• FSW - England vs Germany

5.00 Eastern!

ehrm...dat done decide arready!

us game too

us game too
        yuh jok-ki-fie eeehhhhhh?
        Beckham on the ball!

Midfielder to Beckham to defender to Michael Richards to Lampart...cracker of a goal!

Not true...but, it looks like England has had the ball for 5 minutes and made umpteen passes. England looks TOP OF THE WORLD class.

Germany = 2!

Another cracker! ...and, England got two good chances and never...

England lost to Germany's B side!

James should be England's keeper. Never rated Robinson.

Shortly before half-time Michael Owen misses from 5 yards out!

i hope robinson can have bout 2 of those howlers on sunday.

How can the experts have such divergent views?!?

England's 2-1 defeat by Germany.

By Alan Hansen
                      Match of the Day pundit

It was a bad result but a decent performance. Over 90 minutes, England had the better of the play and the better of the chances.
                      The big question for the manager is whether Paul Robinson will be in goal when England play Israel on 8 September.
                      I think Steve McClaren has to pick David James, I really do. England were cruising against Germany until Paul Robinson's mistake for the opening goal.
                      It was a catastrophic error and after that, it was up and down for England. At this level, you make a mistake and you pay for it.

By Alan Shearer
                      Former England captain & Match of the Day pundit

Before the game, we were looking for two things: a good result and a good performance.
                      Clearly we didn't get the first and I don't think we got the second either. It was average.
                      The highlight was Micah Richards - if anything he played a lot wider than David Beckham and created more than him too.
                      I was impressed by Frank Lampard. He had a point to prove and he did that and could have more than his one goal. Michael Owen looked OK and should have got a goal.
                      But defensively we were poor - and England weren't up against a particularly good German side in my opinion.
                      Robinson's place was under threat before the game and obviously he's in even more danger now.
                      Unfortunately for him, keepers are not judged on how many saves they make but how many mistakes they make and he made two big errors - the second when he came from a cross and got nowhere near it.

By Chris Waddle
                      Former England international & BBC Radio 5live pundit

Overall, Germany gave us a football lesson. Apart from the first 20 minutes, England were really outplayed.
                      Micah Richards did OK - especially at right-back - and Shaun Wright-Phillips did well when he came on at the end. He was the only spark for me.
                      England just lacked ideas. They were very poor.
                      Steven Gerrard would have made a difference because he can influence a game. Apart from that, what else can England change? Nothing.
                      England were too direct and it ended up being easy for Germany.
                      England have to be able to pass the ball better because if you don't look after the ball at this level, you just don't win games. But it just seems to be getting worse.

One thing is certain, Richards made the Right Back his position. Gary Neville can retire from international football. He needs to know when to dribble and when to make a pass.

Michael Carrick just scratched his name off the starting 11.

Why is Alan Smith starting over Defoe? Anybody can explain?

Macca need to try Joe Cole behind the strikers. His dribbling caused some problems.

I'll go with Waddle.
                          England looked great in the first few minutes...but, thhe Germans came on strong.

Funnily, England had more than enough chances to have scored a few more goals.