earlier this month that he will not be seeking re-election to the post.

KSAFA formalised their decision following their August 22 meeting, and in a press release, stated that its delegates have "acknowledged the nomination by a majority of the parish associations of Captain Horace Burrell to the post of president" of the JFF, and thus they voted to opt out of the process.

Burrell, the visionary behind Jamaica's historic qualification to the 1998 World Cup Finals in France, will apparently glide into his old seat unchallenged.

Nomination of officers - including that of president, first vice-president, second vice-president, third vice-president, treasurer and ex-officio (executive officer) - closes on September 5.

Headline should have been "KSAFA falls inline!" or "KSAFA led by nose to join other Parishes and Delegates in endorsing Burrell!"

Good going Rudy Spied, as I said on this forum I know your quality and your credibility from the grade six to 5th form and I wish you all the best sah

One paper mentions KSAFA rep saying Burrell had his slate - Wonder?
          Mosiah: List the slate, nuh boss!
          Last edited by Karl; August 25, 2007, 12:22 PM.

You would be the one to know Burrell's slate, Karl, not me!

Good to see Speid being nominated for the treasurer position. Hopefully, we won't be going back to those ridiculous financial reports that Burrell's team used to dish out and Speid can continue and improve the level of transparency that Boxhill brought in.

KSAFA backs Burrell

Kwesi Mugisa, Staff Reporter

Stewart Stephenson - file

The Kingston and St. Andrew Football Association (KSAFA) and its president, Stewart Stephenson, have opted not to put a candidate forward for the post of Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) president, following a meeting on Wednesday night.

According to Stephenson, after careful consideration, KSAFA has decided to support the candidacy of former president, Horace Burrell.
              "We have decided that Burrell has a solid team in place and based on that there is no need for us to put a candidate forward for that position," Stephenson explained.

"A couple of our delegates think that we could have put a candidate forward for another position but Burrell has a capable team in place and there is no need for that," he said.

Speculation
              Weeks of speculation had linked the KSAFA boss with an intention to run for local football's top post, but he had made it clear he would not consider that option before having a meeting with the association.
              "It never came to a personal decision. After meeting with the rest of the organisation, we are satisfied with supporting Burrell," he said.

"I can't speak for the rest of the associations, but he seems to have the majority of the support," Stephenson added.

The association has, however, decided to nominate current JFF treasurer Rudolf Speid for the position of treasurer, when the voting congress is held in Hanover on Sunday November 4.

Hehehehee....

Mosiah, your bitterness (at Boxhill's failed leadership ability) shines through.

Don't know who Speid is...but I hope that it's a Burrell type person that gets that wins that position.