Dunga: Ronaldinho and Kaka must earn places

• Dunga: Ronaldinho and Kaka must earn places

RIO DE JANEIRO, Aug 21 (Reuters) - Ronaldinho and Kaka will have to win back their places in the Brazil team after skipping the Copa America, coach Dunga has insisted.

Dunga said the pair would not be getting any special treatment and that the players who took part in the tournament in Venezuela had a head start in the race for places in the team.
    Brazil won the Copa America, beating arch-rivals Argentina 3-0 in the final, despite the absence of the high-profile pair, who asked to be rested.
    Both players, who said they were tired after a long season in Europe and were widely criticised for pulling out, have been recalled for Wednesday's friendly against Algeria in Montpellier, France.
    'The players who were there (Venezuela) and took their chance are ahead in the pecking order,' Dunga told Brazilian media in France. 'That is natural, it's the way of things.'
    Dunga added: 'We have to think about the whole team. Each one of the players has to win his place by what he does on the pitch.'
    Dunga, who took over exactly a year ago, has already left both players on the substitutes' bench.
    During the Copa America, he repeatedly thanked the players who had taken part, saying they had left their families behind to play for their country.
    His remarks were seen as an aside aimed at Ronaldinho and Kaka.
    Wednesday's game, Brazil's first match against the North Africans since the 1986 World Cup, is part of a warm-up for the 2010 World Cup qualifiers, which begin in South America in October.
    Brazil are away to Colombia in their first game, then face Ecuador at home - their first international in Brazil since October 2005.

What a novel concept? Imagine asking your biggest stars to earn their games. People would "bun" tyre before the JFF's office in New Kingston if we ever said a player like a Tappa have to earn his game.

Anyway Tappa crew, this is not an invitation to take up the Tappa argument again.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

suh dem naw recall tappa fi di next wc campaign? all now dem nuh find anyone to replace him and a 1/5 tappa better than any laymaker we have now on dispaly.

bredren...yuh cya'an bring it up and use it and then try walk weh an' bawwl cree afta yuh open up pandora's box!

Tappa dun!

unnuh think him dun??!!!...him jus a come! chat 'bout!!

Tilla, why use this opportunity to drag Tappa's name in the mud?

Is wha yuh a say? Tappa fi always get game, it nuh matter sey the man retire from international ball.

damn skippy....whey dem tek dis fah

Horti, how am I dragging Tappa in the mud? Frankly, I could have said Nandi Lowe, Shorty Malcolm, Walter Boyd, Anthony "Baddaz" Corbet etc, but I chose the player we were discussing recently with respect to earning his place on the team to be included. Ben J recently pointed to Tappa's recall citing if I thought Zidane would be left out of the French team if he was not with a club or playing ball for months.

I still do not see the mud you are talking about.
                  "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Cho sah, yuh nuh see mi comment was in jest.

OK sar, sarry.

The best player in the world has to earn his spot? Joke Dunga a mek!

yuh nuh...ef he had a player of tappa's calibre and pedigree is a different sankey him woulda sing!!!!

yuhseeit!