Sheffield United start their campaign today

Now you see my problem. One day he is a revelation in the EPL and the next he is number 5 on championship side. He needs more respect than that. He just scored 2 and set up 1 one for the second team and can't make the bench? That is not good for a not so young man who need to be playing regular to build his game.

I agree he has to prove his self but to be number 5 on championship side? That is crazy and Sheffield in my book is not about to build and take too many chances instead they want to go right up back so they get all the price cut premiership players and trying to go up.

That is not currently the right environment for Luton.

Shelton has shown a lot of inconsistency from what I gather. One good game will not necessarily change people's perception of him. Sass, you have to be unbiased and not only look out for Shelton because he is ours. He needs to do the work and earn his respect. Respect is not going to be heaped on him without him earning it.

I am sure the other players listed before him are only listed before him because they have shown that they have it when it actually matters.

I do not see Robson putting Shelton on loan to another Championship side. He would more lend him to a League 1 or League 2 side.

That is crazy and Sheffield in my book is not about to build and take too many chances instead they want to go right up back so they get all the price cut premiership players and trying to go up.
      It is all about the business Sass. Sheffield got demoted and lost out on £25 million for the season. Any team who lost that type of money is going to do what they have todo to get back up.

Shelton only has to prove his worth and he will be alright. Moreover, if the coach wants to ass the speed dimension to his side, he could use him as a winger. I do not think Shelton's corner is too dark at all.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Tilla sometimes you have to look out for yourself and that is what Shelton has to do. Even Beckham went out on loan so it is not a crime and as I said I see him for a month or two at another championship side and getting his game back on track.

Tilla 95% of those injured. Shelton came to sheffield in January and up till now haven't given the man a decent game except Manu. How much patient can the man have? The managers don't believe in building.
          Sass: You asked the question from one point of view. What of the other - AS far as we know has Shelton given the coach one decent outing?

You guys laugh at my calls for these players to be TEAM first in their approaches. Fuller and Shelton may think they are playing TEAM first...and, for that matter many in JA also support that view.
          I don't!

My reading of Shelton's holding-up (...and or receipt) of the ball too often means "it is his baby" not another player on his TEAM will ever see it unless he loses it or it 'caaaarrrrooms' to one.

I must say I agree with Sass on this one. The best way for Shelton to continue his development is to get playing time. He needs to be playing frequently in a more competitive environment than the reserves.

Now as Sass said, the man was tearing up the place against Manu couple months ago, he scores frequently in internationals, he was scoring goals in the Swedish leaque alongside Larsson....there should be no reason why he is number 5 in the pecking order unless all of a sudden he is totally out of form.
            Based on the actions of the coach, I doubt if Shelton is in his plans anad nothing is wrong with that as every coach has their style and preferences....Unfortunately, I doubt Shelton will get a transfer at this point so he will need to work twice as hard to prove himself aand adapt to the style of his present coach. He took a chance leaving Sweden and now he has to work twice as hard to prove himself again

I agree with Tilla on this one. If Shelton is as good as you all think, then he needs to show the coach. The onus is on the player to impress the coach. He needs to work on his game and put in the extra time.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

What you and Assassin fail to realize is that Shelton has been given ample run in the preseason games for him to prove himself. The fact that he has not used those opportunities to impress the coach is not the coach's fault.

You and Sass are of the opinion that because he was tearing up the Swedish league means he should be automatic penciled into first team place by the coach. No sanki nuh sing suh. Look at Andriy Shevchenko who came to Chelsea as a man who was tearing up the league in Italy, but it is not happening for him in the EPL. Do you think Morinho ows it to Shevchenko to play him irrespective if he is cutting it or not? Performance is what is going to seal your game wherever you go as a player. Shelton needs to get used to that.
                Last edited by Tilla; August 13, 2007, 10:13 AM.
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Here is another case similar to Shelton's

Lee tells Diouf to knuckle down

Diouf spent a season on loan at Bolton

El-Hadji Diouf has been told to knuckle down by Bolton boss Sammy Lee after starting from the bench in the opening-day 3-1 defeat by Newcastle.

The 26-year-old Senegal forward said he could leave the club after failing to make the starting line-up.

But Lee insists the player must be patient: "Diouf is always talking to me and I am pleased he is disappointed.

"I want competition for places and do not want people to feel they are automatic choices," he added.

"We felt it was the right starting line-up. Unfortunately, Ricardo Vaz Te was injured and had to come off.

"Everyone then saw Diouf's quality and I can understand his frustration.
                  "But it is important people are always looking over their shoulders and being spurred on by other players," Lee added.

I want competition for places and do not want people to feel they are automatic choices

Diouf could return to the side on Wednesday against Fulham at Craven Cottage as Kevin Davies (hamstring) and Vaz Te (foot) are both ruled out.

