Glen Hoddle tipped to be next Jamaica boss

• Glen Hoddle tipped to be next Jamaica boss

<DIV class=source>AFP/File Photo: Former Tottenham Hotspur manager Glenn Hoddle, seen here in 2001, is being tipped as the new Jamaican boss.</DIV>

LONDON (AFP) - Glenn Hoddle is being tipped as the man who will spearhead Jamaica's bid to reach the 2010 World Cup finals in South Africa.

According to English media reports, Hoddle, 49, has become the front runner for the vacancy after Sven-Goran Eriksson failed to follow up an approach from the Jamaican FA.

Jose Pekerman, the manager of Argentina during this summer's World Cup, is also in the running but Hoddle was reported to be the favoured candidate as a English speaker based in Europe, where most Jamaican professionals play.

Jamaica missed out on the last two World Cups after reaching the finals in France in 1998.

Former England boss Hoddle stepped down as manager of Wolves in July after one season in charge of the Championship club. He has also previously managed Swindon, Chelsea, Southampton and Tottenham.

RE: Glen Hoddle tipped to be next Jamaica boss

I love this move!

If Boxhill pulls off bringing in Hoddle I will forgive him of all transgressions. Yes including Towel Gate!

An english coach would be perfect for the team. With all of our players playing in or aspiring to play in England he would bring instant credibility.

As well with our players playing the English style of football week in and week out with their clubs the transition to Hoddle when coming in for an international will be smooth. Everybody will be on the same page.

Please oh please let Boxhill get this right. I beg youoh football gods! - T.K.

If the price is in the same ballpark how in heaven's name can these guys pick Hoddle over Peckerman. Jawge notwithstanding for my money Argentina was the best team at the WC (sorry Ben).

Hopefully the annual salary is no where close to the £3 million that was reported in the English press for an alledged offer for the part-time services of Sven-Goran Eriksson. The cash poor and heavily debt-ridden JFF can ill-afford to splash dem type of money on any coach.

If Stephen Keshi no deh pon our short list then mi not even want to see it. If we can't at least look at one of our own then how can us as black people get upset when others don't hire us when we don't hire our own?

That applies to everything in life, if we don't value ourselves how can we expect anyone else to value us?

Don't you just hate and resent that damn youth Shatta who just pop up everywhere with his black this and black that crap? Will he ever stop?

Tired of him making me feel guilty for my second-class mentality. Hell I want to do what I do without feeling guilty and so I must lash out at Shatta for shining the light in my face.

Damn runaway slave aka Maroon aka uppity Negro who wants to run away when we have it good pon the plantation. What else is out there better than what we have here?

Lets tell the master pon him and shut him up. Master! master Shatta is planning a revolt, do I get a cookie for telling on him master? See I am a good servant master.

respect

How many short list is Keshi on Shatta? Or should the JFF choose him just because he is black?

Is that Keshi's only qualification that he is black?

Why do I bother answering unnu questions I mean I am really allowing myself to sink couple levels by even acknowledging unnu questions.

What kind of serious journalist ask a question like that?

We are seeking the best candidate that gives us value for money and we dismiss the AFrican candidate as just being black.

I won't bother wasting my time as nuff a unnu are beyond help. If a reputed Journalist with access to info only sees Keshi as a black man then what hope is there for us?

You can't save them all, some have to be collateral damage.

I am off back to the hills fi go hold a meds

Yes Iyah only Europe can discipline us.