Burrell needs a team with new vision
By virtue of their refusal to nominate him for re-election, it would appear that, in true Jamaican parlance, the parish associations have decided to tell incumbent Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) president Crenston Boxhill to 'spin with the ridim and tek weh yu self.'
The action of the affiliates, some of whom supported Mr. Boxhill when he upstaged Captain Horace Burrell in the 2003 JFF elections, means that the 'New Game Plan', which was articulated as the vehicle to drive the Boxhill administration forward, has stalled in the middle of nowhere and has been abandoned.
captain again
Unless some of the parish associations decide to withdraw their nominations and throw their support behind another candidate, it would appear that Captain Burrell, who has clearly devoted the last few years to working his way back into the hearts and minds of the affiliates, will once again be elevated to the presidency of the JFF.
While I definitely will not shed any tears for Mr. Boxhill and trusted lieutenant, general secretary Burchell Gibson, who appears to be the only two original members left on the so-called 'Dream Team' which swept to power just under four years ago, I am somewhat amused by the actions of the defectors, who seem to be shamelessly running back to Captain Burrell.
I am happy to see Captain Burrell returning to the presidency, since I genuinely believe he should not have been removed in the first place. I am also hoping that he does not allow himself to be blinded by the current euphoria and return to his old ways, which alienated some affiliates and caused them to turn against him.
In going back into the JFF's hot seat, I believe Captain Burrell should really begin to give serious thought to putting together a quality administrative team. Personally, except for possibly Horace Reid, who should return as general secretary, I would like to see a team devoid of some of the old faces, whose laziness and lack of vision led to Burrell's defeat in 2003.
What I think our football needs is fresh, new faces with clear visions and the requisite energy and a hunger to serve and do well.
I do hope Captain Burrell will not feel obligated to reward loyalists with important positions which they are not able to manage. I would also hate to see a return of the so-called 'yes men', whose perennial agenda is about drinking milk and not counting cow.
With his international obligations to the CFU, CONCACAF and FIFA, I seriously doubt that Captain Burrell will be able to take a hands-on approach to football at the grass-roots level. It therefore means that he will need some competent people to service our football at the local end so that it does not become unbalanced.
dynamic vice-presidents
I believe Captain Burrell needs to have three dynamic vice-presidents, who should all be given specific developmental responsibilities to drive different aspects of the national programme. Personally, I would put one vice-president in charge of youth development, another in charge of marketing and the third to service the development of infrastrcture.
In terms of general direction, I would like to see the new JFF under Captain Burrell really give some serious thought to scrapping the current confederation system, which has become more of a political tool than an avenue of development. I think the better option would be to give autonomy to the parishes within their respective regions and have the JFF as their only parent body.
While I am willing and ready to give my support to a new Captain Burrell-led administration, I also want to make it absolutely clear that my primary interest is the development of national football and not personalities. I therefore intend to remain vigilant and uncompromising with my pen in defence of what I consider best for Jamaica.
NB: Feel free to send your comments to adrianfrater@hotmail.com
By virtue of their refusal to nominate him for re-election, it would appear that, in true Jamaican parlance, the parish associations have decided to tell incumbent Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) president Crenston Boxhill to 'spin with the ridim and tek weh yu self.'
The action of the affiliates, some of whom supported Mr. Boxhill when he upstaged Captain Horace Burrell in the 2003 JFF elections, means that the 'New Game Plan', which was articulated as the vehicle to drive the Boxhill administration forward, has stalled in the middle of nowhere and has been abandoned.
captain again
Unless some of the parish associations decide to withdraw their nominations and throw their support behind another candidate, it would appear that Captain Burrell, who has clearly devoted the last few years to working his way back into the hearts and minds of the affiliates, will once again be elevated to the presidency of the JFF.
While I definitely will not shed any tears for Mr. Boxhill and trusted lieutenant, general secretary Burchell Gibson, who appears to be the only two original members left on the so-called 'Dream Team' which swept to power just under four years ago, I am somewhat amused by the actions of the defectors, who seem to be shamelessly running back to Captain Burrell.
I am happy to see Captain Burrell returning to the presidency, since I genuinely believe he should not have been removed in the first place. I am also hoping that he does not allow himself to be blinded by the current euphoria and return to his old ways, which alienated some affiliates and caused them to turn against him.
In going back into the JFF's hot seat, I believe Captain Burrell should really begin to give serious thought to putting together a quality administrative team. Personally, except for possibly Horace Reid, who should return as general secretary, I would like to see a team devoid of some of the old faces, whose laziness and lack of vision led to Burrell's defeat in 2003.
What I think our football needs is fresh, new faces with clear visions and the requisite energy and a hunger to serve and do well.
I do hope Captain Burrell will not feel obligated to reward loyalists with important positions which they are not able to manage. I would also hate to see a return of the so-called 'yes men', whose perennial agenda is about drinking milk and not counting cow.
With his international obligations to the CFU, CONCACAF and FIFA, I seriously doubt that Captain Burrell will be able to take a hands-on approach to football at the grass-roots level. It therefore means that he will need some competent people to service our football at the local end so that it does not become unbalanced.
dynamic vice-presidents
I believe Captain Burrell needs to have three dynamic vice-presidents, who should all be given specific developmental responsibilities to drive different aspects of the national programme. Personally, I would put one vice-president in charge of youth development, another in charge of marketing and the third to service the development of infrastrcture.
In terms of general direction, I would like to see the new JFF under Captain Burrell really give some serious thought to scrapping the current confederation system, which has become more of a political tool than an avenue of development. I think the better option would be to give autonomy to the parishes within their respective regions and have the JFF as their only parent body.
While I am willing and ready to give my support to a new Captain Burrell-led administration, I also want to make it absolutely clear that my primary interest is the development of national football and not personalities. I therefore intend to remain vigilant and uncompromising with my pen in defence of what I consider best for Jamaica.
NB: Feel free to send your comments to adrianfrater@hotmail.com