Keeping or not keeping Bora after the switch

• Keeping or not keeping Bora after the switch

Two things are looming which could influence whether Bora is retained or not. For one, there is the imminent return of Captain Burrell to the seat of power in the JFF. Then depending on how the stars line up, there could be a new government in the seat of power in Jamaica.

For those of us who forgot, the current PNP government had committed to putting up a certain amount of money to help pay coach Bora's salary. Now, consider if the the JLP is voted into power on August 27th and Bruce Golding decides that he does not support money from the public purse being used to fund the salary of a football coach. A situation like would leave a Captain Burrell's administration with two options.

The first option is that he could seek if he could secure some private sector companies to take up the short fall of funds needed to keep coach Bora, a fund to be called "The Keep Bora Fund or simply TKBF". If this fails to materialize, the second option would be to consider canceling Bora's contract by mutual consent and then the good Captain could look to bringing in a new coach at a more affordable rate.

From my understanding, Rene Simoes had a huge interest in returning as coach of the Reggae Boyz and was very persistent in getting the word to the right folks through his agents, although many here might remember reading in the press that he intimated that it was the JFF who was chasing him. The fact of the matter is that Rene is more than willing to return even for a fraction of what Bora is being paid right now.

So as things sit right now, Boxhill is dejected and may consider turning over the reigns to anybody by Sunday. The good Captain Burrell is excited and just licking his chops and waiting in the wings. Coach Bora on the other hand is sitting on the edge of his seat and as my good friend HL would say, his suit case is packed and his car full of gas with a plane ticket in his glove compartment. The good old Rene is also keeping an eye on situation and secretly wants to see his good friend Portia lose the elections on the 27th. He would then hope that the new government would not honor the agreement to fund the coach's salary, thus reopening the door for him to walk back right in.

Right now Rene is keeping his Rolodex close by and he is making sure that he touch base with the people he knows can influence his return at short notice. It will be interesting after the dust has settled to see how this one pans out.
    Last edited by Tilla; August 17, 2007, 09:32 PM.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Excellent analysis and commentary tilla. You should have your owna radio program. Better yet your owna TV sports talk show.

You could interview man like Scikko and Mosiah.

it is S-I-C-K-K-O, One more prediction, if Rene comes back he will call back Tappa to get all the sympathy votes then leave him to rot on the bench

Tilla your analysis is very very good,but bruce golding may let it go,for the sympathy of the people;jamaicans heart sits with football.

Nice write up, however it is missing one basic tenet and that is performance. It should be communicated to Bora what are our expectations for performance on the field.

Interesting look!
            ...and, depending on the "escape clauses" in JFF/Bora's contract it just may be that buying out Bora is possible if the good Captain sees a way to bring in a GREAT COACH and lower cost surrounding cost of new coach....i.e. buy out of Bora's contract + new coach < current arrangements to keep Bora.

...damn - just realised I overlooked the possibility that Bora may find favour with the Captain - period! ...and or, may even be willing to take a pay cut and or find other ways to lower cost of his negotiated package!
            Last edited by Karl; August 17, 2007, 12:16 PM.

Tilla, one question for you and the others who might be more knowledgeable on this topic. What if Bora decides that he wants to remain in his job, per his contract, regardless of who wins the next elections? As far as I know, the contract that he signed will still have to be honored, regardless of who is the Prime Minister.

Personally, while I have the highest respect for Professor Rene Simoes, I would love to see Bora work under another guy I have high respect for - Horace Burrell. What Jamaica's football need is continuity, a long term program, and I believe Burrell would love to Keep Bora in the program. But that is yet to be seen.
              President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Good GAAWD!! Wat is it wid aawl ah oonu wid Rene Simoes?! Jamaica has progressed way beyond him now!!
                Rene was good for JA back in the 90's! What can he bring to the table now? Plus, I am tired of hearing about John Barnes! Fe get him tuh!
                Either keep Bora or get someone else with the experience & technical know how to take Jamaica on the path of success!
                p.s. this coach DOES NOT HAVE TO BE BRAZILIAN!!

Who mention John Barnes recently?!

There is always a buy out clause in contracts like these RF. I am not suggesting that we should bring back Rene Simoes as i think that would be a retrogressive step. I think that since 1998 our football has regressed, but there has been an elevation in the quality of CONCACAF. Rene would need to be bringing something different to the table this time. . .
                    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

bora has a contract with the jamaican football federation and NOTwith the PNP. JLP or Boxhill. Unless he wants out he has to to be paid or bought out and I dont think the JFF has money to pay two high levelTD at once... Bora stays!..

why buy out the contract.. You still dont save if you get a high profile coach.. Bora is not the issue. The buyout would not be cheap either.. maybe 60% of the total contract.. The JFF cant afford that.

Sambady mention him!! Dem mention Tappa tuh!!

Hell, let us start bringing back, Ali Mc Nab, Diago Gordon, Skill Cole, Orville Edwards, de Blair brothers, Peter "Dove" Marston, Billy Griffiths, Lindy Delapena, David Bernard, Billy Perkins, Noah Sterling, Sweetie Smith, Andred Andrews, Danny "Worm", "Ghutto" Thompson, Davis, Bram Bram, Maxwell, Carl Brown, Boyous, Spider, Allan Bat, Creature, Cloggy, .......... cho me run out ah breath!!

Wah gaaawn Mosiah?! Spirit haff $9 fare to S. Fl. yuh nuh!!

But maybe the bakery can.

Den clear out di ole tings dem outta di guest room nuh bredren!