Diouf joined Bolton from Liverpool at the start of the 2005/2006 campaign for an undisclosed fee, having spent the 2004/2005 season on loan at the Reebok Stadium.

The striker put his future with the Trotters in doubt when he said: "I don't know about tomorrow, it is another day. Maybe tomorrow I will go. "Of course I was disappointed not to be on at the start. I am a footballer and I want to play in every game."

Diouf has always displayed some immaturity.

How can you compare him to Shelton? he played almost all games last season. As you say him is a idiot from long time.

Shelton fit and can't make a championship bench? nuh look good fi him with a list of competent strikers ahead of him. 5 deep is very deep.

Originally posted by Plush View Post
                        I must say I agree with Sass on this one. The best way for Shelton to continue his development is to get playing time. He needs to be playing frequently in a more competitive environment than the reserves.

Now as Sass said, the man was tearing up the place against Manu couple months ago, he scores frequently in internationals, he was scoring goals in the Swedish leaque alongside Larsson....there should be no reason why he is number 5 in the pecking order unless all of a sudden he is totally out of form.
                        Based on the actions of the coach, I doubt if Shelton is in his plans anad nothing is wrong with that as every coach has their style and preferences....Unfortunately, I doubt Shelton will get a transfer at this point so he will need to work twice as hard to prove himself aand adapt to the style of his present coach. He took a chance leaving Sweden and now he has to work twice as hard to prove himself again
                        He was tearing it up?
                        It all depends on the level of competition and what would be tolerated in those leagues.

Look at the young Brazilian who was at Arsenal last year - he played a lousy anti-team game. He scored 3 goals in a match. I watched that match over and over and the guy was fortunate and more of a hindrance to keeping possession. Now someone not seeing the match would think he played well when that was far from the truth.

I would think the coach would be saying to himself, will this guy have that type of luck on a consistent basis or should I look for a more adept TEAM player who will IN ALL MATCHES or at the least in MOST MATCHES add to TEAM possession and increase number of wins?

Yet the same fellow helped Brazil win the just concluded Copa America Cup. For Brazil he was one million times more about TEAM. Now why did that happen? Will he move on to club play and improve on his TEAM play...or, at his worst play TEAM as he did for Brazil? Truth is if he plays below the standard he showed in the Copa America or remain on that same level he will not last long at top European TEAMs.

...now our Shelton needs to cut down on the me, myself and I - holding on to the ball and always attempting to shoot as he ignores the rest of his teammates and BEST INTEREST OF TEAM. he needs to think TEAM first, TEAM second, TEAM, TEAM! TEAM! ...there is a saying in football...and you can look no further than the 1974 Brazilian World cup TEAM...give (the ball - share the ball) and you shall receive (the ball and wins!)!
                        Last edited by Karl; August 13, 2007, 07:37 PM.

Tilla sometimes you have to look out for yourself and that is what Shelton has to do. Even Beckham went out on loan so it is not a crime and as I said I see him for a month or two at another championship side and getting his game back on track.
                          I think the problem with Sass' reasoning is it starts from the premise that currently Shelton is better than at least 3 or 4 of the sttrikers listed above him?

Bingo!! You have hit the nail on the head.

If you read what the fans are saying on their forum, Shelton has potential, but he currently would be the #5 out of their six strikers. Many feel that Robson needs to give him a chance as he is young.

I want to see Shelton do well, but I am not for giving him an easy path because he is young and Jamaican. He needs to earn his spot and anywhere he goes it will be the same thing. Unless Sass want him to join Rixketts in the lower level like League 2. At least he is playing reserves games against Championship level teams which is keeping him match ready for when the coach needs him.

Tilla I have stated and has been consistent throughout this argument that SHELTON DON'T HAVE TO GO TO ANY LOWER LEAGUE. What he needs to do is get a loan to a club that don't have the depth that Sheffied has in striking. Sheffield maybe the strongest strike force in the division.

Rossi from Manu didn't have to go to lower league, Tim Howard wouldn't get no game at Manu so he went to Everton, Chelsea loan out Wayne Bridge as he wasn't in their immediate plan. Healy left Preston on loan cause he couldn't get a start over Fuller and Cresswell, Fuller did the same as they had Jones and others starting over him. Sometimes you have to move to maker yourself better.

Again Nowhere did I talk about lower leagues. Shelton can score against any team in this division and some coach will take a chance on him especially if they don't have money to buy 4 million forward like Sheffield.

And I am saying that if Shelton takes his opportunities when he gets them, he will win over the coach. Even if he goes to another side, he will stillhave to win over the coach.

Sass, I am not a quitter and I never run from a challange. Right now that is what you are saying Shelton needs to do as even before a ball was kicked you started your campaign that he needs to go on loan. Cho man, do better than that!

I guess that six strikers in a team for a season is just way too much in your estimation? Mek Shelton buckle up and win his game. Our football will be better for it.