Chlesea v The World

• Chlesea v The World

I have supported and loved my club now for the best part of twenty years and would not want to bore people with all the history if you are a true Chelsea fan, or lack of history if you are not a Chelsea fan. However, like any other fan in the land I have watched and listened to how my club is being portrayed and talked about and I must say it hasn't been pleasant. Again I'll like to put this down as part of what I have to put up with because I love my club.

I know this has been talked about in very many circles and is been banded about as a cliché about successful football clubs, but as a Chelsea fan it seems to me, for most of the time as 'Its Chelsea Against the world'. In fact I have tried on every occasion to look at the issues or cases that are created by, or around, Chelsea with an objective or dare I say neutral point of view, and have been left mostly disappointed by how Chelsea are treated by firstly, the media outlets, other clubs and other fans.

Life as a Chelsea fan before Roman Abramovich was not very rosy but at least
    bearable and even though we were considered as flashy, southern softies, with largely old and overpaid European players at the end of their careers looking for a pension fund; we were not hated with such vehemence and vigour.

Basically, we were a nice harmless club who mostly flattered to deceive. Despite not loving us, people were generally very complimentary and wanted us to do well, especially because they knew we weren't able to do well. It was like an enemy you knew couldn't hurt you and you would tease and make fun of him/her knowing very well that they are incapable of inflicting any major damage to you and to your ego.

Then everything changed with the arrival of Roman Abramovich, at first with Claudio Ranieri still in place backed by Abramovich's money, we were then seen as a club who spent a lot of money but with no back-bone so people carried on with their admiration and I remember friends saying things like our manager was very funny and everybody liked him because when we lost he was still very nice in defeat and I remember feeling, I'd love to win and I don't care if the manager is 'nice and likable' provided we won the Premiership title.

I remember Mr Ranieri's last season were there was an overflow of sympathy and love for this guy who has just spent over £100 million in the transfer market and not delivered a single trophy...then the penny dropped for me. I realised people were just happy for us to stay where we were and never be Champions, people always wanted us to be the bridesmaid and never the bride.

Then with the arrival of God (Mourinho), things took a dramatic turn. I remember vividly, when Porto won the Champions League there were already tiny attacks heading towards both Chelsea's new owners and Mourinho. There were accusations of how Chelsea used under hand tactics, how Mourinho was only coming to Chelsea for financial reasons, how badly Ranieri had been treated, how Mourinho has no grace for not celebrating his victory with his players and the list goes on for ever.

Then there was the Press Conference when Mourinho was presented to the media, and then there were the accusations of arrogance from Mourinho when he claimed he was 'A Special One` and that he wanted to win the league. There the seeds were sown for the Anti-Chelsea campaign by the media.

From a fan's point of view, I think it is getting tiring and I am sure even though they won't accept it, most fans of other clubs are tired of the constant Chelsea bashing by the media and everybody else. Seriously, how long can we go on listening to the same how Chelsea is bad for football, how Chelsea's money is destroying the league, how Chelsea bought the league, how Chelsea have no respect for authority etc etc. I can fully sympathise with Chelsea's board and manager and the people running Chelsea.

They are in a no win scenario, I can even go one step further to say that in some people's eyes, no matter what Chelsea does it will never be good enough b

RE: Chlesea v The World

Chelsea needs to just continue on it's current path. Right now the hatred towards the club is that they are the new kid on the block who is taking all the girls. It is like when a family with new money moves into the neighborhood. After awhile they will become a brand name club with world wide appeal but right now they just have to deal with the envy and ill wishes that was sure to come once they started having success. They are upsetting the apple cart.- T.K.

Good going, balla...but, if Chelsea engages in stuff such as the Gallas bashing then she will continue to give her detractors fodder.

The fan is right, just take care of the football business.

BTW -I wish Chelsea much success this year just settle in behind the GUNNERS!

T.K. (9/7/2006)Chelsea needs to just continue on it's current path. Right now the hatred towards the club is that they are the new kid on the block who is taking all the girls. It is like when a family with new money moves into the neighborhood. After awhile they will become a brand name club with world wide appeal but right now they just have to deal with the envy and ill wishes that was sure to come once they started having success. They are upsetting the apple cart.- T.K.
        T.K. talk sense.

Is true Lazie....people resist change. Chelsea's sudden emergence is forcing the traditional powers of English football into a position they are not accustomed to.......2nd tier. They are resisting as best as they can but to no avail so they resort to the constant verbal attacks. They are just lashing out anyway they can to take some shine off of Chelsea but the fact is Chelsea is the team to beat in the EPL. Change is a mofo. - T.K.

The topic Chelsea vs the world is a symapathic move ... pity you tek the bait. Chelsea just fortunate that most teams fraid a dem. If teams step up and ruff dem up, if the blasted refs should call the games properly you'd be singing a different tune.

2nd tier? Chelsea is a 2nd tier team. Did you see the CL rankings? Chelsea was in the second pot.

Sorry balla, money nuh mean unuh have class.

Of course the article was to generate sympathy for Chelsea but I am just talking reality. All these big time clubs in england and not one of them can pose a serious challenge to chelsea. So they do the only thing left in their power to do....whine and complain about chelsea being poor sports when long before Chelsea get big they were the teams making the most noise during the season about this that and devil knows what. Man U,Liverpool,Arsenal all bitch and complain but can't put together a half-ass campaign to challenge for the EPL Season title.Those clubs have taken theattitude that if you can't beat 'em on the field at least beat them off it. - T.K.

Where have you seen ManU, Liverpool or Arsenal complain about Chelsea? Yuh mekking up stuff now. Mine yuh nuh!

Lazie are for real? Negro please. Stop trying to turn me into Mr. Google.

Wenger, Sir Alex and Benitez need to stop the whining and decide that they are going to put together a complete season.

I still laugh afta the time whenWenger talked smack about Jose's team and Jose called the man a voyeur him tun' roun' and start seh him going to press charges. After is Arsene who did startit!Unno mad. Is bitch move dat. - T.K.

T.K. what was that about? Was Wenger being envious of Chelsea? Show where Fergie and Rafa express envy of Chelsea? Even since summer when ManU guh South Africa pon tour SAF say Chelsea free fi duh wha dem want ... all dem (ManU) affi duh is step up dem game.

T.K., stop act frighten over wha chelsea have. Doan red eye!

Yes Lazie I see you want me to find every little instance but since you ask I shall provide.

Just this summer Benitez was complaining that the playing field was not level in England and that Chelsea's spending power and ability tobuy any player they wanted was not good for the English game. Can't beat em' on the field at least you can beat them in a pr war. Yes Chelsea is a bad for the game......wah wah.....cry baby. Was Liverpool bad for the game before Chelsea? How about Man U?

Sir Alex complained that the EPL was boring and not as exciting to watch as it was in year's past due to Chelsea's negative football. When Manchester United dominated the EPL for 10 years did we here that complaint from Sir Alex then? As a matter of a fact Wenger said the exact same thing!

Lazie you seem to have selective memory. The reason I remember this stuff is because I am always interested in the psychology part of the game. When you hear the negative speech coming from these guys mouths to the media I wonder how much effect it has on their own players to hear, "Well we can't compete with Chelsea yada yada......" over and over again. Eventually you start to believe it yourself. - T.K.

Dude! Are you for real? Yuh notice even though Rafa may have made that statement dem still beat the Rent Boys? You seem to think any criticism of Chelsea means its envy .... no boss ... now slap yuhself.

Was it Fergie alone that indicated that it was boring? If you read the various football columns you'd see many writers were saying the same thing. If my team is hosting your team and the fans not coming out to see your just come, hurry come up team what does that indicate? Is that good for the league?

If one team can buy qualityplayers to keep them on the bench just to prevent them from going to the opponents, is that good for the league?

T.K. Slap yuhself! Yuh took a comical post and made it more comical. Bout 2nd tier team.

Lazie yu wan' two rhatid clap yu see.

The only thing comical is your desperation to hold onto the title of premier team. Those days are gone. Until a team takes down Chelsea or challenges them for the EPL title there will be Chelsea and the 2nd tier groups. You have Chelsea who is on a level by themselves and the rest can be sorted in the 2nd, 3rd and 4th tier.

The reason fans do not come out to see games with Chelsea in them is because their teams choose to sit back in a 4-5-1 and try not to lose 4, 5,6 nothing. Plain and simple. It is not Chelsea's fault that the other teams do not come after them. It is simply the only way they can try and get a result. To place the blame on Chelsea is assanine.

Lazie I never said any criticsm of Chelsea is envy but it has gotten to the point where now the 2nd tier teams are building up excuses as to why they can't and won't win the EPL. They have given up.

In a one off game they can beat Chelsea sure but over the course of a season they are not consistent enough to do so. Rather than admit the problem they would rather deflect criticsm of their teams and get the focus on how Chelsea is destroying english football. It is all absolute NONSENSE!

Here Lazie take your pacifer and suck on it! - T.K.

I get my EPL feed via FSC, I guess you get yours from Chelsea TV or from Balla.

I've spent enough time talking about the Rent Boys. Now after you lay the pattern pointing that any criticism of the Rent Boys is a sign of envy, yuh want to back track now.

When yuh ready fi talk bout real teams like Manu, Barca or Milan ... Holla! If yuh mek the mistake and say Livafool, Arsenal or Portsmouth ... I'll even consider it.

Well yes Balla TV is the best channel around.

Lazie yu likkle BPRC.....I was suppose to do my running an hour ago and because yu get me caught up in this fool fool debate I am behind schedule. I hope you are proud of yourself.

On another note.....When The Phenom comes to Man U there will be no excuses as to why they are losing to Chelsea just victories baby! Victories that only the great Freddy can bring. - T.K.